We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Nearby Hotels
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clachan Cottage Hotel(Lochearnhead)
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ardeonaig Hotel(Ardeonaig)
US$136
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$181
US$161
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Achray House Hotel(St Fillans)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel(Crianlarich)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Fortingall Hotel(Fortingall)
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comrie Hotel(Comrie)(Great Value!)
US$135
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,611)
Filter reviews
1,611 results
Traveller rating
923
470
149
40
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
923
470
149
40
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson sitefire pitpremium wigwamglamping domeswoodland cabinloch taycampers kitchenshower blockboathouse restaurantdisc golfamenities blockthe sofa bedhot tubgreat facilitieswood burnermy partneron arrival
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,472 - 1,477 of 1,611 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have just stayed for 3 nights at loch tay highland lodges and I must say that I am not too impressed.
After a 250 mile drive we arrived at 3.45pm and were told check in wasn't till 4 and as such our wigwam wasn't ready ! Considering that check out is 10am, this gave the cleaners 6 hours to clean a little wooden hut ??? And it still wasn't done, we were asked to wait by the snotty woman in the reception, so we went down to the bar/restaurant for a drink and a bite to eat, it was closed and we were told it wouldn't be open again for another 3 days, there went our idea of sitting in the marina every night with a drink and watching the sun go down !! Pretty annoyed now.
Went back up to the reception and was told the cleaners still hadn't dropped off the keys and I would have to drive around the park and look for the cleaners so I could get the keys !!
Our wigwam (mull) was right on the footpath which gave us no privacy and also made the other guests uncomfortable as they had to pass us eating outside every time they went for a walk, people were constantly apologising for disturbing us as they walked by.

I did however find the site well looked after but completely lacking in any kind of atmosphere, there is nothing to do at all and asking any questions makes you wish you had never bothered !
All the nice cabins and range rovers are down the bottom next to the loch and the marina, all the plebs are kept up the top of the hill and out of the way.
I don't understand this site at all and couldn't wait to leave, the highlands are a beautiful place, and I won't let this place put me off going back again.
I'm actually disappointed I'm writing a negative review, but I'm of the opinion that people skills, understanding, forethought and a nice smile can go a very long way towards solving any problem, telling me briefly that, "sorry restaurant is closed" when I have worked all year and was looking forward to a lovely holiday with my wife and daughter, is just not good enough, neither is telling me to drive around a camp site looking for cleaners !!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wolf5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

spent 2 nights in the Wendy house, one of the new wigwams with toilet and shower, fantastic accommodation very clean and tidy. hob and microwave, fridge, TV. but no cutlery or pots or pans, or sheets so bring your own, inside and out side table and chairs and fire pit / bbq. logs available from the site office equipment at a cost July 2013 it was £7.50 for a pile of logs kindling and fire lighters. bring your own charcoal if you want some. all in all we had a great few days, as for the boat house restaurant a can say as the chef went awol, but I was told it was overpriced with poor customer service from a few people who had tried it a few days before we arrived.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l0chtay, Manager at Loch Tay Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you for your positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed our new premium wigwam and our facilities. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just spent a long weekend staying at one of the lodges with my husband and dog. The location is amazing with picturesque views. The lodges were well equipped having everything we needed and the weather we got made it even better. Great place to take a dog. The beaches were clean, food from the boathouse restaurant was lovely and the Angus burger was very tasty!! Could be doing with a shop on site though. Can't wait to go back for a week at new year 2013/14.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKPK2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l0chtay, Manager at Loch Tay Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you for all your positive comments and we look forward to seeing you at New Year which is already booking up fast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights at belle tents here on itison deal and defo worth it. Pity the chef had upped and left as was looking forward to trying on site marina restaurant. Tent was great for what we paid and made better by the fantastic weather. Good facilities with new shower block and campers kitchen.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank pgem09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Myself and my partner stayed for 2 nights in the "Bute" Wigwam on 11th and 12th of July. Didn't really know what to expect as never stayed in a wigwam before but was pleasantly surprised. The Wigwam was spotlessly clean and very comfortable and spacious. comes with a TV, Fridge, kettle, toaster and microwave and a heater which would probably be good in the colder months however it was very hot during our stay and the wigwam definitely kept the heat! Each wigwam has its own fire pit which was great for keeping the midgies away in the evening. We even managed to blag some free firewood the first night from the grounds keeper!

The shower/ toilet block was spotless too and a stones throw away from the wigwam area. Was pleased to see there were no meters in the showers, or in the wigwam itself as some other sites charged for the electricity/ heating etc. The campers kitchen was well stocked and great for preparing food for the BBQs.

on our first night we went for a few drinks to the Bistro at the marina. it was extremely expensive (especially if drinking spirits) although the staff were lovely and pleasant. unfortunately the chef was off so we couldnt order any food which is a bit of a downside as if youve had a few drinks and fancied a bite to eat the local town is a 5 minute drive away. the second night we bought some food/drink from the local co-op and sat at the picnic bench at the wigwam.

We had a fantastic few days and are already planning our next visit. Would definitely recommend staying in the wigwams.

Room Tip: Take plenty of Midgie repellent/ citronella candles Take cutlery and crockery if going in the summer months take a fan as it can get really hot at night. take/ buy extra logs for the firepit, they dont last long especially if you start your night early and end it late!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews