We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridge of Lochay Hotel

Bridge of Lochay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Killin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fresh local produced prepared and presented with care and served by friendly, hospitable local staff in a traditional family run Scottish Inn.
thirsk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Had two lovely meals here during our one week stay near Killin.
Food was delicious and the service was efficient and very friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bowesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    64
    16
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Warm and friendly, rooms very comfortable and wonderful log fires!
Delicious food cooked to order and nothing too much trouble.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rollercoaster”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I'm living in the area for the past four years and finally my partner and me we went for dinner as we heard lot of good comments about the food in there.
We ordered Rump Steak, it was absolutely superb, and my partner had a horrible piece of lamb that she didnt even eat, she live in a farm for the past 25 years, shes qualified to say that the Lamb offered on the menu is not the one they served, her opinion was that It wasn't lamb, it was an old sheep, and the meat was quite smelly.
Anyway we decided to go for a Dark chocolate foundant wich it took to the Chef 35 minutes to prepare, the table next to us it was waiting 45-50 minutes for 2 burgers...
I will be back for Steak but I will look carefully the other options on the menu

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Javi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Delightful dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We went here as a group of 4 (plus baby) and had a lovely dinner. The staff were very attentive, helpful and provided a good explanation of the meals and specials. We all had 3 courses and each dish was well presented and very tasty. The portions were more than big enough and each plate was left empty. We went on a busy Sunday night but we didn't have to wait too long between courses. We did visit some of the other local restaurants and this was the best meal we had by far, worth a visit for sure.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dougiet33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on a dinner bed and breakfast deal, we found both the food and the service to be excellent quality. Although the menu is not extensive everything without exception was delicous, fresh and well presented. The stars were the lamb shank, venison burger , homemade ice creams with deliciously light shortbread and chocolate hazelnut fondant (mmmmmm!!!).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank WeeCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bridge of Lochay Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Bridge of Lochay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing