We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, good food and plenty of it.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capercaillie

The Capercaillie
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Killin
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: near the junction of Main st and Craignavie rd
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good value, good food and plenty of it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Great little restaurant where we ate breakfast every morning of our stay. A good cooked breakfast and filled rolls although very limited if you're vegetarian. Also ate here one night and was surprised by the diverse menu available. Excellent choices and quality of food and very good value for money. Staff very pleasant and good views from the lower part of the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chookybirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    105
    40
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent situation, good food and very Scottish ambiance.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a very good dinner at Capercaillie. The weather was fantastic so we sat put on the balcony in the sun! The service was excellent as was the food! We will certainly return! :)

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianacathrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very impressed with the quality and quantity of the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We returned to Killin to visit friends we hadn't seen since moving out of Killin 3 years ago. We tried the Capercaillie and were very impressed with the service, very friendly waitresses, the food was excellent, freshly cooked, the steak was superb, but portions were too large for us, we shouldn't have had a starter. Suppose most folk are walkers or bikers and need the large portions. When we revisit Killin we will definitely be eating at the Capercaillie again. Don't change anything it is great as it is.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alwayshopePerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad reflection on Scottish Fayre”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

old we should book to be sure of a seat, and when we arrived the table was set with a tablecloth. a little odd as it was the only one in a setting of around 20 pine tables unset.
at 7pm only one other couple were in the restaurant. the menu choice was very eclectic with many AsiaB choices.i had chicken Balmoral which was dry in burnt breadcrumbs and the haggis stuffing was dry and tasteless. The whisky sauce had no whisky. My wife had a szechuan beef which was some attempt at chinese swimming in a very sweet sauce. the beef was tender though.We ordered drinks which we never received yet they were overrun with staff who were more interested in having a chat at the bar one waitress was in bare feet.
I felt sorry for the European couple who came in as we left. They would not have a good experience of Scottish food and hospitality. Now we know why it was so dead.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodcritic61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quimper, France
Level Contributor
253 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

Well... We needed some food on our way back to Edinburgh. It's a great place, not too expensive and the breakfast was yummy... We simply wish the waitress hadn't been so rude (blank face and spilling milk and coffee all over the table without any apology) and didn't need that bouncy music either at 10:00 a.m... But we liked the building.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yuna1yuna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Capercaillie also viewed

 

Been to The Capercaillie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing