We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hospitality”
Review of Breadalbane House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Breadalbane House
Ranked #4 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were on a cycling holiday and when we arrived we were soaked to the skin after 6 hours in the rain! Desiree took our wet dirty things and did her best to dry them, ive never been to a b & b that goes above and beyond for you like that. A really nice, clean spacious room and a lovely breakfast with a good range of specialty tea. Desiree really looked after us and I would definitely return x

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fiona n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was my second stay there and this time stayed for five nights. The B & B is located near the centre of Killin and is within walking distance of pubs and restaurants. Used this as a base for climbing Ben Lawers and walks around Loch Tay. The rooms were well presented, comfortable, spotless and reasonably priced. Delicious breakfasts. I found Desiree a welcoming host and was made to feel welcome during my stay. Would thoroughly recommend this B & B.

Stayed in June 2014, travelled with a walking friend.

Neil Hunter, Edinburgh

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our party of 3 booked this B&B for one night, earlier this month. My husband speaks Dutch so he was in his element. We had a very comfortable stay and had a lovely hearty breakfast. My sister wanted 'Black Pudding & Potato Scones' for breakfast and that was no problem for Desiree to accommodate her wishes. She lives in Cornwall and wanted a wee bit of a scottish breakfast! Our friend Ted Christopher had a gig in The Coach House at the end of the village, so were able to see him and stay overnight in this great wee B&B. The weather was great as well. Thanks for a lovely (too short) visit Desiree.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Spent one night here in late May and found Desiree a friendly and welcoming host.

The room was rather small, not much space for two open suitcases & one needed to walk sideways to get into the (window) side of the bed.
However there was adequate cupboard and drawer space for those who may be staying several days & wishing to unpack.
The bathroom was comparable in size to other b & bs but there was little shelf space.

The guest lounge was an alternative sitting area with a comfortable couch & also a dining table. The breakfast room was fairly spacious and there was fresh plain yoghurt on offer – unlike most b & bs where there is usually flavoured ‘pretend’ yoghurt.

Although our room was small, it was adequate for one night and we would recommend Breadalbane to anyone thinking of spending a night or two in Killin.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonameofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandoornw, Owner at Breadalbane House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

When you're in the B&B day in day out, there's always a danger of missing something very obvious that guests will spot immediately. In this case, it was the shelf space. Your remark made us look again, and you were right - that was not enough. It was also completely unnecessary, as the wall had plenty of space for extra shelving.

Happy to say it is now in place, in this room and another that had the same issue, so: thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We (myself and my mum) stayed here whilst walking the Rob Roy Way. We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived. If the room was a wee bit small, then the comfy beds and delicious breakfast the following morning more than made up for it! Would thoroughly recommend this B&B. Thanks again, Desiree!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Justine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here on a motorcycle tour, twin room was snug for two single men, but clean and tidy.
Breakfast was nothing to remember, but OK.
Motorcyclists beware. The parking area is loose ground with an upslope from the parking area to the road.Clutch control be ready to stop at the top.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandoornw, Owner at Breadalbane House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015

We were sorry to hear that breakfast was nothing to remember, but - tastes will differ! We always try to offer the best local produce we can source for our cooked breakfasts, and offer as wide a range of cold breakfast products on our breakfast buffet as possible (our signature home-made crunchy muesli is always amongst them). It would help us if you could mention anything you particularly missed.

As to the slope from the parking to the road: we can reassure people that nobody has ever been unable to get up it, including when it had snowed in winter. Just once, with a 30-cm pack of february snow, it did take a bit of digging and a run or two, but it still worked!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice, clean, spotless room and bathroom. Friendly but not warm welcome. Désirée start directly talking about breakfast. (I (Désirée) think you got inof Scottish breakfasts, can give you a continental...etc.etc. We where just in. We where thinking about shower and diner. Not breakfast.
However, the rest was ok, and, if you want a packlunch, ask for it a year in advance. I make my reservation last year, ask for pack-lunch by phone and by mail and when we request the day before it was to late. Shop's are open until 22.00 pm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
9.0 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
930 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
1,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
0.8 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falls of Dochart Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadalbane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadalbane House

Address: Breadalbane House Main Street, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range: £24 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breadalbane House, a three-star VisitScotland B&B, is set in the picturesque village of Killin, which is situated at the western tip of Loch Tay, and lies in an incomparable region of beauty in the very heart of Scotland. The world famous Falls of Dochart on the river that flows through the village are a must to see; and you are never far from things to do and see with fishing, walking, hill climbing, cycling, golfing, watersports and horse riding all on the doorstep. Breadalbane House provides excellent Bed & Breakfast accommodation in very comfortable rooms, all of which are en suite and well equipped with colour TV, DVD player (region 2), tea/coffee making facilities, radio alarm and hairdryer. One guest room is situated on the ground floor. The relaxing Residents' Lounge is the place to unwind after your day out. Private parking is provided and we can also offer secure storage for cycles, drying and ironing facilities. Wireless internet is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Breadalbane House Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing