We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Family Fun!”
other travellers have booked this property
Plenty space and total privacy for the perfect family/ friends holiday!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plenty space and total privacy for the perfect family/ friends holiday!
Morenish House, Loch Tay Loch side - a 10 minute stroll down from the house, ideal for paddling, fishing, picnics!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Plenty space and total privacy for the perfect family/ friends holiday!
Morenish House, Loch Tay
Loch side - a 10 minute stroll down from the house, ideal for paddling, fishing, picnics!
View from Morenish House - the twin pines, an iconic picture.
The Hub!! Incorporating kitchen, dining area, and lounge - and plenty space for everyone!
The Courtyard - a great, safe open area for kids to play...and adults to chill.
The Courtyard - from upstairs.
Early autumn sunrise....towards the twin pines from the courtyard.
Winter at Morenish.
Winter, Loch Tay.
Towards Killin.
Bedroom.
Bedroom - with a lovely view!
Downstairs has 2 games rooms, with table tennis, table football, as well as pool room.
The lawn shown here is ideal for all kinds of activities - anyone for croquet ?!
Side elevation (the old front door, going back many years...).
Lovely snowy scene, the kids have been busy....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

J1llybean
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family Fun!”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This large house, in the most beautiful location, was ideal for our large family gathering. Although the house was really cold on arrival, we soon had the log burner on the go in the main living area and it was really cosy! We couldn't get the log burner in the smaller living room, where the tv is, working without smoking the whole room out so we gave up! That room was therefore too cold to use. The beds were really comfortable though the rooms were chilly, particularly the one downstairs. We'd been advised to leave the heating on the pre-set timer as the oil had not been delivered and if we put it on constant it may run out. The oldest in our group therefore struggled with the cold temperature in the downstairs bedroom.
That is the only negative!
The house is a hide n seek paradise! It's so big. We had so much fun! There are plenty of kitchen utensils and the Aga is fabulous! The 10 minute walk to the loch side was lovely, through a field of sheep. We loved boating on the loch.
We'd love to return in the summer when the temperature will be better.
The house has little patches of damp and areas that could be more thoroughly cleaned, but on the whole I'd give it 9/10.
Take extra toilet roll if you're in a large group, and remember everything you need as there are no little extras like tea and coffee that we've had at other locations when spending the same amount of money.
Also only one bag of logs provided in the cost, additional bags charged at £5 each which was not mentioned in advance. Saying that we only used an additional 2 bags during our 2 day stay.
We took a short drive into Killin where we had a lovely meal in the Killin Hotel. The service was excellent. A picturesque walk to the Falls of Dochart followed.
This location suits young and old alike and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - amazing views of the loch and snow capped hills.
Liked least: Chilly bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane D
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great big house for large groups, family, friends,children and dogs!”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Stayed at Morenish House for a long weekend . 21 of us in total including kids and 4 dogs! Wasn't sure how this would go, incase we all wanted to leave after the first night lol, but wow you really have to visit this house to believe the size of it! Lucky if we saw each other all weekend!! Loved it! We had so much fun, and could still find a place to retreat for some peace and quiet! The weather was rubbish but it didn't stop us going long walks and taking in the gorgeous scenery! Beds very comfortable, kitchen well equipped, a comfortable house in general , when the family left, my husband, myself and two girls stayed on an extra couple of nights and it was so relaxed! John the caretaker, on other end of phone if needed, very pleasant and helpful. Alistair the owner, made booking easy, very helpful in answering any questions at any time, always replying with a cheery reply. Definitely going back, great holiday thanks Alistair!

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAD221022
Anstruther, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a great place to celebrate New Year”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

From the very start the experience of Morenish House has been terrific. Alistair always answers his emails promptly and no questions are left unanswered, even helpful advice was very welcome.
We travelled to Morenish with a group of 13 adults, 2 teenagers, 7 kids and 1 infant (1 week old, who made an early appearance to make it on his first holiday). We also had 2 dogs with us. As the house is so big it never felt crowded at all.
The weather wasn't the best but because of the playroom, pool table room and table tennis room there was always something to do, not once did any kid mutter the words I'm bored! We also loved the communal area that had no TV where we all enjoyed playing various games, even a wee strip the willow after the bells on Hogmanay.
Apart from all these great things it was a case off get the wellies and waterproofs on and enjoy the beautiful scenery that Morenish house is surrounded by.
Thank you Alistair for such a great start to the year.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne G
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal large house for friends and familu”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are a group of 18 friends and family who had a great weekend away at this house. Very spacious.The teenagers/ kids took over their own section of the house with their own living room/kitchen/games room etc.The open plan kitchen/dining/living area kept everyone included while still plenty of other rooms for a quiet retreat if needed.The dogs enjoyed the rug in front of the log fire.plenty of bedrooms/bathrooms to go around.
We managed to get a mostly dry Saturday and headed down for a lovely loch side walk.
Alistair,the owner always replied quickly to any questions I had before we went. We hope to return next year.

Date of stay: November 2015
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahbaz K
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best holiday ever!!”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A big house with a very nice location and great views. big open space with dinning table and fully equipped kitchen,a game room for kids and for teenagers as well with table tennis, football and a billiard. I went with big group with many kids and the weather was not that pleasant but the things available in mornish house were brilliant, kids did not feel bored.

Co operative is just on the walking distance with few young kids it was an advantage.
Quite few long walks nearby.

An outdoor place for BBQ was excellent.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Big space,game room and AGA cooker
Liked least: Leaving the place.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimL430
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WOW - what a place to stay!”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This house is amazing ... It is very well equipped for large groups. There was 15 of us and 3 dogs and we all had a fantastic time. Warm, cosy and so big! It was like crossing the Atlantic going to bed lol ! We has a sparrow hawk visit regularly, saw the osprey nest in the grounds and even had a cuckoo visit. Plenty to do with competitions of pool and table tennis each night. Stunning stunning place. Killin is only 2 miles with fab restaurants and of course the Falls of Dochart dominating the village. Thank you Alistair for letting us stay.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart T
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unashamedly awesome slice of Scotland!”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house:
The reviews have said it before but I'll say it again - it is a great size for groups, it sleeps 22 and has two separate living rooms each with a wood burner (logs can be purchased by the net and be there ready for you). It is situated around a central courtyard which has beautiful views. There are also two kitchens, one large with an oil Aga and one smaller and modern. This allowed flexibility within the group for people to do their own thing which was essential to stand any hope of keeping such a sizeable group happy. We left the central heating on the timer and were comfortably warm the entire week. The rooms are well presented and traditional. There are plenty of toilets, showers and baths and a drying room behind the kitchen which are all must-haves following a long walk.

The leisure:
Amenities are fantastic with 50 acres of private loch side land featuring an abundance of wildlife including an Osprey and Duck nests and farmed livestock. There is also a golf pitch and putt hole cut into the "garden" and shore fishing rights.
When the weather turns there is an open-fronted floodlit Dutch barn with gas BBQ and a games room with pool table, table tennis and table football - there is of course also a TV and many books.
In the local area there are a couple of Golf courses, we tried Killin Golf club which is 1 mile from the house. It is a 9 hole course with separate tees for the back 9 when opting to play 18 so I would avoid busy times (very quiet when we were there).
We visited Dewars distillery approx. 30 mins drive away which was the best setup distillery for visitors I have ever been to, tours range in price but we went for the £25 option and it was worth it - do not go on an empty stomach!
I recommend Cresthill Estate - 01887 877267, again about 30 mins drive, for clay pigeon shooting as the owner was so friendly and it is the best backdrop I have ever broken small clay saucers in.
Killin is very picturesque and I would recommend the Falls of Dochart Inn, The Courie and the Lochay Hotel for food and beverages. The walk back from the nearest pub, Lochay Hotel, is about 25 mins or call in a ride from Killin Taxis.
We fished from the shore by the house and the river in Killin (£8 per day) but caught nothing which may be a lack of skill but if (when) we return I will be looking to hire a small boat.

The customer service from the Owner and the Caretaker who gave us the keys when we arrived have been fantastic and I hope to return many times!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Weather for second half!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.