We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home made marmalade finished off our treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of MacGregor's Market

MacGregor's Market
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Killin
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Description: MacGregor's Market is a community run venture and as well as a cafe we also operate an information centre, resource centre, greengrocers, delicatessen and wholefood grocery store from our two neighbouring shops in the centre of Killin village.
Alloa
Level Contributor
147 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Home made marmalade finished off our treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Breakfast was scrambled eggs, black pudding, bacon & Lorne sausage. All tasted great. Speciality teas and cafetiere coffees were good and hot. The atmosphere had a nice local feel which was perhaps explained when we discovered that they are a community based project. A great idea which is to be supported.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alanblue722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant, cafe is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The market is great addition to town as my son is vegetarian and I could pick up all sorts of bits I forgot to bring on holiday!

I had a uni assignment to get in and in a panic went into the cafe to finish. My laptop was playing up and the cafe offers a free wifi computer, so asked of I could jump in and work. The girl serving was lovely and served me my tea and roll at the computer. It took a bit longer to do and I was on there an hour in the end, no one else was waiting and the girl assured me all was fine.

In the end I drank an entire caffitere of coffee, a pot of tea and a roll and egg!

The Internet use is free but a little pot has been put for donations so I put a few pounds in that and paid the bill.

Lovely cafe, the day before my daughter sat and played chess with a complete stranger and other people came in and chatted too. Lovely old school cafe and reasonable prices. A real gem in the heart of the village x

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lainey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wish I'd Had Room for Cake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stopped in this restaurant whilst travelling through Killin. We enjoyed the lentil soup and selection of breads, which were delicious and filled me up, but my friends still had room for cake and were exclaiming loudly about how lovely they were between mouthfuls. We then made some purchases from the attached shop.
Overall, a lovely wee place with cheery, chatty staff and great food, and full of equally cheery locals - always a good sign!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A good find.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We went in here on a damp June day after cycling from Lochearnhead. What a great place. Soup, bread, herbal tea, gingerbread- all excellent. Very friendly service. Just the thing to set us up for the return trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to rest your feet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

After walking from Lochearnhead to Killin - 8 miles - we were desperate for a cup of tea and to take the weight off our feet. MacGregor's Market frontage looked inviting so we popped in for a cup of tea and a sandwich. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MacGregor's Market also viewed

 

Been to MacGregor's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing