We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Blinkbonnie Cottage looking north towards Ben Lawers.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blinkbonnie Cottage looking north towards Ben Lawers.
Loch Earn. Ben Lawers from the front garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Blinkbonnie Cottage looking north towards Ben Lawers.
Loch Earn.
Ben Lawers from the front garden.
Lounge area with log burner.
Patio doors to rear garden.
Lounge.
Lounge /Dining area.
Modern kitchen with all appliances.
King size bed.
Bedroom 2 twin 3'0 beds with memory mattress's.
Rear garden looking south over Lochan.
From the front garden.
Sunrise over the mountains.
Lochearnhead Village.
Loads of forrest trails in the area.
You will love Blinkbonnie Cottage.
Falls of Dochart, Killin
Falls of Dochart, Killin.
Neighbours!
Neighbours!
Who's watching who?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Susan F
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have just left Blinkbonnie Cottage after a lovely week. The cottage is so clean and comfortable. It was all I expected and more. I have not slept so well for years! Just happy to sit and watch the birds outside when it was raining. 2 sightings of deer, 1 up close and personal in the garden nearby then they walked round the front of the cottage. Thank you Dave and Sadie and we hope to be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2016
Thank you Both for your kind review. You were a pleasure to have as guests and you are welcome back anytime!

Dave & Sandie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M C
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The location and the cottage itself are really nice but we had a really bad experience with the owners and beware as two men (the owner and a handyman), who came in on the first night to assist us with the water tank issue, were very rude, even suggesting to give us our money back and asking us to leave immediately, when we actually had a young child with us and it was Saturday, 10 pm just before Easter Sunday!!! Shocking!!!
They were shouting and telling my husband to SHUT UP as he only tried to share his opinion.
There is a washing machine which we have used for our dirty bike clothes, riding all Saturday, and that apparently have caused the water problem!? And when we wanted to take our first shower, we did not have any water left! We have contacted the owners for the assistance and as described above, that was the way they have dealt with us... The shower got fixed but it left us with a really bad feelings and our child had witnessed the whole situation...That is definitely not acceptable way of dealing with the customers...
On the other note, the tap water was YELLOW, so for the whole stay we had to buy our own water, as the owner left us with a couple of bottles for our 4 nights' stay.
The cottage has some lovely features and looked clean but it really was not cleaned by the owners prior to our arrival as there were some hair, hair products and a hair brush left under our bed. There was also a lot of dust and crumbs around the fold able dinner table... The curtains and the rug in front of the terrace door were all dump and soaking wet. The lady have explained it was down to the bad weather issues but the man who dealt with the shower accused us of the wet rug?!!!
The owners have tried to redeem themselves by bringing in some extra wood for the log burner, but we are afraid it is not enough as we have brought our own wood anyway. They have left us milk for our stay and a 1 pound price shortbread which unfortunately was out of date... they really need to take some advice on how to run a holiday let business...
Overall, it is a shame as we are using self catering accommodation very often across Scotland and Europe and we have never had such a bad experience with the owners.
This is why we can give this place 3 stars, based on the location and the cottage look only.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Owners Reply

I would like thank these guests for their awful review as it means they will never be returning to our lovely cottage!
There are a number of points they raised and thank goodness I am allowed to respond to their untruths and inaccuracies.

1, They stayed in March not April!
2, I did not ask them to leave. I offered 100% refund if they wished to leave even if it was the following day!
3, The shouting was raised voices as the husband had been drinking whisky and watching football on the T.V. which seemed on maximum volume. The husband later fell over in the hall whilst kneeling down to see how the water supply worked.
4, He was not told to SHUT UP as stated. He was asked to listen whilst we explained that the hill water supply cannot cope with the demands that they had put on it! It needed to be given chance to fill up the attic cold water tank which gives the pressure for the shower to work! He found it difficult to listen and kept arguing and saying he knew best!
5, They stated that the water was yellow. The water is a hill supply and very enjoyable to drink, but can have a peaty colour to it during heavy rain spells which we had over the last couple of days. On these occasions we leave a couple of bottled drinking water normally for children!
6, The hairbrush and the deodorant (Not Hair Product)they say was found under the bed were not there when I used the small Dyson Hoover to clean prior to their visit.
7, The curtains and rug were soaking wet as the guests had the clothes drier there with dripping wet cycling gear on. We had to dry out under the laminate floor after they left as there was so much water.
8, The extra wood was delivered free of charge as the wood they had brought with them was soaking wet and unseasoned. At the time I delivered the extra they seemed very happy to be receiving it!
9, The £1.00 box of out dated shortbread must have been specially selected for them. As the last purchase I made from Tesco are all dated October 2016. We only ever purchase 6 to 10 boxes at a time to make sure that they are always fresh. We have two holiday units, so rotation of stock is swift!
10, I am accused of needing advice on how to run a holiday let business. I am always willing to listen (Unlike the husband) to anyone who gives good advice. I have run successfully a number of business’s over the last 40+ years and none more successful than the holiday let business as our 5 star reviews indicate. It is a shame that one malicious inaccurate review like this can do so much damage!

The brief outline of the initial complaint received by email (9-00pm) was that the shower was not working. My maintenance man and myself arrived at the cottage 35 minutes later to find that the washing machine was on and the kitchen tap running for no reason. There was 3 sacks of wet unseasoned wood stacked in the hall and more wood stacked on top of the wood burner stove. The cottage looked like a bomb had hit it. My maintenance man removed the wood immediately as it was a fire hazard. We checked the shower and found that there was no water pressure for it to work so the filters and pump were checked and found all ok. We gained entrance to the loft area and found the holding tank virtually empty. The water input pump was working and trying to fill the tank, but with the washing machine on, the kitchen tap running for no reason and a bath had been run did not give the water tank time to fill so the shower could be use. We allowed the water tank to fill and the shower worked fine. The bath was full of hair which looked like someone’s hair had been cut whilst in the bath! The husband then said that the stove flue needed cleaning! It had only been cleaned 2/3 months previous and the problem was the wet unseasoned wood he was trying to burn. We found some of the seasoned dry wood that I left and got the fire going no problem. The husband then accused my wife off leaving the cottage dirty and I did get annoyed at this as I had left five hours before and the cottage was immaculate. My wife stayed on as usual to meet and greet our new guests and make sure there were no problems. The guests arrived wet, cold and in dirty cycling gear (Their Words) and not in the best of moods. They complained that the electric charges were extra (Shown in advert), they complained that we do not provide washing powder or tablets, they complained that the cycle track was a few hundred yards from the cottage! My wife returned home and her first words were “I think we are going to have trouble with these guests” and boy, did we!

I would add that the guests wife apologised to my maintenance man for her husbands behaviour before we left. There were no further complaints during their stay. However, I did send in a full report to the Holiday Letting Company the day after they left as I was not happy with this guest and the state the cottage had been left in. I did not make a claim against their housekeeping deposit as a sign of goodwill, but I now have a invoice to pay £163.00 for emergency call out charges and time spent on site late Easter Saturday evening. We did not leave the premises until 11-00pm and the guests were perfectly happy then!

It is strange that this complaint has been made to Trip Advisor 17 days after the guests left the cottage. I know if I had had a genuine poor holiday the people concerned would have known immediately and a full report sent to the holiday company.

My independent maintenance man who owns APW Property Services can substantiate all of these facts given today and a copy of his invoice can be seen on request!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waters3
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

A lovely cottage, with everything you could need, plus a log burner.
Set in a beautiful area were you can relax and enjoy the wildlife or you can wonder off and enjoy the beauty of Scotland.
We will certainly return, thank you David & Sandie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: where the cottage was situated, and the cottage itself.
Liked least: we had bad weather!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T
1 review
“Didn't Want To Leave”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

An excellent few days at Blinkbonnie. Sandie and Dave were very friendly and helpful.

High quality accommodation in a stunning location, exactly as described and a good base for touring.

We particularly enjoyed all the bird life on the garden bird feeders and bird table, the ducks on the lochan at the end of the garden and all the other wildlife, that can easily be seen around the cottage.

Good dark night skies for easy star gazing. We saw a very bright shooting star, without really having to try.

Wish we'd have booked a few more days.

Many thanks and highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, wildlife and quality of the accomodation.
Liked least: The small-ish kitchen, but not really a problem at all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather B
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A little piece of tranquility.”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

If you're looking for somewhere to stay in the Trossachs I couldn't recommend Blinkbonnie Cottage highly enough. It's a little piece of tranquility in this gorgeous part of Scotland. It's easy to travel around to visit places such as Loch Lomond, Oban, Perth and get out in the open in Glen Coe. Dave and Sandie could not be more helpful and have great recommendations for where to eat, visit, things to do etc. The cottage itself is cosy and welcoming and everything has been thought of, even down to the binoculars so you can watch the Buzzards and Kestrels overhead. An absolute must if you're a foodie is a trip to Mhor 84.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not applicable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppajock
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace and walks-or climbs if you prefer. Lots of woods and mountains.”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Excellent clean cottage. 7 cottages in a row then nothing for 2 1/2 miles in Killin.Very quiet and peaceful .Lots of places to walk. Falkirk about an hour away with the Kelpies and the Falkirk wheel. Well worth a visit. Lots of ducks and rabbits as well as occasional hawks around the cottage. Cottage is well equipped. and plenty of parking space. One thing though-make sure you have enough breakdown cover to get you home in case of car trouble.There is a Land rover garage about 400 metres away but chances of having parts for your car are pretty remote and the next garage is 40 miles !!.Killin has some nice village shops as well as a co-op supermarket. .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Lack of garages when my car broke down.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage ”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What a beautiful cottage. Everything clean and tidy. It has everything you need. Every detail has been thought of to make your stay in Blinkbonnie a pleasant one. Dave and Sandie very friendly and full of knowledge about the area. This cottage is ideal if you want to get away from it all. Stunning scenery...breathtaking infact.
Many thanks for wonderful few days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing