We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Falls of Dochart Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clachan Cottage Hotel(Lochearnhead)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ardeonaig Hotel(Ardeonaig)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Achray House Hotel(St Fillans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monachyle Mhor(Balquhidder)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Fortingall Hotel(Fortingall)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
92
72
40
33
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
72
40
33
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubroaring fireroll top bathneepsgreat fish and chipsshower curtainfour poster bedon the rocksunderfloor heatingmy other halfstaff were welcominglovely locationporridgefull scottish breakfastcouldn't faultfallshairdryer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Didn't stay at the Hotel - just called in for a meal after a long day on the hills. Food was good - well presented and flavoursome. The venison was excellent. Glad the restaurant was empty as it felt dark and claustrophobic. The staff were polite but lacked real warmth. Didn't check if we enjoyed the meal or thanked us when we settled the bill. Shame - with a bit more effort this place could really nail it. Probably won't be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Little-Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

We weren't expecting much at the Falls of Dochart Inn as I had not been able to do my usual Trip Advisor research beforehand. But it was raining and getting late and they had a room. We were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is old and quirky and the room small but the bed was the most comfortable we have had on this trip and the breakfast was excellent. The view of the falls was unbeatable. The wifi did not work in our room as the inn walls are very thick but it was still good to have it available in the restaurant and the hallway. The food in the bar was also good. I'd certainly come again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Locheriboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at this in from 26th-28th June in a falls view room. The view from the room is amazing and this must reflect on the price
We stayed in number 6 . It has a lovely four poster bed and a beautiful roll top bath in the bathroom. The room was small and there is very little natural light coming in. If you prefer a shower, then it's awkward as there is nowhere to hang the shower head and there is no shower curtain either.
The service at breakfast could be better. Tea gets served 1st and is cold before breakfast gets served (this took 45mins). Standard of cooked breakfast varies from poor on our 1st morning to good 2nd morning.
I definitely think that food and service could be improved on but I would recommend a visit
A short walk across the bridge takes you into Killin where there is more accommodation and resteraunts etc.
It is a perfect place for walkers too.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazznbazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Cannot comment on accommodation but hopefully better than the tea room. Food was dry bordering on being stale - eg scones. Beverages limited and service somewhat mediocre. Will not be returning. Thankfully, this is not average Scottish service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank swhamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Again, a fantastic meal at the Falls of Dochart Inn. We have been here seven or eight times with friends and family and have never been let down yet. We were met by Liz who as usual was exuberent and friendly who showed us to our table though we hadn't booked in advance. We were seated in a pleasant cosy little space with only a couple of other tables nearby, much quieter than the main bar area. As a starter I had the haggis neeps and tatties which was superb, the red wine gravy set it apart from any haggis I have ever tasted before. My Father-in-law had the pork belly with black pudding which he also greatly enjoyed. The Lemon sole was the evening special and both my wife and Father-in-law chose that. Both described it as fresh, well prepared and set off with a very tasty lemon and caper sauce. I had the haddock which was excellent: I'm a fisherman and hate grey, days old haddock often served up in other establishments. Overall, another excellent eating experience with friendly eager staff who always go the extra mile. And the cost of this extravaganza, £15 per head, unbelievable value, and I haven't even mentioned the stunning location yet! Don't settle for less.

Room Tip: Make sure you reserve a table as it can be very busy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank DouglasWilliamReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews