We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relies heavily on its location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Falls of Dochart Inn
Ranked #13 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relies heavily on its location”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful setting but the interior well over due a revamp , poor seating & very dark all needs a good scrub especially the windows .....
Things improve when you get to the rooms ( room6 was nice with memory foam mattress & cute roll top bath) but attention to detail was shoddy ... Loose tiles Venetian blinds just hanging on ... Bathroom door doesn't close etc small things but it was only £70 what do u expect ....
Good sleep on memory foam mattress .... Comfy

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masterbaker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    68
    39
    33
    41
See reviews for
44
155
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We arrived in the village after a long drive and decided to walk back to the Falls of Dochart for a few drinks and enjoy the last of the evening sun at a beautiful spot. I walked in to the Bar with another traveller to be met by an empty, unattended barroom. I waited 3 or 4 minutes during which time a further 8 Japanese visitors came in with another 4 British visitors all looking for a drink. I could hear and see shadows moving in the Kitchen some 15ft away and shouted through for service 3 or 4 times to no avail. Following another 4 to 5 minute wait with no service, myself and an Irish couple decided enough was enough and went to find somewhere willing to take our money. I used to be a regular visitor to Killin and was saddened to see several good hotels and businesses closed. Perhaps they all had the same customer services manager as the Falls of Dochart. Service like this does the Hotel business in general and Scotland in particular no favours whatsoever. Wont be back. Difficult to give a rating as we never actually managed to get served

Room Tip: Shout loudly to try and attract somebody's attention
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavyB7856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killin hotels

Dufftown, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The coffee was small and nasty, the scone just a lump of tasteless dough. Not even cheap. I can not recommend the tea room at all, did not try the pub or the accomodation. A shame as it looks great from outside.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe9
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We ate here on our way from Skye to Callander. The pub didn’t seem well staffed, so there was a long wait for everything, from ordering drinks to ordering food and the food eventually coming out.

When it did arrive, the ribeye steak and burger can only be described as just okay/average.

We’ve been told that The Smiddy down the road is good so if you are visiting the lovely little village of Killin, maybe try there instead.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morecambe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Didn't stay at the Hotel - just called in for a meal after a long day on the hills. Food was good - well presented and flavoursome. The venison was excellent. Glad the restaurant was empty as it felt dark and claustrophobic. The staff were polite but lacked real warmth. Didn't check if we enjoyed the meal or thanked us when we settled the bill. Shame - with a bit more effort this place could really nail it. Probably won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Little-Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

We weren't expecting much at the Falls of Dochart Inn as I had not been able to do my usual Trip Advisor research beforehand. But it was raining and getting late and they had a room. We were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is old and quirky and the room small but the bed was the most comfortable we have had on this trip and the breakfast was excellent. The view of the falls was unbeatable. The wifi did not work in our room as the inn walls are very thick but it was still good to have it available in the restaurant and the hallway. The food in the bar was also good. I'd certainly come again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Locheriboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at this in from 26th-28th June in a falls view room. The view from the room is amazing and this must reflect on the price
We stayed in number 6 . It has a lovely four poster bed and a beautiful roll top bath in the bathroom. The room was small and there is very little natural light coming in. If you prefer a shower, then it's awkward as there is nowhere to hang the shower head and there is no shower curtain either.
The service at breakfast could be better. Tea gets served 1st and is cold before breakfast gets served (this took 45mins). Standard of cooked breakfast varies from poor on our 1st morning to good 2nd morning.
I definitely think that food and service could be improved on but I would recommend a visit
A short walk across the bridge takes you into Killin where there is more accommodation and resteraunts etc.
It is a perfect place for walkers too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazznbazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
405 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
904 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
980 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#10 of 14 in Killin
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls of Dochart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls of Dochart Inn

Property: The Falls of Dochart Inn
Address: Gray Street, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falls of Dochart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Falls of Dochart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falls Of Dochart Inn Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing