We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrendous experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Falls of Dochart Inn
Ranked #13 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Kelso, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“horrendous experience”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

After visiting the beautiful water falls myself and the company I was in decided to take ourselves for a nice lunch. We were greeted by a waitress who advised us she was preparing a table for us and we gladly waited outside. Upon entering when our table was ready the manageress was extremely rude when noticing we had an assistant puppy with us. Much to our dismay we were then informed that assistant dogs are only allowed in the bar area of the hotel and not allowed in the restaurant where we were headed. I have now discovered that it is against the law to refuse a medical detection dog or any other assistant dogs.
I am extremely appalled at the manner in which we were presented with. Myself and the company I was in will certainly not be returning on or next visit to the area.
I would sincerely recommend the old bank in the neighbouring village as a fantastic place to eat with excellent service and staff who are extremely welcoming and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank nicole r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    67
    39
    33
    39
See reviews for
41
154
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had just one night there.
The food was excellent and served with a smile.
The real ale was top class. The bar was very busy earlier in the day, and the beers were running out! I had a couple of pints of Fyne Ales Maverick followed by 2 of a very special Fyne Ales, Fladda Rock. Fladda Rock, though on the strong side is superb like their Jarl.
The room was OK. The views from the pub are second to none. The small communal room is tastefully done, might be better used if there were a couple of chairs instead of the lovely desk.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the falls if you can. Our overlooked 3 sad dogs and a cat in a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobshepfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I'm amazed anyone could give a negative review...
The staff were friendly, even with the pub being busy. We stayed in room 7 [facing the falls] which was excellent with beautiful comfortable bed and good en suite. We had dinner which was also very good and interesting menu, not just the normal boring options.
This is not a hotel, but a very nice pub/inn. The accommodation and food are both excellent.

Room Tip: Room 7 was lovely; clean, tidy and customable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stopped for lunch. Overpriced rubbish, service was terrible and good was beyond poor. Obviously cashing in on their location but just 150m further along the road are places far better. Location is stunning, pity it's obvious they don't care about repeat business.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tetstb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killin hotels

newcastle upon tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Evening meal was good thereafter it all goes pear shaped. Booked through Booking.com which lists as 3 star implying that it is STB rated which it is not. I own 4 star rated self catering properties and this place would not be rated at all. Bar and restaurant filthy sticky tables and floor. Byre a joke, bathroom is literally a cupboard almost impossible to use, heater did not work. No hot water either, ran tap for several minutes and metal shards from a long ago disintegrated immersion heater appeared. No point in complaining, no management on site and owner away, tank built into walls with no access. Varnished timber lining to walls and ceiling and windows locked, in my view a serious fire hazard with no alternative means of escape, smoke alarm cover missing. Furniture second hand rubbish, crockery etc out of a charity shop? Breakfast mediocre. Avoid like the plague.

Room Tip: Just don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband have just returned from our honeymoon today. We stayed at dochart falls inn for ourwhole howeymoon. We found the staff too be welcoming throughout. Our room (room 6) was amazing, clean, modern, cosy, romantic and had everything we needed. Room was cleaned and bedding changed on a daily basis. Food was impeccable, from breakfast to evening meal (my husband even said starter of the pork and black pudding was the best starter he had had in year) credit too the chef presentation and ideas were amazing ..

From start to finish our honeymoon stay was incredible and would recommend too anyone.

The views of the falls were wonderful..morning noon and night

A little gem of a place definitely

Thankyou again all the staff for making our stay memorable

Mr and mrs Beech ..stay room 6 22/08/13-26/08/13

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jentemps26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldstream, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I was prompted to write this review after reading some poor ones. We stayed in room 6 on the 19th August and cannot complain about anything. The room was lovely with a beautiful slate floored bathroom and the food was excellent....scallops, pate, lobster fishcakes and ox cheeks to die for. I would love to meet the people who write poor reviews about this lovely inn, they really need to get a life.
Neil Toulouse. Scottish Borders

Room Tip: Room with Falls view, try room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
972 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#10 of 14 in Killin
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#9 of 14 in Killin
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls of Dochart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls of Dochart Inn

Property: The Falls of Dochart Inn
Address: Gray Street, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falls of Dochart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Falls of Dochart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falls Of Dochart Inn Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing