We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good lunch stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Falls of Dochart Inn
Ranked #13 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stopped here for lunch on a day out driving around the Trossachs on a cold and sunny day in February. The inn is right beside the Falls of Dochart and we had a seat by the window so the view was a fine backdrop to our lunch. We had haggis, neeps and tat ties plus two non-alcoholic drinks. The bill for two came to £25, not particularly cheap, but the quality of the food was excellent, and the meal well presented. The bar was a pleasant place to spend an hour, with an open fire and the obligatory stag's head on the wall. We'd go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

We chose the cafe here for a late morning snack on a sunny Sunday at the beginning of the half-term. The location could not have been more perfect, right next to the beautiful falls. The attractive room was cold despite a large open fire, the scone was stale, the coffee below par and the poor woman serving at the counter was completely stretched as she was also manning the bar next door. It does not take much effort to serve decent coffee and buns in this gorgeous spot and the crowds would be pouring in so why doesn't the management do it?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kalikome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I last stayed in this hotel in 1992. As then, the bedroom was very good and well appointed. Four poster bed, great view out to the bridge etc.

I'm very disappointed to give the "terrible" rating to the stay, however. The trouble started the next morning.
Ready for breakfast at 8 to 8:30 am, but no staff! Other guests assembled but still no staff. One couple left their name so they could be contacted to pay for their room, then they had to leave. We wandered around the Dochart Falls, the service van with vegetables and other foods gave up and did not deliver, and so it went on.
I was not in a desperate hurry and so I waited..and waited..and waited.

At 10:30 a bleary eyed male appeared, started apologising, mumbled something about staff confused as to shifts. More waiting for breakfast.

I've checked the reviews, and guess what, this does not seem an isolated incident.

No reduction in tariff for the wait, of course.

If I owned the Inn, the staff would be out the door in a trice. A disgraceful set-up.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Myself and my husband first discovered this hotel when we had been driving around Scotland and booking into different places we found every night - we chose the Falls of Dochart Inn because it was right on the falls and we have visited twice more as we loved it so much.
All times we have been lucky enough to have been given rooms with a view of the Falls and I would definitley recommend asking for a room with a view as the Falls are just beautiful. The rooms themselves are cosy and have very comfy beds!!
Killin itself is very small and you can walk through it in about 10-15 minutes - if you're looking for entertainment for kids there's not too much really. We enjoyed it because we wandered between all of the hotels and bars and had a wee drink in each! The Falls obviously have to be visited - you can climb down over the rocks and climb all over the Falls!
The food in the Inn is just absolutely great - especially the breakfast - full scotish, YUM! We enjoyed the bar in the Inn - in the evening its got a roaring fire and I'd recommend getting a caraffe of wine and sit and people watch.
All of the staff we've ever encountered have always been extra helpful and friendly.
Overall its a great little gem of a hotel in a magical wee village tucked away in the hills of Scotland and I feel bad that some people will never visit it. Apparently, Killin is Michael Palin's favourite place in the world and if it's good enough for him then that's fine by me!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Falls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Just back form a 3 night stay at the inn myself and my husband stayed here 31st Dec to 3rd Jan.Firework display at the Falls of Dochart was a fantastic way to bring in the new year.we stayed in room 6 had superb views of the falls the room was decorated to very high standards with four poster bed and very comfortable, the bathroom was very modern free standing bath with under floor heating.Breakfast in the morning was excellent with a wide variety of choice also meals where great a great big thank you to the chef.Staff where very friendly and helpful a great big thank you to Ellie,Lucy and not forgetting Wee Liz who has excellent customer service and always served with a smile. Before we left to come home we booked again for next new year and look forward to seeing you all again once again thanks to everyone at the Falls Of Dochart for making our New Year very memorable

Room Tip: Book a room with views of the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doreen05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a fantastic old world sort of inn lovely and cosy and overlooking the falls.There is a cottage out the back you can rent .The cottage is fully equipped and equally cosy .The inn sells some great home made food of good quality.Excellent place at new year.As they light fireworks over the falls spectacular.

Room Tip: the cottage out the back is great.If you are going to the actual hotel ask for front rooms overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Late afternoon, in late September, cool evening, roaring water falls, scenic little town. We spotted this roadside inn, and enjoyed a great dinner by the huge fireplace, with local brews and local folks. The bed was warm and we could hear the water falling. Very convenient for walking around the village and enjoying the sights. Yes, the food and drinks were most costly than average, and so was the ambience.

Room Tip: window on the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahgreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
439 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
929 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
1,014 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls of Dochart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls of Dochart Inn

Address: Gray Street, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range: £85 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falls of Dochart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Falls of Dochart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falls Of Dochart Inn Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing