We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, over-rated, unpleasant surprises in store”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Falls of Dochart Inn
Ranked #14 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Room small, cramped, dark, double bed very small with bad mattress. Bathroom hardly lighted. Price double that of other properties in Killin with much better facilities. One of us took a shower, which caused a break in a pipe and water to spill onto breakfasters on the ground floor. The other had to forego shower and shave and we made our exit as quickly as possible, paying for another night which we did not spend in that awful place. The inn is strategically located and well advertised, but it is bad value for money and one can do much, much better in Killin.

Room Tip: Go anywhere else in Killin !
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Barbafa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KillinBunty, Owner at The Falls of Dochart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

I am sorry you felt the need to write a very unfair review, it was expected, a difficult customer to say the least. If you had taken the time to look at our website or the paticulars you would have seen we are a traditional scottish inn which has low ceilings, small rooms and dim lighting, we are not a large group hotel with large bright areas. You emailed us before arrival regarding matress's and you were told all beds have memory foam mattress's and we do not hold spare ones, you had the choice to change your reservation then but no you still came and complained about the mattress. As for the "shower", your room had a slipper bath and shower head not a "shower" so when you flooded the bathroom "yes, it did leak". You told us upon leaving the inn was too busy for you at your age, you thought it would be quiet and peaceful, really? next to a tourist attraction? would you expect to go to the Eiffel Tower and have it all to yourself?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Have popped in here on a couple of occasions for a pint after hill-walking in the area. The staff are just about THE MOST disinterested, uncaring, unprofessional and unpleasant bar staff ever.

There is one woman in particular: short, dark hair, thick Weedgie accent who is just terrible: nippy, sharp, surly, sullen, unfriendly. Clearly, people skills are not her forte. She should not be allowed within a mile of paying customers. I dread to think what tourists from overseas think when they experience her brand of ‘customer care’. She clearly hates her job and has personal issues which render her incapable of being pleasant or even civil to people who, essentially, keep her in a job.

Despite the idyllic picture-postcard setting, I won’t be back to the Falls of Dochart Inn. I’ve since learned that there are far nicer, far friendlier establishments in the village.

Room Tip: The best tip I can offer is: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HongKongFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KillinBunty, Owner at The Falls of Dochart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Shamefull that you should personalise this review and publicly ridicule a proud Glaswegion whilst hiding behind a silly non-de plum.
The member of staff you refer to has been with us for 6 years and is loved and respected by those who work with her and by many hundreds of customers she has served over the years.
What did she do to deserve your scorn ? Tell you the restuarant was closed.
Pathetic, Trip advisor at its worst.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Nice cheap and cheerful hotel. Average food staff very pleasant. You get what you pay for it's not the ritz but it's ok. We are going back again in June 14
Don't know why this silly iPhone app want me to write at least 200 characters as this has nothing to do with the review.
Ha ha

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank John_and_Shona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having spent a couple of nights at the Falls of Dochart Inn I can find nothing but praise for the experience. Our room overlooked the Falls - Room 6 - was quiet, comfortable and spacious. Saturday night offered live music, the restaurant offered superb meals in such a cosy environment. Breakfasted by the log fire with Enya playing in the background, excellent menu for all meals and the servie must be the most cheerful and friendly you could wish for. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Room 6 overlooks the Falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Was charged £20 for 2 cups and saucers from the room that weren't in the room when we arrived and then they wouldn't answer the phone fix the problem. Rooms are verry noisy and dirty (you will not get a sleep) breakfast was made up with cheap ingredients sausages where cheap, tasteless and cold

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clochary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KillinBunty, Owner at The Falls of Dochart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

You never mentioned any complaints when when we discussed at length your plans for the day after breakfast. You never brought up any of your grievances when you checked out and paid in full.
The posting was made the day after I spoke to you and made it clear that we would not be refunding your £20 for the missing items from your room.
The validity of your claim that you never took our property is impossible to prove either way. I intend to donate the £20 to the killin mountain rescue who I will ask to write to you direct to confirm receipt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I had a meal with a few friends here recently and really enjoyed it. The food is of a high quality and is well presented. The atmosphere in the pub is authentic and the view of the falls and surrounding hills adds to the experience. You should definitely make this a stop if you are passing by or are in the area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We spent one night here this week and had a fantastic time. We'd popped in last year and enjoyed a relaxing bar meal and a few local ales by the roaring fire, however this time we wanted to stay over. Room 6 overlooks the Falls of Dochart and is a great room: comfy 4-poster bed, roll-top bath, under-floor heating in the bathroom and spotless. It was lovely hearing the Falls in the distance when everything was quiet. We had dinner in the bar and again, the food was excellent with fresh ingredients and plentiful portions. Hurricane Jack on tap and the hours just fly by in front of the cosy fire. Breakfast was very tasty, with a number of options from healthy porridge to a full Scottish, and cereal and toast too. All staff were very friendly and helpful. I'll definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 6 overlooks the Falls and is just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueMoon1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
439 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
930 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
1,014 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls of Dochart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls of Dochart Inn

Address: Gray Street, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range: £86 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falls of Dochart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Falls of Dochart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falls Of Dochart Inn Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing