We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Falls of Dochart Inn
Ranked #13 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 27 September 2009

This pace was just what I wanted. Really friendly welcome, family-run, atmospheric, good food with tourist favourites on the menu, good sized rooms and bathrooms, great view of the falls...the ONLY problem I had was that it was cold. But that could be fixed!! There was a heater in the wardrobe, which would have been ideal if I hadn't got up in the middle of the night and accidentlly switched it off!

A really nice place to stay, although I would hesitate to describe it as boutique - it's not QUITE there, but who cares? There's a big roaring fire in the main bar (with an odd doll dressed up as an old woman sitting by it, to add a sense of history, I suppose), the staff and the locals will chat away to you, the food is good and fulfils the stereotypical requirements of a visitor to Scotland - haggis, kippers for breakfast etc. and plenty of advice on climbing the local peaks. My room had a view of the falls and I was lulled to sleep in my big cosy bed by the sound of the rapids and had a hearty breakfast before tackling Ben Lawers the next day. A beautiful place with very nice people and definitely worth a stop.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mossop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    63
    38
    33
    39
See reviews for
41
148
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

The room was comfortable, with decent bathroom (no shower); the staff were purposeful and ready to help. The food was very good and the beer also. We enjoyed the scenery, and had a day with no rain to cycle up the Lochay valley.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThreeShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Came up to Killin for a long weekend on Friday 11th September. Arrived at 12:30 and was curtly told by youn girl behind the bar (also acts as Reception/Check In & Out) that room would not be ready until 3:00pm.

Rooms on the website looked great and were actually great at the front of the hotel in the sunshine and facing on to the Falls of Dochart. Unfortunately our family room for 4 was at the rear of the hotel which was constantly in the shade and as such was always dark, cold and damp. Room was so cold in the mornings that all of the bedding felt very damp. Heating remained switched off. Room looked on to back yard which was patrolled by the owners 2 dogs. We were also situated right next to the vent outlet from the kitchen which beltched smoke into our room. Fire doors and entry door to the accomodation wing is left open day and night so anybody can walk in.

On checking in to the room the bathroom (all black slate with no window) had a used plaster and dirty strip of toilet paper lying on the floor behind the toilet bowl. Toilet itself was positioned such that it could not be sat on as it was too close to the wall. Mirror was fixed so high above the tiles so as to be useless. Plastic ledge below the shower cabinet was hanging off. Shower gel dispenser was empty. Bathroom had no socket for shaver or power.

The socket for plugging in the mini kettle was right at floor level meaning that the cable presented a trip hazzard between the bed and the very low Ikea side table on which the kettle was situated. The floor levels were all over the place making for some intersting walkign across the room and along corridors. As a result there are huge gaps between the bottom of the doors and the floors.

On checking out my bill had over £100 of food and drink charged to it which we had never had. This was eventually removed but hard to see why it would have been booked to our room in the first place.

Hotel is in an excellent location and the front rooms facing on to the Falls of Dochart are lovely (we saw these rooms when they were being cleaned/prepped). The location is great for sitting and having a drink outside in the sunshine (if not a little too close to the road. Coaches and trucks come right up to within a foot of the tables before making their turn).

Would go back if we had a nice sunny, warm and well presented room at the front of the hotel as opposed to cold, damp, dark and smoke filled at the rear.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shicks11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killin hotels

Northumberland. U.K
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We booked 4 rooms here for an overnight stay whilst on a cycling holiday. We arrived at 4pm having cycled 60 miles. The rooms had clearly been re-furbished and ours had a lovely large victorian bath. I began filling the bath only to find that there was no hot water!
We were promised hot water within 10 minutes, but it never materialised, so 4 of us ended up using our friends' shower in their room where the sanitary bin had not been emptied from the previous occupants. we got a refund of £ 10 each on our bill, but it did not make up for the gross inconvenience and our desperation for a bath in our own room.
The restaurant food was excellent.
We have stayed in 4/5 star hotels around the world at cheaper rates that this and got much better standard of service for the money.
We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelpink50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We ate here the evening we arrived in Killin for some hill walking. The bar was lively - good music, roaring fire (yes, August), nice selection of beers. The staff were friendly and we ate a good dinner looking out the window at the falls (and the rain). Can't comment on the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murky14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

This review only concerns the tearoom, as we did not stay at the hotel. We used the tearoom for lunch and were very disappointed at the low standard. I have seldom tasted such dry, stale scones. The price was high for a good scone, and ridiculous for something which was barely edible.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMTScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

My brother and I stayed at the Falls of Dochart Inn in Killin for two nights on a recent April 2009 family reunion Highlands visit, our booking thereg uided by other positive TripAdvisor reviews. Killin is an strikingly attractive centre for Highland touring and outdoor sports, and the Falls of Dochart a dramatic beauty spot. The Inn is right beside the falls and bridge in a superb position on the way into the town. The owner's welcome was warm and friendly, both our rooms were really excellent, well-funished. equipped and decorated, with extremely smart new slate bathrooms, and great views of the Falls. Good tea/coffee making facilities were also welcome.
We had been mountain biking, canoeing, etc., for a couple of days beforehand further along Loch Tay, and so were glad of the comforts of hot baths and showers.

The main downstairs bar was a historic landmark, with a huge wood fire, and the restaurant area occupied several other atmospheric, characterful rooms, of this historic Inn.
We ate dinner at the Inn both nights, the service was very friendly and fast, and our food was good sound fare both time. This was especially welcome after a hard day scaling part of the nearby Ben Lawyers high munro group.
Breakfasts were also first-rate, with top-class produce used, and home-smoked salmon offered as an unusual option.
The Inn is also a popular local's bar/meeting spot, as well as a welcoming base for visitors, with ample parking. We greatly enjoyed our stay, and highly recommend both the Inn and Killen to Loch Tay/Highland visitors.






Downstairs, the Inn was


with Falls views,

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKanalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#4 of 14 in Killin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
0.7 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#10 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls of Dochart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls of Dochart Inn

Property: The Falls of Dochart Inn
Address: Gray Street, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falls of Dochart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Falls of Dochart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falls Of Dochart Inn Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing