We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cold stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Falls of Dochart Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Falls of Dochart Inn
Ranked #13 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Fife
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very cold stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

The inn is in a prime location overlooking the falls! States it's a boutique inn! A few scatter cushions does not make it a boutique inn, nor does the location!

On arrival we were shown to our room through a very cold corridor. Heating turned down to a minimum and the room was very cold! Rooms should be at an acceptable temperature to make the inn welcoming to the guests! (you do want them to return).

Room was okay although basic, nice bath! Mildew on the ceiling above window ( bleach works wonders), mattress very springy needs replacing, towel rail looked good but did not work!

We did not have a good restful night! Breakfast was good as was evening meal. Crockery was chipped (breeds bacteria) service was good. Does not justify over inflated price. Atmosphere in bar could have been good if it was not so cold. Everybody sitting around with jackets on in front of a log fire spoke volumes.

No internet connection as stated on web site, also there should be fire escape instructions on back of bedroom door, this is a legal requirement.

Would i return? For food yes but not to stay!!!!

Hope this is helpful!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pollydolly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    62
    34
    33
    37
See reviews for
40
142
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

Just what we wanted for a relaxing couple of days. We were made to feel very welcome - and the roaring fire in the bar was wonderful after a day out on the hills. Food was excellent. The room was OK, bit cold but we found a heater in the cupboard. View of the falls was great

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacTravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

Stopped by for lunch, found a few people in the Bar which was cosy but dark so ate in the litte restaurant area off the Bar. It was a bit cold but as it filled up it warmed with a few bodies in there. The food and beer were great but the service was disappointing, nobody offered condiments and we had to hunt someone down to get vinegar but more so when we had finished our main courses nobody cleared the dishes. We noticed this happened at the other tables and reckoned it cost the pub a few puddings today as people got fed up waiting and left the dirty tables, paid and left. Had someone cleared we would have had puddings and another drink. I could understand it more if the place was packed but it seemed to be ticking over rather than run off their feet.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoltireAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Pluses:
-The bar staff are friendly and the food is excellent.
Minuses:
-We were promised a "garden view" room when in fact the room looked over the car -park - as do all but one of the "garden view" rooms.
-The website boasts "free wifi throughout" but it is impossible to get any connection in any part of the building.
-The lushious bathroom is modern but by no means lushious. Most rooms have no shower.
-Everything in the bedroom creaks.
-The owner is perhaps the most ignorant, rude and judgemental man you will ever come across should he not appreciate your feedback. In our case he emailed back twice to say he did ot have time to respond and in no uncertain terms made it clear he regarded my email as a waste of his time. I doubt I shall ever understand his rationale there.

The Inn's could be lovely and despite the minuses, we had a lot of good things to say about it - until we tried to give feedback to the owner that was.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bugsfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thefallskillin, manager at The Falls of Dochart Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2009
"We are dismayed by this guests disappointment after her stay at our Inn.

We were contacted on numerous occasions via email by this guest - and have acknowledged her correspondance and offered her a complimentary stay at our Inn.

As a busy hotel owner at the height of the season I was unable to respond in detail immediatley. This was explained to her, but was sadly deamed unacceptable."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killin hotels

London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

This pace was just what I wanted. Really friendly welcome, family-run, atmospheric, good food with tourist favourites on the menu, good sized rooms and bathrooms, great view of the falls...the ONLY problem I had was that it was cold. But that could be fixed!! There was a heater in the wardrobe, which would have been ideal if I hadn't got up in the middle of the night and accidentlly switched it off!

A really nice place to stay, although I would hesitate to describe it as boutique - it's not QUITE there, but who cares? There's a big roaring fire in the main bar (with an odd doll dressed up as an old woman sitting by it, to add a sense of history, I suppose), the staff and the locals will chat away to you, the food is good and fulfils the stereotypical requirements of a visitor to Scotland - haggis, kippers for breakfast etc. and plenty of advice on climbing the local peaks. My room had a view of the falls and I was lulled to sleep in my big cosy bed by the sound of the rapids and had a hearty breakfast before tackling Ben Lawers the next day. A beautiful place with very nice people and definitely worth a stop.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mossop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

The room was comfortable, with decent bathroom (no shower); the staff were purposeful and ready to help. The food was very good and the beer also. We enjoyed the scenery, and had a day with no rain to cycle up the Lochay valley.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThreeShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

Came up to Killin for a long weekend on Friday 11th September. Arrived at 12:30 and was curtly told by youn girl behind the bar (also acts as Reception/Check In & Out) that room would not be ready until 3:00pm.

Rooms on the website looked great and were actually great at the front of the hotel in the sunshine and facing on to the Falls of Dochart. Unfortunately our family room for 4 was at the rear of the hotel which was constantly in the shade and as such was always dark, cold and damp. Room was so cold in the mornings that all of the bedding felt very damp. Heating remained switched off. Room looked on to back yard which was patrolled by the owners 2 dogs. We were also situated right next to the vent outlet from the kitchen which beltched smoke into our room. Fire doors and entry door to the accomodation wing is left open day and night so anybody can walk in.

On checking in to the room the bathroom (all black slate with no window) had a used plaster and dirty strip of toilet paper lying on the floor behind the toilet bowl. Toilet itself was positioned such that it could not be sat on as it was too close to the wall. Mirror was fixed so high above the tiles so as to be useless. Plastic ledge below the shower cabinet was hanging off. Shower gel dispenser was empty. Bathroom had no socket for shaver or power.

The socket for plugging in the mini kettle was right at floor level meaning that the cable presented a trip hazzard between the bed and the very low Ikea side table on which the kettle was situated. The floor levels were all over the place making for some intersting walkign across the room and along corridors. As a result there are huge gaps between the bottom of the doors and the floors.

On checking out my bill had over £100 of food and drink charged to it which we had never had. This was eventually removed but hard to see why it would have been booked to our room in the first place.

Hotel is in an excellent location and the front rooms facing on to the Falls of Dochart are lovely (we saw these rooms when they were being cleaned/prepped). The location is great for sitting and having a drink outside in the sunshine (if not a little too close to the road. Coaches and trucks come right up to within a foot of the tables before making their turn).

Would go back if we had a nice sunny, warm and well presented room at the front of the hotel as opposed to cold, damp, dark and smoke filled at the rear.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shicks11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
8.9 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#5 of 14 in Killin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
0.7 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#10 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls of Dochart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls of Dochart Inn

Property: The Falls of Dochart Inn
Address: Gray Street, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falls of Dochart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Falls of Dochart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falls Of Dochart Inn Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing