We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“killin hotel”
Review of Killin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Killin Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“killin hotel”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I've been here a good few times and enjoy it very much .We had the four poster room 39 it was very clean and the view from the window fantastic.The breakfast room is nice with scottish music playing in the backround (nice touch) but no porridge.Come on guys we are in Scotland and no porridge?? You get a lovely evening meal in the hotel as well but some people (like me ) want to be in the smaller quieter room for our evening meal (more romantic) but we had to ask as they directed us into the large breakfst room.The food is excellent though and there was a roaring fire in the bar which made for a homely welcome,there is plenty of board games and book in the bar too.or you can just sit and take in the view.great !We will continue to go back there .Killin is a beautiful part of Scotland.Breakfast staff could be a bit friendlier,well one of them ,its a shame to say that when everything else is great but dont let one dourpuss spoil it for you the rest of the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: we always have room 39 at the top of the hotel the view is great,and its four poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    338
    186
    106
    61
See reviews for
136
567
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I don't think that last comment is fare about the dietary needs! I live in Killin and I no how hard it is if a customer does not say in advance what it was you have such a problem with it is practically impossible unless traveling for it or ordering in advance which from experience I know that the Killin hotel do do!

Room Tip: Don't listen to what people write on this! Everyone is so quick to pick on the bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amccrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Killin is one of the loveliest places to go for a wee break, just don't go to the Killin Hotel. The room is small, not well cleaned and smelly, in a very bad state of decorative repair. The bed was uncomfortable and sank in the middle and you can hear everything that goes on in the adjoining rooms as the walls are so thin.

We have dietary requirements which could not be met, so if you want such things as non-diary milk and non-wheat food - forget it!

We were there for a special wedding and trying to prepare for the event in such an overpriced place was not fun.

You may find better value, cleanliness and comfort in a B&B.

Room Tip: Book the largest room the have - you may possible have space to dry yourself when you get out the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SKScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killin hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Northampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Lovely hotel, lovely food. Scenery is out of this world, will definitely go back!

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BarryNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My partner & i are just back from along weekend here, the hotel was located in a lovely little village with beautiful scenery, the room was comfortable with a fantastic view of the loch, staff where very friendly & attentive, food was good too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOT1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Very expensive for a small room. Difficult to open and close drawers on chest of drawers. Wallpaper looked like lining paper which was coming apart at the seams. Shower-room had no window. Very warm evening so left the windows open. Staff were outside chatting so had to close the windows at 1am. Old lift very noisy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melenefiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Will be back excellent food, staff were very friendly. Room was clean you can't please everyone but I was impressed with everything, including their friendliness to pets..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.1 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#10 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.8 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Hotel

Property: Killin Hotel
Address: Main Street | Killin, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Killin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Killin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killin Hotel Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing