We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Disabled Traveller from Cowdenbeath.”
Review of Killin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Killin Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I purchased a coupon for two nights stay in the Killin Hotel as a Birthday treat for my wife in January this year, as we used to frequent the area a number of years ago. We were very happy when we got there and found the room (Annexe 2) to be perfect for us, as I have walking difficulties and require a walk in shower and both of these were taken care of. The meals were another thing as the portions were humongous and very nice tasted, the staff were also exceptional as nothing seemed to much effort. The hotel is located in a very nice place for anybody that is into hill walking, fishing and nature or just to get away from the mayhem and it is close to other attractive locations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killinl, Owner at Killin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you so much for choosing the Killin hotel! We were delighted to have you and hope you return again soon! So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our disabled facilities made your stay more comfortable.

Kind regards,

Sarah

Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

The killin hotel is in a very nice location,and the hotel is nice and cosy. We stayed for two nights in a four poster room. The room was quite nice but small,I know from the pictures on the killin hotel website there is bigger and nicer rooms.the rooms seem to have very thin walls and you can hear alot around you. I like peace and quite,so although very nice do not think I would stay again. Food very nice.

Room Tip: Choose one on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandys135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killinl, Manager at Killin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you so much for choosing the Killin hotel! We were delighted to have you and hope you return again soon! So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay overall, very sorry to hear that your stay is disturbed by outside noise, if you are to visit again please notify me by email and i will ensure you get a lovely room that is not so affect byy outside noise! Room 19 has just been refurbed and looks amazing it's also a bit more spacious!

Kind regards,

Sarah

Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Spent a few days here last weekend and enjoyed every minute of our stay. There was a slight hiccup when we arrived as the room we had requested was not available. Michael, the manager was on hand to look after us and within minutes had settled us in a lovely room, next door to the room our travelling friends were in. The rooms were warm spacious, clean and well equipped with hospitality tray, toiletries etc. The food was delicious, an extensive menu, and the atmosphere in the bar was great. The staff were friendly and efficient.
I was celebrating my 70th birthday and Michael and his staff made my day extra special by joining in the festivities.
We look forward to staying at the Killin Hotel in the near future. Can thoroughly recommend this hotel
Doreen

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iandoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killinl, Manager at Killin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you so much for choosing the Killin hotel! We were delighted to have you and hope you return again soon! So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,

Sarah

Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

First and last visit to this hotel. Arrived 31 December to celebrate Hogmanay and my wife's birthday.Arrived 4 p.m. Given key to annexe room. Large apparently good room. Having unpacked went to shower c.5 p.m. After several minutes obvious that water was not draining away and large area of wetroom under water.Manager summoned. Offered initially choice of 2 available rooms, then, sorry, only one! Then had to dress, re-pack cases and move next door to small room which smelled of damp and in which during the night we were disturbed byn someone moving about and running wager above us!.The two dinners were undescribably bad.

Room Tip: Annexe rooms not advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lingrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Once again another fantastic break at Killin hotel,staff were 5* food was 5* we used the restaurant every night on our 3 night stay,also we love the fact this hotel is dog friendly,our second visit but never seem to make breakfast never mind will visit again soon,might have a look for next week it was that good !!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bubblesclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killinl, Manager at Killin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you so much for choosing the Killin hotel! We were delighted to have you and hope you return again soon! So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,

Sarah

Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Second stay here and The Killin has improved a lot from 10 years ago, A nice friendly Scottish Hotel , perhaps a wee bit rough around the edges, but warm and inviting. The staff were very friendly and we had a good meal. Our bedroom was clean but average, and for the money we spent it was fairly good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killinl, Manager at Killin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you so much for choosing the Killin hotel! We were delighted to have you and hope you return again soon! So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are currently trying to smoothe our some of the rough edges with a light refurb so hopefully if you visit again you will get to experience them.

Kind regards,

Sarah

Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

we arrived on Boxing Day, seven family members in total. We had booked four rooms and I have to say right from our arrival the staff were excellent. I can be difficult sometimes! I was not keen on the family room we had booked, nothing wrong with the room, just did not suit me! I went back to reception and Michael, who I think was the manager (sorry Michael!) was so patient and gave me four or five room keys to choose from. We ended up with a four poster room (46) with views over the conservatory to the river. Comfy bed, nice bathroom, and cosy room with tv and extra seating, loved the rocking chair! There was a small charge for the upgraded room but we had been told about this already so that was not a problem.I must add that all of the rooms were very nice, room 17 could do with a wee wardrobe but I am sure that this small detail will be looked in to. The king bed room was excellent, and double room 18 has a bath and shower!.
We ate the first night in the hotel restaurant, the 3 course meal was £22.50pp and was very good. Drinks were reasonably priced and we were given a glass of wine each with our meal, nice touch! Dining room was very comfortable. The bar and conservatory areas are very warm and comfortable, there is an area opposite reception which had comfy leather sofas and chairs. We were all able to sit comfortably together and our dog was allowed in all areas apart from where food is served. Very dog friendly hotel.
We had breakfast included for the two days and this was also excellent, cereals, juice, yogurts and toast available at a table at one end of the breakfast room, Full breakfast is delicious, staff were friendly and nothing was any trouble to them.
The location of the hotel is ideal for walking and its a 10 minute walk to the Falls of Dochart which was a sight to see with the river being so fast flowing because of all the rain.
We used a voucher for our stay but I can assure you there was absolutely no difference made to the service we received from the helpful friendly staff. Can I just say that
If another hotel I reviewed recently took a trip to this hotel and learned some customer service it would be to their advantage.This is my own honest opinion.
We ate the 2nd night of our stay at the Old Smiddy restaurant, (this was a recommendation from another TA member and it was amazing.
Once again, thank you to Michael and your staff for a lovely wee break and we will return.

Room Tip: As mentioned in my review, rooms 46, 17 and 18 were very nice, the 1 king bed room is excellent. lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explorer50uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killinl, Manager at Killin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you so much for choosing the Killin hotel! We were delighted to have you and hope you return again soon! So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,

Sarah

Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.1 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
20.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.5 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Hotel

Address: Main Street | Killin, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range: £57 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Killin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killin Hotel Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing