We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Killin Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights. Room was spacious, well furnished and clean. Breakfast is excellent, dinner on first night was good. Bar is lovely and welcoming, staff very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. Do not expect TV reception, due to location the reception is adversely affected by the weather - nothing you can do about this. Would be good to have WI-FI in the rooms and not just near reception. Make sure you get out and about, either by car or walking - lots to see and do in the area. Stunning scenery and good local attractions. Also they take dogs - we did not have any problems with this but some people might. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    328
    174
    104
    60
See reviews for
131
547
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

stayed for one night as a treat to my partner. i had a booking.com deal, and for what i paid, i couldnt have been happier. lovely room with a 4 poster bed, views of the river, spotlessly clean and warm

Room Tip: try to get the lochay room...stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a lovely location and the public areas are fine.we booked a group on deal and had the last available room for Friday and Saturday night,room 31 at the rear on 3rd floor,don,t take this room if offered ,wallpaper hanging off hardly any pressure of hot water in shower,tiny TV ,we had a nice meal after a bit of a wait as a member of staff had not booked our name onto the reservation list,beds were comfy and clean but shower was a bit of an ordeal the next morning.We were both not feeling very well and decided we couldn't stay another night in that room,maybe if we were ok we would have stayed,all in all I don,t think We would stay there again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Archiedun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We got a 3 night stay at the hotel from a family member for Christmas and we went 2 weeks ago. The location of the hotel was great and the view from the room was over the mountain (room 32). The food at the restaurant was amazing, especially the black pudding! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We had a big dog with us and although he's still a puppy and a bit jumpy, no one complained or seemed to be bothered. The town itself was alright. It was very quiet and empty and there's not much to do there. We ended up leaving after 2 nights. I was a bit disappointed with the size of the room, knowing we had a dog with us, I would've expected a bigger room. We had barely any space for our bags and for the dog to sleep, that was extremely inconvenient. Other than that, it was alright.

Room Tip: Choose number 32 if you want the view over the mountain and over the entrance (where the cars are pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatyBaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We are just back from a two night stay and have to say it was excellent. The staff were brilliant and friendly (especially the young scottish guy) food was delicious and plentiful and other guests at the hotel were lovely too. I had never been to killin before and have to say I was impressed with the whole area and this hotel is the perfect location to get out and explore.

The only issue we had was the shower not mounted on the wall in our room and no shower curtain which meant the bathroom was soaking wet after attempting a shower.

Overall, we had a brilliant time and will definitely be back at some point. I'm also assuming that the hotel has had a bit of a makeover as it was not run down or dated as I read from some reviewers on here. I just thought it was very typically Scottish and that's what we like.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carrieJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alva, Scotland.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

There were three of us in the party, we booked 1 twin and a single room. We were on a walking break and this location was perfect for our needs. The rooms are clean but not modern, old fashioned hotel would be fair. We dined in the conservatory and also took breakfast there and it was very nice. It was a lovely sunny morning and the activity on the river as people boarded their small boats was relaxing. The food was excellent, the beer was welcome after climbing one of the nearby mountains. The staff were attentive and pleasant. Ideal place to rest after a hard day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billc1Alva_Scotland_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east kilbride
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here for an overnight stay to rest half way home from our two weeks up north to recharge our batteries. Can truthfully say we were not disappointed. Slightly bemused that our room did not have a wardrobe....or a coat hook even. Nowhere to hang our clothes...just laid them over the large chairs (as if at home?). Went to the bar for the first charge up and was a wee bit miffed that I couldn't see what beer was available for the six folk having a great time sprawled at the counter. (Its not a long one) and there were lots of tables around. However we had a seat and were promptly served by a knowledgeable girl who got me my ale and a good wine for my lady. By the way normally we check Tripadvisor before booking accommodation and if the excellents and very goods outnumber the poors and terribles then we will have a go.Sometimes I feel that hoteliers can't win. Earlier complaint about a dog not allowed in bar....people are eating bar meals in there for goodness sake. We had an excellent dinner later in the dining room and a very good breakfast.
Worth mentioning are the dozen trips in the 100 year old lift....amazing!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dubsiesEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
16.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
20.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
0.2 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#10 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Hotel

Property: Killin Hotel
Address: Main Street | Killin, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Killin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Killin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killin Hotel Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing