We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Scotland? Aye”
Review of Killin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Killin Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I have to say that staying in this hotel was verbuturprising experience! Hustle free, TV with USB built in reading feature in the room. Amazing food in the restaurant. And thé location... I don't want to look buyest but if you want to stay here you won't be disappointed. For sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callum40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Wifi intermittent. Bad choice of lagers. Breakfast staff rude. Reception staff read out a credit card number and expiry date etc whilst they took a call so everybody in the lounge could hear. I checked out early.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here last year on a four night deal which was good value. This year, the price was £21 extra per night and so we expected the hotel would have got a facelift during the last 12 months. We were disappointed. The hotel is in a beautiful setting but is a little 'tired'. The staff were friendly and helpful but the room we had was small, the wardrobe doors were missing and some of the clothes hangers had nails in them instead of hooks. The window didn't close properly and the draught made the door rattle during the night. There was a gap on one of the walls where some furniture had been previously 'fixed'. The bathroom was OK but could have done with an upgrade and the dining room really needed some re-decorating. We had to ask specially for Corn Flakes each morning as only the less popular cereals were available on the buffet table. I realise we have been in a recession, but there seemed to be no shortage of guests staying at the hotel. It's such a shame this beautiful building hasn't had the TLC it deserves.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I stayed here with my fiancee and my dog on a two night deal. We were given one of the new annexe rooms outside the hotel and we found this to be perfect for ourselves and dog. The place was extremely clean and the staff were more than happy to accommodate us and breakfasts were superb with a great choice of cereals, fruit, juice and then a full cooked breakfast. Overall a fantastic place to stay in a beautiful area and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for an annexe room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleM1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Clearly little improvement from previous reviews I see. Hotel looks gorgeous from the outside, but looks can be deceiving and in this case they certainly are. Greeted by someone utterly clueless, when walking to room it was like a game of 'dodge the stains' on the carpet. What was probably the most shocking was the cleanliness, or the extreme lack of it. Bed was infested with hairs and mysterious black spots, curtains thin and stained, bins unemptied, flickering lighting, mouldy shower curtain and a stomach turning bath tub. Mattress has left me crippled, thin sheet with protruding springs. Breakfast appalling and staff with an attitude to match. Putrid smell in corridors. Slept without covers and with that days clothes on for fear of catching something. When leaving we were rudely handed a paper bill without so much as a 'how was your stay?' Shocker of a hotel in a beautiful location. Do not take a chance with this one, utterly appalling.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jkrlmr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at this hotel with my husband. We stayed in room 16 which is very small, decor is ok. The water pressure in the shower is terrible and the shower does not stay up so you need to duck down to get your head under, we did complain about this and were told someone would come fix it but they never. The hotel as a whole is very hot, we slept all night with the window wide open and the heating off, for an April night that is unusual! We had a three course meal arrival which was average. I had bruchetta to start which was just garlic bread which bemused me a little. Killin is a lovely very quiet village with not much to do other than go walking or fishing. Overall an enjoyable weekend away to relax, I would say the hotel is a 3 star at best.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights through a gogroupie voucher to treat ourselves to a romantic getaway in such a lovely part of Scotland. We were given a very small room on the top floor. Shower did not heat up so we couldnt have a warm shower in 2 1/2 days! Let the shower run for about 20 minutes waiting for the hot water to appear only to disappear again 5 minutes later. Not what you want after a hard day of trekking on the hills, to come back to a cold shower. Lots of other little things that let it down ... Toilet basin is cracked but they continue to let the room out with a cracked basin instead of just repairing it. No mattress protector, yuk! And bed really badly made when we first arrived to hotel. Mattress very uncomfortable. Shower cubicle so small that you cannot move around. Coffee facilities with 2 cups but only one saucer. It could be a mistake and not meaning to be fussy but on the second day after the room being cleaned and made still only one saucer... Another indication of Very poor attention to detail in general. Lots of other little things that showed lack of care. Food wasn't great either. Stayed one night for dinner, not great for the price. This hotel could be great but is only mediocre. We'll definitely not stay again. The area is beautiful but there is plenty of other places to stay in the vecinity. We loved Killing but not the Killing Hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bpalonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.1 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
20.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.5 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Hotel

Address: Main Street | Killin, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range: £56 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Killin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killin Hotel Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing