We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank holiday”
Review of Killin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Killin Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Gourock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bank holiday”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location for exploring the Trossachs. Warm cosy bar, nice conservatory restaurant overlooking the river and lovely meal. Staff were attentive and pleasant. What let the hotel down for us was the tired room and very very tired bathroom. Some rooms have been refurbished but sadly not the room we had. Our shower door constantly came off its runners, border round the base of the shower missing, tiles and grout all a bit grotty. Rusty towel rail. A real shame as we had a look in to another room and it was obvious we had been unlucky enough to get an old out of date room. This didn't stop us enjoying our stay but at £95 per night it is expensive for a room of this standard and would make me think twice about returning unless a refurbished room could be guaranteed. If booking I'd ask about the room as the pics on the website do not represent the overall standard of all the rooms in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    352
    191
    111
    68
See reviews for
142
591
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were so disappointed by this hotel. Its old, tatty and smelly. The carpet in the main area was so filthy. There was a group of staff who I guess were the normal staff and a lot of people working, who were from other countries. The normal staff were so rude and made no efforts. I read a review from another website about this hotel, describing a woman who was passive-aggressive and I thought that someone was carried away with that description but I actually saw that woman in action. A couple came in for dinner at 16 minutes past 9 and this blonde middle aged woman refused to serve them, saying the kitchen closed at 9.15... another waiter, a person from another country took their order with no problems at 9.30 pm;
I felt like the owner was having a laugh at everyones' expense. What did he care if the beds were old and uncomfortable, the was mould in the shower, filthy marks around the all the door handles and light switches, the brown chairs in the breakfast rooms we so old that when anyone sat on them they got such a shock as they nearly hit the ground or that the food was so disgusting and incredibly expensive, he was still getting paid???
Killin is a beautiful place and if you avoid this crap hotel your stay will be great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank redsienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killin hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

we stayed in one of the new annexe rooms as we had pure dog with us and cannot recommend it enough!
Bed was big & comfortable and room was decorated beautiful and simple and TV worked fine and a wide variety of teas/coffees and hot chocolates! Excellent location and would definitely go back thanks again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichelleM1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Visited Killin Scotland for a Clan MacNab reunion last week. Trip had been planned for over a year combining Clan Homecoming with Highland Games. We have traveled to Killin before but never stayed in the village. Incidentally Killin is a beautiful historic village with fantastic people.

If you have never been to Killin this hotel would seem like a natural choice. It is located in the village and directly across the street from the location of the fair grounds. It was also the site of the final banquet dinner for our Clan Homecoming event. As a result we booked and notified the organizers of the event of our intention to stay at the Killin Hotel. I specifically asked if any of the organizers who had been visiting the area for many years would be staying at the Killin Hotel. The answer was a negative. That raised some concerns and I followed up with the question about why the dinner would be held at the hotel if none of the organizers were staying at the property. I was informed that this hotel had the only venue capable of accommodating our number of participants in the area. Instead of asking more probing questions I simply assumed that the cost of the rooms was the rationale for more people from our Clan not staying at the property. I was obviously very, very wrong. Regardless I contacted the hotel via phone and indicated that we wanted the best room in the hotel which we were told was a 4 Poster Deluxe Suite overlooking the river. This was the suite that we booked # 17 to be specific.

When we arrived we found a litany of issues related to services, upkeep and cleanliness. The toilet seat in our bathroom was not secured to the bowl. It was just sitting loose on the bowl. The TV would not work. Audio only. No picture. The windows were broken and the main window would not work or open at all. A significant issue considering the lack of air circulation in the rooms and the overwhelming stench of sewer gas. The entire room reeked of raw sewer gas. Nearly every surface in the room was covered in bugs. Ceiling, walls, linens and bathroom. The internet was completely useless.

I travel on business over 200 days per year and have visited every continent and nearly 50 countries. As a result I consider myself a highly seasoned traveler with a high threshold for travel issues. We were perfectly willing to compromise on our typical accommodations however what we encountered at this property were appalling conditions and an apathetic Manager who blatantly lied not only to my wife and I but to other guests in our group.

The first night I immediately went to the front desk to report our issues. In my travels I typically expect the Hotel Manager to be the picture of professionalism. Well kept, well-spoken and professional. This is definitely not what we encountered at the Killin Hotel. The Manager whom I dealt with (who will remain nameless) appeared as though he had slept on a park bench and repeatedly lied about services and remedies.

I will admit that the toilet was secured the first night. A point that the Manager continued to point to as a success as we complained about the windows, TV, insect infestation, lack of cleanliness, smell of raw sewage and lack of WIFI on a daily basis. Every other guest in our group experienced the same issues and received the same response. "We have not received any other reports of windows. The previous guests never reported any issues with broken TVs. The sewage issue must be something that has just occurred. We will send someone right up". We can note that following the third night one of the other guests had a trap replaced in their room which remedied their sewage issue.

For the most part the staff was comprised of very nice genuine people. You could tell that they were embarrassed at the state of the hotel as well as their Manager. However it was also abundantly clear that the staff were afraid of their Manager and of losing theirs jobs if they said anything or took any actions to follow-up on requests to repair issues.

At one point the Manager told my wife and I that he had changed the cable on our TV and that everything was working fine. In fact he said he sat on our bed and watched TV for awhile after fixing it. A statement which distressed my wife. I challenged him and said "if you fixed our TV let's go up to the room together and you show me that it is working". He refused to do so knowing that he had been caught in a blatant eye. As a result we went upstairs to carry out our daily routine of killing as many bugs as possible prior to retiring for a hot noisy smelly night.

This was a very important trip for my wife and I. Unfortunately the conditions at this hotel were so poor that we were forced to check out early. With the Highland games and our own function occurring we were unable to find alternative arrangements and were forced to leave Killin early. As a result missing an event at our Ancient Clan Burial grounds as well as our final dinner. Effectively the Killin Hotel and its Manager ruined a very important trip for our family.

In the end we retreated to Dundee to the warm and wonderful confines of the Hilton Doubletree which was an amazing property. Incidentally the room charges at the Killin Hotel for a den of squalor were higher than that at any of the luxury properties that we stayed at including Edinburgh. The Killin Hotel is simply a tourist trap looking to prey on one time guests. This property does a disservice to what is otherwise a wonderful village that deserves significant tourist trade.

With some investment in maintenance and a change in management the owner of this property could have a great hotel based on a great location, a great community of welcoming residents and the potential from repeat business. Particularly from members of our Clan who will visit the area repeatedly. Until this occurs we will certainly do our utmost to assist our extended family members in avoiding this property. Photos available for anyone who has never seen an insect infestation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Oran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have been travelling around Scotland and staying in a variety of places and dispite really looking forward to the Killin Hotel we were really dissapointed.As a family of four we were put into the stable block annex.it certainly was not suitable for four and did not cater for our needs,luckily we had a lilo and a sleeping bag in the car which one of the children could use.The glass shower door was broken off its hinges but after waiting 30mins for the hotel staff my husband eventually fixed it but it took some time.The room above us had some people in who we were informed were staff. They werre banging most of the night and also arguing and dropping large objects.There is a court yard with other businesses at the rear.Two drunk males returned early hours of the morning and proceeded to have a mass discussion outside our room.The best thing is the location, Killin is a lovely, picturesque place which we really enjoyed.There are plenty of places to stay so look around.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, definately do not stay in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YorkshireQuail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saline, Fife
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We chose this hotel as we like Killin and there was a KGB offer. Before going we read some of the reviews and went with some trepidation. Fortunately we weren't allocated the annex and the room we were allocated was fine but.... The guidance notes advised running taps for ten minutes (yes!!) to let the hot water come through. We did and eventually were rewarded with a lukewarm shower. We spoke to reception and were rewarded with a really nice room with an enormous en suite with bath and shower with piping hot water. Both rooms had comfortable beds and were generally clean.
Our deal included breakfast on both nights and dinner on one. The breakfasts were fine with a combination of cooked and buffet. The staff were really nice and cheery and had no problem in providing what you wanted. The dinner was in the conservatory annex with nice views over the gardens towards the river. The meal itself was good and the staff very efficient.
Some reviews have complained about the staff but we found that the UK and Polish(?) folks were really nice so take some comments with a pinch of salt.
All in all we had a good break and would recommend this hotel if the management would ensure that every room had a decent hot water supply... a Polish plumber perhaps?
Killin itself is a useful base. Apart from the spectacular falls, there are decent local walks. The old mill at the falls is worth a visit and there are are some bargains in the visitor centre/charity shop. Again, pleasant staff

Room Tip: check the shower on arrival and get another room if it doesn't heat up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a traditional hotel in the beautiful village of Killin in the central Highlands. We drove past the Falls of Drochart to arrive at the well sign posted hotel where there was ample car parking.
Check in was easy and we headed to our room on the second floor.The decor is slightly tired and the lift is over a hundred years old so not for the faint hearted!

The room was very pleasant with two good sized windows, one of which looked onto a slate roof but the other looked out onto the stunning mountains.

Our room was made up for four people with a double bed, a single bed and a chair bed on the floor. There were only three of us (all adults) so we used the main beds. The room was ample for the three of us and our bags. The bathroom was small but ideal with a toilet, sink and shower. The beds were very comfortable and we all slept very well. There was a little bit of noise coming through from next door but not enough to disturb us.

We didn't use the restaurant as we wanted to explore the village and were due to depart at 04.30 the next morning so didn't use the bar.

Mike on reception was brilliant, I'd called earlier in the week to inform the hotel we'd be leaving early so he took an order of sandwiches from me for us to take away with us along with a yoghurt and piece of fruit each.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel as it is in a stunning location and is just off the A85, very easy to find, helpful staff and really comfortable beds which ensured we had a great stay.

Room Tip: The lift is very noisy, being over a hundred years old (I sleep heavily so didn't hear it but my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.1 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
406 reviews
16.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
407 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
0.2 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Hotel

Property: Killin Hotel
Address: Main Street | Killin, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Killin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Killin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killin Hotel Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing