We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little B&B and very welcoming owners” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Bank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Bank
Ranked #4 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely little B&B and very welcoming owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed here for one night when travelling back to Edinburgh. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and were shown to our room that did not have an en suite but did have a little sink area in the corner, which is really handy if you do not have an en suite. The room itself had all the essentials but most importantly was very comfortable and clean. The en-suite was directly opposite our room and was again immaculate as well as warm and really roomy. There were plenty of items available for breakfast and the cooked breakfast was tasty and well cooked (though I wasn't a fan of the sausage, but just my taste!). All in all I'd be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather222a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
70
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Had a lovely weekend here at the beginning of March. From the moment we arrived until we left we felt totally at home. Jennie is a fantastic host and nothing is too much trouble. She is friendly and attentive. We had a lovely big en-suite room with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was great - plenty of it and well cooked. The house is well situated and close to the Falls. Hope to return later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K80cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed at the now 'Old Bank' for one night and the visit was one I would happily experience again.

The house was extremely homely and Jennie, the owner, made us feel very welcome.

We were soaked through having spent several hours walking in the snow/rain before our check in, but when we arrived Jennie was quick to take our shoes and dry them off for us - a nice added touch.

The room was a great size, with a perfectly sized bathroom. Plus the heating in our room had been put on for our arrival, so it was very welcoming indeed.

The bed was very comfy, with a nice thick duvet - which was wonderful considering the weather outside.

Breakfast was second to none, with a huge choice of vegetarian and non vegetarian cooked options, plus several types of cereal, toast and a massive bowl of fresh fruit salad. It was nice to have the coffee served in a сafetière and not receive a mug of instant coffee! It is safe to say it was the best porridge I've ever had! Which was nicely followed by some scrambled eggs and bacon (lunch was not required that day!)

Thanks again for a great stay, we hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Lovely B&B with a friendly and very helpful host. Excellent value and would definitely recommend staying here. The large room was impeccably clean and the breakfast was great. Would definitely stay there if we were to visit killin again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

A lovely old building set in a fantastic location.
We enjoyed our 2 nights stay, the room/house was clean & comfortable and the host (Jenny) is a lovely lady.
The breakfast was large and thoroughly enjoyable, and Jenny had a good knowledge of the area and could advise what and where to go and do.
If we come back to area we will deffo be staying at the old bank again.
Thank you Aly & Jude. xx

Room Tip: We didn't see other rooms, but house is back from road which is quiet anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

My husband and I go away every year February / March time for a weekend up north. We found a deal on Itison for "The Old Bank" and thought it looked great.

We were lucky to get booked up as it was busy but we managed to get our chosen dates which was great.

We were greeted on arrival by Jenny (the owner of the B&B) who made us feel right at home straight away. We were shown around, then taken up to our room. We were given a lovely room with an en-suite. Room was very clean and had great view of the hills from the window. The room was small, however, we didn't need it to be any bigger. It was really warm and cosy - which was great as it was freezing outside. The bed was a king size (or maybe superking, not sure) and it was very comfy. There was a TV in the room, albeit the signal wasnt that strong on the channels, but that didnt matter as we have a portable DVD player which we took with us and plugged it in so that we could watch movies.

Breakfast was included in our deal and what a lovely breakast it was. You fill out a form and leave it out the night before and when you go down in the morning - breakfast is served! There is a table with cereals, yoghurts, fruit and bread to make your own toast. Jenny then served your chosen cooked breakfast to the table. The only negative thing I had to say about breakfast was that there is only one big table, so everyone has to sit next to each other. As much as I like meeting new people and enjoy socialising - I would have preferred it if we had individual tables as it was a bit awkward at times. Maybe even music in the background?? Just an idea :)

There is not much to do in Killin - hardly anything infact - however, there is a few lovely little pubs/restaurants in walking distance and if you have the car there are loads of places to visit. During the day we would drive to a nearby town for lunch and a walk. Everywhere has such beautiful views you cannot go wrong. In the afternoon, we would go back to the B&B and relax, it was so quiet and comfortable that you felt like you were the only ones there. In the evening, we would wander to the nearby restaurants for dinner which were both lovely (The Falls of Dochart Inn and the Killin Hotel).

The reason we went away was to relax and switch off for a couple of days and we got just that :)

I would definately recommend this hotel if you are looking for a bit of relaxation, peace and quiet.

Jenny is so friendly and she does everything herself and what a great job she does too! Well done and thank you for a lovely stay! We tried to find you on our departure to say thank you in person but you were busy. Good Luck with everything and we will hopefully see you again sometime.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Drumfinn has changed its name to the Old Bank b&b. We are just back from a 3 night stay and had a lovely time Jenny was a lovely host. The room was light and cheery with a lovely view from the window of the hills, unfortunately we couldnt get an en-suite room as they were all full but we had a massive bathroom to ourself across the corridor. There was loads to choose from for breakfast to suit anyones taste, I could not finish mine on the 3 mornings (sorry Jenny) I had chose too much. Hope its not too long before we are back

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
9.9 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
0.3 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#9 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#10 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bank

Property: The Old Bank
Address: The Old Bank Manse Road, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8UY, Scotland (Formerly Drumfinn Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian House, formerly a bank, set in the Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park near Loch Tay, Perthshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bank Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing