We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B”
Review of The Old Bank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Bank
Ranked #5 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My inlaws and i have just come back from an overnight stay here! They were in double room with en suite to front and they have said the bed was fantastic ( the have problems sleeping normally so this says a lot). The breakfast was super with plenty of choice and like many reviews you could not fault this B & B and a lot of this as to do with the fantastic host Jenny, who seems to understand exactly what people are looking for in a B & B.
We wish you continued success !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marantpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

Jennie (and Sooty the cat) were excellent hosts in this warm and friendly bed and breakfast. My companion and I also had the lovely big room with the super views of Ben Lawers and trotting across the landing to the big bathroom was not a problem. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 944FrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The Old Bank B&B, in Killin, is the best B&B I've ever been. The house is a million times better than the pictures displayed here. I think It is the wrong link!.

We spent (3 people) a few days with Jenny. She was wonderfull with us. We had an accident cycling...one knee and one elbow broken...However, Jenny was marvellous with us and very helpfull. She was great...

The rooms are lovely and the breakfast was delicious...

Our holiday was over but in spite of that Jenny, her house and Killin will be always in our memories. We would like to come back.

Thanks Jenny

Rafael, Roberto y Beatriz

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rafael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Had a lovely time staying at The Old Bank Bank (previously Drumfinn). Jenny is a great host and makes a lovely breakfast. Even catered for my dietary requirements (vegetarian and coeliac).Nice and clean accommodation, really comfy bed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kizzystu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed here for one night when travelling back to Edinburgh. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and were shown to our room that did not have an en suite but did have a little sink area in the corner, which is really handy if you do not have an en suite. The room itself had all the essentials but most importantly was very comfortable and clean. The en-suite was directly opposite our room and was again immaculate as well as warm and really roomy. There were plenty of items available for breakfast and the cooked breakfast was tasty and well cooked (though I wasn't a fan of the sausage, but just my taste!). All in all I'd be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather222a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Had a lovely weekend here at the beginning of March. From the moment we arrived until we left we felt totally at home. Jennie is a fantastic host and nothing is too much trouble. She is friendly and attentive. We had a lovely big en-suite room with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was great - plenty of it and well cooked. The house is well situated and close to the Falls. Hope to return later in the year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K80cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed at the now 'Old Bank' for one night and the visit was one I would happily experience again.

The house was extremely homely and Jennie, the owner, made us feel very welcome.

We were soaked through having spent several hours walking in the snow/rain before our check in, but when we arrived Jennie was quick to take our shoes and dry them off for us - a nice added touch.

The room was a great size, with a perfectly sized bathroom. Plus the heating in our room had been put on for our arrival, so it was very welcoming indeed.

The bed was very comfy, with a nice thick duvet - which was wonderful considering the weather outside.

Breakfast was second to none, with a huge choice of vegetarian and non vegetarian cooked options, plus several types of cereal, toast and a massive bowl of fresh fruit salad. It was nice to have the coffee served in a сafetière and not receive a mug of instant coffee! It is safe to say it was the best porridge I've ever had! Which was nicely followed by some scrambled eggs and bacon (lunch was not required that day!)

Thanks again for a great stay, we hope to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.5 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
1,018 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#9 of 14 in Killin
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bank

Address: The Old Bank Manse Road, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8UY, Scotland (Formerly Drumfinn Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range: £88 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian House, formerly a bank, set in the Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park near Loch Tay, Perthshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bank Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing