We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely Warm Welcome By The Perfect Hosts”

Craigbuie Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craigbuie Guest House
Ranked #14 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Extremely Warm Welcome By The Perfect Hosts”
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights and couldn't have asked for anything more. Vic & Sue were the perfect hosts who made us both feel relaxed and at home. Lovely big room (number 4) which was clean and well stocked with tea and coffees. Both are very knowledgeable about the local and surrounding area; and are pleased to give any advice on things to do and where to go. Great breakfast which sets you up for the day. Couldn't have masked for anything more.
Thanks To Vic & Sue for the perfect stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    7
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
12
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

great guest house with great hosts, thanks Vic & Sue for a comfy room large enough to house 3 females and all their biking gear, and somewhere to hang our wet gear, In good location in the middle of the village.
A great breakfast each morning to set us up for a days riding

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

NIce guest house that earns brownies as it was able to accomodate three adults, always an awkward no.
Our hosts were very forthcoming with stuff to do.

Do: Have the kedgeree for breakfast.
Don’t: Not have the kedgeree for breakfast.

Did I tell you to have the kedgeree for breakfast? Seriously; have-the-kedgeree-for-breakfast!!

Marko, London

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkusPalarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn, Norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I stayed at the guest house while walking the Trossachs Trail. At the end of a long day I found the welcome to be very friendly, the room very comfortable; clean with wonderful facilities and a fantastic full scottish breakfast in the morning. The hosts could not have been more welcoming or obliging in any way.

The location of the guest house is a short 5 minute walk away from the main tourist attraction of Dochart Falls but still central for all the towns facilities such as bank, bus stop, restaurants and cafes.

As a regular traveller for both work and leisure I would not hesitate to book this guest house again, for either purpose.

Thank you for a fantastic stay; I shall certainly re-book when I am next in the area.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 6 which was at the top of the house but had a fantastic large shower cubicle, fully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Even though arriving very late (after 9.30 pm), Vic gave us a very warm welcome. Our nice room right under the roof was tidy and we felt very comfortable. The clean bathroom with the spacious shower and the towel heater further added to our good impression.
In the morning, we enjoyed Sue's delicious and freshly prepared breakfasts. Don't miss their specials: the Salmon or the Kedgeree!!
Vic and Sue were great hosts and we enjoyed all the chats with them. They provided us with excellent hiking hints (including maps) and were extremely helpful with whatever question or request we had.
We booked three nights in advance and - without hesitation - extended our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

On arrival our first impression was of that some public areas were in need of some TLC ie paintwork etc.There was an odour of domestic animals in the entrance hall.The bathroom appeared "grey" not properly cleaned and there were large cobwebs in the bedroom corners. From a previous submission there appears that little improvement has taken place in this field.Another negative as far as we were concerned was the fact that a shelf fixed to a wall to hold tea tray and electric kettle was at eye level a sure recipe for an accident with hot liquids.On the plus side the bed was the best we had slept on since leaving home.The breakfast was cooked to order and was hot and plentiful.
We would not consider staying again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stomper70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Really nice guest house, with great hosts. Nice and clean rooms, and a fantastic breakfast. Certainly will be coming back again.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank david187497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
5.8 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lochearnhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Bank
The Old Bank
#6 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#4 of 14 in Killin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#9 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigbuie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigbuie Guest House

Property: Craigbuie Guest House
Address: Craigbuie Main Street | Perthshire, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8UH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craigbuie Guest House is located on Main Street in Killin, Perthshire between the famous Falls of Dochart and Loch Tay and surrounded on three sides by heather clad mountains and on the fourth side by the Loch itself. This large Victorian house in Killin Perthshire, built in 1884 for the Breadalbane Estate Factor, with its eight comfortable bedrooms, provides quality bed and breakfast accommodation and freshly cooked Scottish Breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Craigbuie Guest House Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing