We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Have We Missed This?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Why Have We Missed This?”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have frequently stayed in Killin when using our caravan, seen this hotel but never considered venturing inside for a drink or meal. How wrong we have been. We had a lovely room at the back of the hotel overlooking the falls and the river --- the beautiful sound of flowing water -- a lovely evening meal surrounded by a great atmosphere. After a restful comfortable night, breakfast was the perfect preparation to set one up for the day ahead. Lovely helpful staff. On our next visit to Killin, we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    94
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
76
257
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is just what a good 3 star hotel should be.
All the staff were friendly and helpful. The owner has a lovely sense of humour.
Our room, no 5, was well furnished, comfy beds and a gorgeous view over the river thundering by below. The noise is constant so you quickly background it. Even the view from the large bathroom was spectacular. Lots of hot water and at high pressure.
The residents lounge was relaxed and welcoming with books and magazines.
The dinner menu was of a good pub food standard, plenty of it and well cooked, and at a reasonable price.
The breakfasts were particularly good.
There are a good number of interesting walks straight from the hotel.
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 5 has great views as long as you like rushing water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jujohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

40 years after we first came to Scotland and stayed at the above hotel, we returned, but just for dinner. Due to my wife's food allergies we poped in the morning and left a note for the chef.
On arrival for dinner, the young lady was aware of our needs and the chef had made a most enjoyable meal.The atmosphere was good and the service from the senior girl very good, but as usual in the UK we don't train the waiting team to serve or clear properly. An atmospheric restaurant, only down side is that the restaurant is also part of the public bar, and the lounge is too small to cater for all the dinners before the meal. Minor details that did not ruin an enjoyable evening..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikingScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhu, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

You receive a warm welcome here on your arrival! Dogs are also accepted, which was a great bonus for us! We went on a voucher deal, but this didn't make any difference. The room we had, was No 7, which was up a lot of stairs and located to the rear of the hotel. No view as such and the room perhaps a tad on the small side, when a dog is also with you. The bed was a little hard for me (I have some health problems, so a hard bed is an issue for me unfortunately!). Bathroom was perfect size, clean and well appointed. Wifi is only available in the lounge, but is free. There are 2 lounges, 1 which welcomes dogs. Both had roaring fires in, which was a plus on a damp March evening and very welcoming! One even has a good selection of board games as well as a TV and both offer the opportunity of having a drink. Unfortunately, we went for a walk in the early evening and came across a restaurant/pub that allowed dogs in, so we ate in there. We later heard that the meals in the hotel were exceptional. If the breakfast was anything to go by, I wish we'd eaten our evening meal there! Staff were welcoming and friendly. Hotel is slightly out of the town of Killin. Too far to walk on a wet, dark evening, but would be fine in summer! Plenty of free parking!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moyra57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We haven't stayed in the B&B but went for dinner and loved this place! Excellent food, excellent service and atmosphere, highly recommended. The place exudes attention to detail, will definitely recommend to anyone, especially 'foodies'. It is also in the most beautiful setting.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bpalonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a two day break at the bridge of lochay, what a great quality traditional Scottish Inn, highly deserving of an excellent review. Every single member of staff from reception to housekeeping were friendly and extremely helpful, we chose this hotel because they accept dogs (a real bonus for us as we have 2). The room was decorated to a good standard and was immaculately clean. We ate in the cosy bar both nights as the dogs were able to accompany us, the ambience was excellent wood burning stove and candles made it feel very homely .
from the bar you can access the decked riverside garden we were fortunate enough to enjoy some lovely spring sunshine so we ate lunch outside, the view of the river is stunning.
breakfast was without a doubt amazing, great selection of quality produce. The grilled breakfast was huge kept me going all day, I would highly recommend the smoked haddock and poached egg .
overall our visit was a relaxing and enjoyable experience for us all. We will definitely be returning( a little gem)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WeeCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyrigg Scotland
Level Contributor
247 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The first time we stayed here was the weekend the new proprietors took over the hotel some four years ago.

We are a group of three couples, and decided to have a one night stay on our way further north, and took advantage of a "special" offer which had been e-mailed to us. (it will be worth your while being added to their mailing list!).

They have made substantial changes to the place since we first visited, and the bedrooms are warm, very comfortable and well appointed.

The lounge area is warm and welcoming.

The food is first class and the menu choice has plenty variety.

The service is friendly and efficient.

It is an ideal location for exploring central Scotland and not too far off the beaten track.

We will certainly return

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonythemonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
17.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
964 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Of Lochay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Of Lochay Hotel

Property: Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Address: Aberfeldy Road, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge Of Lochay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family run Scottish Inn where guests can enjoy genuine Scottish Hospitality, great Scottish food in warm friendly surroundings. Lovely Riverside location and real log fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bridge Of Lochay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing