We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing !!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Crannog

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Crannog
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The Crannog
Master bedroom
Outside dining and hot tub at Crannnog
Ducklings
Looking towards the river
Twin bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cumming12...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing !!!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful location, luxury cottage with hot tub, what more could anyone ask for!!! Close to hotels for eating out with a 10% discount at two hotels as we were staying at the crannog. A lovely cycle route along to the long house then back to the crannog. It is about 4 miles and a good cycle if you have children. Lots to do and see nearby and the ducks kept us entertained. Would 100% recommend this to anyone. We went as a family but would love to return with friends to enjoy it all again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilypods
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just perfection!”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

There is one major downside to The Crannog and that is having to leave it and come home!

We had a break here with our 6 year old daughter and we couldnt have been more pleased with everything. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay perfect.

The Crannog was lovely and warm with underfloor heating and we were cosy even when it was snowing outside. There was tea and coffee and even a bottle of wine on our arrival. The hot tub was lovely after a long drive. We explored all round and had a trip to Oban and Inveraray Castle which was great.

We had something to eat in the pub over the road and a breakfast in one of the restaurants in the town. There is a coop in Killin if you wanted to stock up and cook for yourself too.

Booking was easy and we were kept informed by email of everything.

We will most definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorrihale...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Driving into Killin we were fortunate with the weather and to see the sun shining on the snow covering Ben Lawler. Made for a promising start to our stay. We arrived at the beautiful Crannog Cottage and the view from the deck to the River Tay took my breath away. The cottage was very clean and we were provided with towelling robes, (a must for the amount of time spent in the hot tub). Even by night with the rain, we switched on the light in the tub and the little fairy lights simply added to the wonderful atmosphere.
The hotel across the road offered a lovely selection of food and you get a discount when staying at the cottages. Didn't want to leave.!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scull60
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding cottage idyllic setting which just beckons you back”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Second visit to Killin using Craggantoul and the experience is simply outstanding.
A warm welcome to sumptuous luxury in idyllic setting.
Shortly after arriving we were enjoying a hot tub watching the wild birds flit around the trees.
A delightful meal across the road and we were sharing a special birthday treat. That's the special feeling you enjoy in these luxury cottages.
The magic of this location wants you to return and enjoy a new experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus E
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The Crannog: panorama view and wellness”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We (parents and one of our three children at age 17) stayed three nights at The Crannog. Contact to the owner or landlord while booking was fast and pleasant. Late access to the appartment was easy due to a key safe.
The appartement features a vast lliving/dining room with adjoining open kitchen gives a panoramic view through a glass front at the veranda. The two bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms are modern and spacious; the kitchen is well equipped.
Although located near the main road there is no traffic noise. It takes less than 2 minutes by car to get to village centre with hotels, shops and a coop store.
The appartement was very clean and well-maintained - mint condition.
From The Crannog we made trips to Scone Palace, Inveraray Castle, Falls of Acharn, ...
We can recommend the property to all kind of groups and regret not having it booked longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: panoramic view
Liked least: no complaints
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavetheFi...
Dalgety Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Stunning house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I want to live in a house like this.
Open plan public area, huge bedrooms, with those views next to a river full of fish.

It's just lovely, well set out, great hot tub, and you don't even need to drive once you get there. We never moved the car in 4 days.
It is close to the caravan site but once there are leaves on the trees I'm sure you would not know, and take your fishing rods because there are a couple of lovely pools that will fish for trout- and the river is full of them.
There is a little road noise in the bedroom, but it is not a busy road and Killin is a lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's just lovely!
Liked least: Bit close to the road
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkAngie...
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Great location, beautiful holiday home. We loved watching the ducks from the warmth of the hot tub and the house was spotlessly clean and well appointed.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing