We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful cottage in great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ghillie's Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
king bed
kitchen
living area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Derek M
2 reviews
“beautiful cottage in great location”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

just back from a few days family stay at ghillies cottage and all the boxes were ticked from the spotless cottage to the peaceful setting by the river to the friendly town of killin which has everything you need on the doorstep. we enjoyed the food at the hotel across the road and the falls of dochart where we took some great pics. we also met some red squirrels and morning ducks at the cottage. so thanks to nina for the great break at your beautiful cottage and I,m sure we will return again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A perfect Autumnal weekend getaway”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed at the Ghillie's Cottage at the start of November (2016) for a long weekend as I was running in the Glen Ogle 33 mile ultra.

The accommodation was perfect for us (myself, wife and 2 young kids) with 2 bedrooms and 2 separate bathrooms and a large living area which included the kitchen. The kitchen itself is fully fitted and includes everything you need. TV/DVD & WIFI were perfect for keeping the kids entertained whilst I sorted my kit pre and post the race!. The hot tub on the balcony was very welcome after my race.

The cottage is situated 30 yards from the Bridge of Lochay hotel which provides decent food and beer. The village centre is a 1/2 mile walk and the Golf Course is directly across the river.

In summary, it was perfect for our needs and I would highly recommend to anyone either for a week or long weekend. We will be returning next year either in the summer or in November again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very cosy and relaxing.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in an amazing setting”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 4 nights at Ghillies Cottage last week. We had the most wonderful break. The cottage has everything you could possibly need. It's tastefully furnished and beautifully finished. It's setting is lovely - so peaceful to look out over the river! The kids loved it and we made the most of the fantastic weather hill walking and exploring the area.
If only all self cottages were as lovely as this!
Can't wait to go back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and the river side location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppypop1...
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Loved everything about this cottage. Stayed in many self catering accommodations in Scotland over the years but this house has to be one of our favourites. Lush comes to mind when describing the entire cottage. From the fab underfloor heating, the double shower, chocolates on the pillows, bath robes and bottle of wine in fridge on arrival to the funky hot tub on the deck, gorgeous view from balcony & the cosy log fire, we loved every minute of our stay. Kids loved that there were 2 ducks that visited every morning for a bite of their breakfast.. Beds were extremely comfortable & the kitchen had everything we needed for our 3 night stay.. Will be back...thoroughly recommend...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane N
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!!!”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Ghillies cottage is fantastic, well done to the owners for creating a luxury getaway in a beautiful location. Hot tub, open fire, gorgeous pub with wonderful food right across the road...what more could you ask for?! The cottage is top end holiday rental and worth every penny!! The bed is soooo comfy, shower is great, every modern convenience you need and peace and quiet, just what everyone wants. We had Sunday roast beef dinner in the pub across the road, served from 12-5pm on a Sunday and dinner is 6-8.45pm. We will definitely be coming back here on a regular basis when hubby is home...such a perfect chill out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in an ideal location.”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely Spring break at Ghillie's Cottage. Although the cottage is close to other properties, it is completely private and is situated in a lovely spot overlooking the river. The pub is just across the road and Killin village only a few minutes away. Everything about the cottage is first class, beautifully clean and comfortable. We would love to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Wi fi was a bit erratic.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna S
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Luxurious Cottage”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 nights in November It luckily was Dry on the 2nd day so we could enjoy the hot tub, this is An Ideal place to say equipped with everything you need and only few steps away from the Bridge of Lochay Hotel where we had a lovely meal, Lovely Big Bedroom with a really comfy bed, Really Big Kitchen/Living Room with all utensils you need to cook a meal and clean up. Looks Brand New lovely and Clean Accommodation nice and quiet location right on the edge of Killin so within easy commute. Would definitely recommend and stay again hope to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: Didnt Stay Long Enough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing