We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, friendly and beautiful setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Killin Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, friendly and beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Booked Killin Highland Lodges for New Year 2012 and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the Alder Log Cabin which was situated in a beautiful setting and to add to our stay we even got snow which made it wonderful and magical. The lodges was very well equipped and had everything we needed. The lodges were well presented and very clean. We were made very welcome by the owners who were very friendly and nothing was a problem to them. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have booked again for this year and looking forward to going back. Would recommend this place for a beautiful, peaceful relaxing holiday

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladi8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    54
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
89
96
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed in the Highland Lodges a week before Christmas for 2 nights and were so pleased we did. The accommodation was fantastic value for money. We booked into the larger lodge which sleeps 6-8 people (Pine Lodge 8) and even though half of our group dropped out a day before we were leaving, once split we were still only paying the same each as we would be in a hostel. Being a group of unfussy young(ish) walkers we would have been happy with a few beds for the price we paid as the location is so great for walking, however, we got so much more than we expected. The lodge was fully fitted out with everything you would possibly need (we cooked a Christmas dinner in the kitchen, no problem), there was Sky TV, dishwasher, 2 en-suite rooms + bathroom, plentiful tea/coffee and they even had put up a Christmas tree in the lodge. The only negative I can find is that Its a 20 minute walk to the nearest pub and the town, along a quite dangerous, narrow road, although we were told of a much safer way through the golf course and its not a problem if your driving. Killin village seemed to be a friendly place, we ended up at the Killin Christmas party and the locals were very welcoming. I am certainly planning to go back in the summer and would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumodaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We feel really lucky to have picked Killin Highland Lodges as a random choice on our travels . The lodges are positioned in a leafy , secluded , quiet spot only a few minutes drive from Killin and ideally situated for accessing the picturesque walks around Killin , plus most tourist attractions in Perth and Kinross . For us , the lodges proximity to the amazing Ben Lawers walk and Glen Ogle trail with local pubs to quench our thirst afterwards was brilliant . As a couple we stayed in the Rowan Lodges , overlooking the mountains . Our lodge was very well appointed , clean and cosy - infact our bed was much more comfortable than most hotels we have stayed in . Jim , the owner , and his son Colin [who lives on site] were extremely helpful in ensuring our stay was a memorable one , without being intrusive . Their 2 gorgeous labradors were occasionally around and were really placid and good natured with the residents and their pets and added to the enjoyment of our stay . We have had a really memorable stay and would highly recommend Killin Highland lodges as friendly , relaxing and excellent value for money for couples or families . Thanks again for a great break and hopefully we can come back someday from Australia . Phil & Lyndy [Queensland , Australia]

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil_lyndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Just like to thank you for a wonderful few days in the Alder Log Cabin. Our friends and us really enjoyed staying in the cabin and found it much more relaxing than staying in a hotel!
The cabin had everything, was very comfortable, clean, spacious and had lovely views over the golf course from the balcony. We will certainly stay there again when we are in Killin - perhaps next year (although could you order some more sunshine next time!!!!).
We had some friends visit us from America whilst we were there - they were settling-in their daughter at St Andrew's University - and they also said what a great place it was.
Well done on keeping such lovely, and clean, cabins.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonniebluebeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We have just spent a relaxing 5 days at Killin Highland Lodges and found them to be extremely comfortable and spacious. We had everything that we needed for a self-catering holiday and the Lodges are very well placed for site-seeing in the local area. Even though the weather was quite wet, the lodge provided a great base for us to be with our friends and so the weather didn`t concern us too much.
We showed our accomodation to some friends who were over from America and they were very impressed. We will definitely recommend this to other friends.
The owners were very helpful and their dog was really friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I would highly recommend Killin Highland Lodges after our recent stay. We were a large group of 4 families and we had a very comfortable stay at the Lodges. We were all accomodated within the several cottages making our holiday even more enjoyable. We had searched several other cottages but it was very difficlut to find cottages which would accomodate 18 people at a time. The cottages are very comfortable with all modern facilities available including Sky TV and dishwasher etc. The location of the cottages is also nice, secluded on a hill side and a 10 minute drive to Killin. There is ample of free area for children to play. The owner and his son gave us a warm welcome and were available if we needed help. The cottages are spacious and the we found them in an excellent state. The beddings, floors, bathrooms, sinks and overall the rooms were very clean. There is a lot of parking space and an opportunity to cook a barbecue meal if desired (barbeque provided). We were very happy with our stay and would recommend it. The location of the cottages is great, with the Killin village having a Co-Op, a bank and lovely restaurants. To have a peaceful and relaxed vacation, Killin Highland Lodges would not disappoint you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Spent four nights here and had a very relaxing time. It was the first time we had been on holiday with our new (and sometimes) boisterous dog so we were a bit apprehensive.
On arrival we were impressed with the lodge, it's fixtures and fittings and cleanliness.
We do not understand the comments regarding the resident Labrador(s) as it was the opposite of our experience.
There is a good walk at the back of the lodges- it's just a pity that there wasn't a footpath all the way into the village.
Killin is a great place to visit the surrounding area.
We would definitely recommend it and hope to be back.
Jennifer Roy and Millie
Ps thanks to Abbie for making Millie's holiday even better

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRL1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
5.7 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.2 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
0.9 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.9 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#5 of 14 in Killin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#9 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killin Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Highland Lodges

Property: Killin Highland Lodges
Address: Aberfeldy Road | Perthshire, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Killin
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killin Highland Lodges offers 12 self catering holiday lodges with 1-4 bedrooms ( sleeping 1-8 people in each lodge). The lodges are situated on a south facing wooded hillside with views over the village of Killin (with its famous Falls of Dochart) and to the hills on the south side of Loch Tay. Free Wifi is provided in public areas and every lodge can receive a free Wifi signal in at least one room. The Lodges are rated as 4 star and 3 star by VisitScotland and have received Certificates of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 2012,2013,2014,2015 and 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Killin Highland Lodges Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing