We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb honeymoon in an idyllic location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Killin Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This has been the best honeymoon we could wish for. What a beautiful, peaceful place for our special time. Colin & Sarah made us feel extra specially welcome and helped us to settle in. The flowers, card and bubbly for our honeymoon were a very lovely touch and surprise. Killin Highland Lodges are in a tranquil setting in the hills a short distance outside Killin village. The village is most definitely worth spending time in. The Falls of Dochart waterfalls are spectacular, especially in full flow. The only time we ate out was at The Capercaillie restaurant, which was very friendly, welcoming, served lovely food (we had chicken & rice soup) and has a brilliant view of the rapids below the falls. We look forward to coming back for our anniversary, if not before.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Chris all honeymoons are memorable and we are delighted that Colin and Sarah made you feel so welcome and that you will have such positive memories of Killin and Perthshire which you describe as an "idyllic location". We hope to see you again in the coming year. Best wishes JIm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I travelled here from Cheshire with our 6 month old dog for a 4 night stay.
We had an amazing time, going for walks, visiting pubs in Killin and beyond, going to distilleries, visiting castles, beautiful scenery and no work!

We stayed in Killin Birch, it was much bigger than I expected and perfect for us. The lodge was well equipped and even though it was extremely cold a few nights during our stay the lodge was surprisingly warm.

We would have loved to stay for longer and happily recommend to anyone who enjoys the outdoors as it is a perfect base for exploring (and generally escaping from hustle and bustle).

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimberlyClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Kimberly Thank you for your review and your recommendation that you enjoyed an "amazing time"
amidst "beautiful scenery". We hope others like you will find us a "perfect base for exploring"
Thanks again for sharing your enjoyable experience. Best wishes Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed in one of the cabins and we absolutely LOVED it there! Cabin is very cosy, clean and spacious. Nice views and it's not very far to walk to the village. The owner Colin is super friendly and goes beyond to help and to make sure you're absolutely comfortable and safe. It was very windy one day, tree fell and blocked the main road as we were away for a day. Colin called us right away to let us know and to make sure we were all right :)
I would definitely recommend this place to my friends and would gladly come back.
Also, dog friendly with a very nice walk just behind cabins.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoikaLeech1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Monica Thank you for sharing your "simply excellent" review. We are delighted that you felt so looked after which is what we aim for with all of our guests. Colin is currently on holiday and we will pass your complimentary remarks onto him on his return
cheers Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

As the title says, we never return anywhere.....there is a huge world out there to discover. But we just did because we are so impressed with these lodges. Our second visit and most definitely will again. Beautiful location, lovely accommodation and very reasonable prices. Oh and importantly for us, mid week breaks. This time we visited Inverarry Castle, Oban, Garelochhead, Faslane ( hubby is ex Navy) and went tank driving in the mud.
I cannot recommend these lodges enough. Try them. You will absolutely not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidaymakerKillin, Manager at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

MrsH2011,

Thanks for taking the time to review Killin Highland Lodges, Im glad that we seem to have done things right for you and look for ward to welcoming you again soon, perhaps you can tell me where to go tank driving in the mud when you are next up!!!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I booked the Killin Highland Lodges via horseseasons. Great location to visits most places at a good price and ideal for us and our german shep.

Easy to find nice and peaceful, accommodation was good, clean and highly recommended.

Colin was on site to great us and very helpful providing us with a list of things to do and local sites there is even a little hill walk at the rear of the site for dog owner to stretch their legs and can provide a nice walk into to town where you will find a few dog friendly pubs our first was always the Bridge of Lochay Hotel for a tea outside or rear bar area near the bridge pets allowed. Later entertainment and dining was at the dog friendly Falls Of Dochart Inn... All in all a great place to stay Killin has a lot to offer and short trips into Glen coe, fort william, oban and others were all in easy reach...

Room Tip: We stayed in a Rowan lodge it was perfect for two adults and a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidaymakerKillin, Manager at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

DCUK,

Thanks for the comment "...nice and peaceful, accomodation was good, clean and highly recommended..." There is a lovely dog walk straight off site and it was good that you managed to use this to get to the dog friendly pubs in town.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

we came to the cabin to celebrate our mums 80th, there were 7 girls and we had a great time. the lodge was well equipped and very clean and cosy. the beds were the comfiest I have ever slept in away from home.
Colin was very kind and helpful. the site was very busy but we never heard any noise it was very tranquil.
some of us will definitely return for another break next year.
thank you

Room Tip: we were in the big lodge at the front of the site and had what I think is the best view, but it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidaymakerKillin, Manager at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Jennifer B

Im glad to read "...the beds were the comfiest I have ever slept in away from home...", I hope your Mum enjoyed her celebration and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Great place to stay, fantastically positioned in centre of Scotland to allow day trips out to each side of country, we didn’t want to leave.

Recommend day trip up Ben Lawers which is just down the road from Lodge. Head up Ben Lawers and down the other side upon reaching Bridge of Balgie turn left along Glen Lyon. You won’t be disappointed. When you reach the other end you do have turn around and head back the way you came unless you have a 4x4 for the last few miles. Worth checking the weather if traveling in winter months as they don’t salt the road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidaymakerKillin, Manager at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Chris B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Killin Highland Lodges, glad to hear that you "...didn't want to leave..." I am glad you managed to make day trips to each side of the country and not only is Glen Lyon spectacular by 4x4, it just as good (if not better) by bicycle! It is worth trying to get a lift up to the dam though as it is quite some climb!!!

Look forward to welcoming you again!!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
5.7 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
440 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
807 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
1,014 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
463 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killin Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Highland Lodges

Address: Aberfeldy Road | Perthshire, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Killin
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killin Highland Lodges offers 12 self catering holiday lodges with 1-4 bedrooms ( sleeping 1-8 people in each lodge). The lodges are situated on a south facing wooded hillside with views over the village of Killin (with its famous Falls of Dochart) and to the hills on the south side of Loch Tay. Free Wifi is provided in public areas and every lodge can receive a free Wifi signal in at least one room. The Lodges are rated as 4 star and 3 star by VisitScotland and have received Certificates of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 2012,2013,2014,2015 and 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Killin Highland Lodges Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing