We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Killin Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had a few days in the Rowan lodge last week, and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is pretty small, but comfortable and warm. Just right for a couple really. The owners were round twice to check that everything was ok, which was a nice touch.
The only slight issue was with the shower - the temperature was quite difficult to control. It did look like a fairly old unit, so I'd maybe suggest that the owners update this sooner rather than later.
Apart from that, I'd recommend this lodge to anyone.

Room Tip: Remember to bring a supply of £1 coins for the electricity meeter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F1whiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
F1whiz
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay . Thank you for your comments

cheers Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    55
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
90
99
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

As a group of eight, 18 year olds it was becoming very common to hear "Sorry we don't hire out to that party size and age" However when I contacted Killin Highland Lodges this was not the case, of course we jumped at the chance and we were not disappointed.
On arrival we we're greeted by a lovely women who's name I managed to miss. Swiftly she showed us to the cabin and left us to our own device. This was not without reminding that any questions we have just to ask. The next morning we met Jim the owner who went out his way to say hello anytime we crossed paths. Not only did this weekend away give a group of youths a chance to catch up and have a "small" refreshment, but the scenery and tranquility of Killin is magical and all eight involved can not wait to go back if we get the opportunity.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Kieren O et al, If all young groups were as pleasant and easy to be around as your group , the world would be a better place Yvonne, who showed you round. was pleased to get a a positive mention from you and we hope that this escape from your normal city environment was refreshing
We will be delighted to see you all on a return visit

Cheers Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My girlfriend and I visited Killin Highland Lodges from the 14th Feb - 17th Feb. The cabin was spacious and yet cosy with all the facilities we required.

On our first night we were visited by the owner who just wanted to check we didn't have and issues which was a nice personal touch.

Perth and Pitlochry are both only and hour or so away and the drive is very scenic.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikiBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
NikiBlair A very positive, brief review thank you. Really please that "thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it." cheers Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polmont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a relaxing weekend in the Killin highland lodges.
The lodges are situated just outside killin. Easy reach of the small town plus venturing further afield.
We stayed in the alder lodge which had 2 double bedrooms and a large living/dining area. It overlooked a small grassy area which in Sumer would be perfect for dogs and children playing. The lodge was spotless with all the utilities you require including a dishwasher. We met the owner Jim who came and introduced himself. Really friendly and approachable. The lodge also had television and some limited sky channels. Would definitely recommend these lodges. Just one thing that could be better is the wifi signal as we could not connect. Beautiful views and countryside all around too. A lovely part of the country to visit.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Emma W
thank you for your very positive review and we are pleased that you observed " the cabin was spotless". Our cleaning team take great pride in the high standards they achieve and are motivated when this is reported. Thanks again. Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

just returned from another pleasurable stay at the lodges,they are clean,comfortable and well worth the cost,met Jim the owner this time,lovely bloke and very helpful,will definitely be back again for another visit soon

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun_andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Shaun and Andrea

Great to hear that you had a good time and that you found the lodges clean and comfortable.
We look forward to seeing you on your planned return

cheers Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I absolutely endorse these lodges they have everything you need in them we had number 1 and 2 these are one bedroom but there are bigger lodges too,number three has a queen size bed .The owner is a lovely friendly guy but no one bothers you there.the new year was great everyone from the village goes down to the falls of Dochart and the fireworks over the water was amazing.The people are very friendly and although a huge crowd it was all very orderly.Lovely place surrounded by amazing lochs and mountains.

Room Tip: Rooms one two and three I can vouch for as I've been in them all but theyre all good clean lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Kate P

Thank you for your very positive review. Again great to hear how helpful and Friendly Colin has been
Come back soon. cheers Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Well where do I begin, we have always wanted to go away for Christmas and we decided that Scotland was the place to go as it's so beautiful. We had looked at other lodges online and decided to choose Killin Highland Lodges and that we definitely chose the best one, We booked our holiday with Jim and Caroline in January 2013 for the following dates 21st December to 28th December in Alder Log Cabin No:11,

We had arrived a little early at Killin Highland Lodges so we decided to have a quick look through the window at our accommodation, just then a gentleman walked up to us and introduced himself who was Colin and he such a wonderful lovely person. We advised him that we were sorry that we had arrived a little early and he said that this was no problem at all, Colin advised us that we could go inside immediately and that we do not have to wait outside in the cold.

Colin showed us to our door and took us inside, my first words were WOW, it was absolutely beautiful inside and could not believe how big it was. We were showed around the Lodge and the second bedroom had the biggest bed ever and we decided then that that was our room lol. The heating and electric and gas meter was explained to us and Colin explained that there was brochures in the TV drawer that explains all about the area, he said to knock on his door anytime if we had any questions or needed anything which we both thought was lovely.

We both had another look around the Lodge when Colin had left and again we could not believe how beautiful it was and everything was finished to a very high standard and had also provided us with tea, coffee, biscuits and a very lovely Christmas Tree which was very nice touch.We eventually unpacked the car and had a well earned cup of tea and some Scottish shortbread biscuits (well we were in Scotland). The views from our balcony were breathtaking to say the least and you we able to see Loch Tay and the mountains, we could not believe how quiet it was as we are so used to the busy city life,

The next day we went into the village and it had everything you needed a couple of pubs, coop supermarket, lovely gift shop by the Falls Of Dochart and a few restaurants, other shops and finally a bank. There are lots of beautiful walks around the village which we went on most of them, but make sure you are wrapped up toastie and warm as the temperature can drop dramatically and the last thing you want it to be stuck on a trail feeling cold. We found everyone very helpful and so welcoming and always had the time to get to know you,

We noticed Colin as we were leaving and mentioned that we were going to do a bit of sightseeing, he mentioned a few places that was worth a visit, we went to Fortingall where there was the oldest Yew Tree in Europe which was 5000 years old. We also visited Kenmore and Taymouth Castle which was a the end of Loch Tay and well worth a visit, we also went to Aberfeldy and to a whiskey distillery there but unfortunately it was closed due to it being Christmas. We did attempt to drive up towards Ben Lawers but got so far up and we decided it got to dangerous due to the snow and it was getting dark.

On Christmas Eve Colin knocked the door and appologised for disturbing us and said that he's got a little something for us and gave us two bottles of wine some chocolates and a roasting bag for our turkey, we were so overwhelmed as he had not experienced so much generosity like this before.

The day before we were leaving I emailed Jim and Caroline to advise them that we wanted to book again for Christmas 2014 and that we were interested in Lodge No:10 as we wanted the children to come with us, Colin immediately knocked on our door and said that he had been contacted by Jim and would love to show us Lodge No:10. After taking about 30mins getting ready Colin showed us around the Lodge, again it's absolutely beautiful inside with four bedrooms one with en suite and a bathroom with bath and shower. The living room was absolutely massive with views to die for overlooking the loch, unfortunately our children have already made alternative arrangements for Christmas 2014 and have decided to stop in the Lodge that we originally had in 2013.

So I am a man of true words and can honestly say that you are really missing out if you have never stopped at Killin Highland Lodges, it caters for everyone's needs whether you want a quiet relaxing time or if you are the outgoing person who enjoys walks and the wilderness. wherever you look there are views to die for and nature all around you, to all the staff that work there you do a fantastic job in making everyone's staff a memorable one and my wife and I have memories that will be with us for the rest of our lives and thanks once again for everything x

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oatsey1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Oatsey 1968

Wow thank you for such a full and comprehensive review of your Christmas stay. We are delighted that you found Colin so helpful, as have many other guests. You will be looking forward to your return in Christmas 2014 and we look forward to seeing you again then. Cheers Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
5.7 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
1.1 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
440 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
0.7 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#9 of 14 in Killin
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killin Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Highland Lodges

Property: Killin Highland Lodges
Address: Aberfeldy Road | Perthshire, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Killin
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killin Highland Lodges offers 12 self catering holiday lodges with 1-4 bedrooms ( sleeping 1-8 people in each lodge). The lodges are situated on a south facing wooded hillside with views over the village of Killin (with its famous Falls of Dochart) and to the hills on the south side of Loch Tay. Free Wifi is provided in public areas and every lodge can receive a free Wifi signal in at least one room. The Lodges are rated as 4 star and 3 star by VisitScotland and have received Certificates of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 2012,2013,2014,2015 and 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Killin Highland Lodges Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing