We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what you get.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balquhidder Braes Scottish Holiday Park
Tipperary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get.”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We have just returned from Scotland after visiting my husbands family. We stayed in the lodges 4 berth for two nights mid week. On a plus it is in a beautiful place and very comfortable you feel like its a home away from home especially when you are travelling with kids. The warden or owner not sure which we met was a lovely helpful man. We only have two problems with the the stay one is the dirt. It was not clean enough at all not for what they want a night for the property. It should be spotless the bedrooms and bathroom were fine but the main living area and kitchen were not up to scratch. Cushion covers looked as if they has never seen a wash and the surfaces in the kitchen were full of other peoples leftover crumbs and food. The second problem I have with this property is We were charged 90 pounds sterling a night and when we arrived at the property there was a large sign on the road outside saying clearly that they were offering accomodation for 80 pounds sterling a night. I did not mention it to the warden as he was not the person i booked the accomodation with. I know the towels were included in my price but I will be honest the place we stayed in was not worth 90 or 80 pounds per night at max the price would be more of 70 pounds per night if you wish to charge the 80 or 90 pounds i suggest it is cleaned to a higher standard. We did enjoy our stay and the views are worth coming to see even if a little expensive. !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SullyTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cozzy12, Owner at Balquhidder Braes Scottish Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Sorry you did not feel your cabin was value for money. The cabins do go through an extensive clean between guests and this is checked normally by myself to check nothing has been missed. On this occasion as I was on holiday at the time I did not not personally check the cabin. It is obviously apparent something has been missed and so can only apologise for this. I have checked the cushions in this cabin and yes they were not up to scratch so have now been replaced.

We appreciate feedback and do respond to it immediately. In this case we will ensure measures are in a place when I am absent from the business to ensure a satisfactory check is made before new guests arrive. Cleanliness is extremely important to us and this is reflected in many positive reviews on booking.com and toprooms.

With regards to the price we feel this is extremely competitive for the area. Cheapest B&B prices in the area are over £28.00 per person for a room and shared guest area. With our cabins we provide your own personal living and dining space as well as either two or three quality bedrooms. The sign outside the park advertises the cabin 'from £80'. This is a per night low season rate.

I hope this satisfies your concerns and are assured we have listened and acted on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    8
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
16
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

On arrival, we were shown to our 6berth caravan which exceeded expectations, clean, homely and warm(maybe a bit to warm as it heats up in no time and heating had been pre-set) Lovely to know they had set the heating ready for our estimated arrival time we gave(which we were late for.)
All plates, cups, glasses and utensils were clean and the shower had good power and heat. Everyone very friendly and we will definately be back. As for traffic noise, I heard it outside the caravan, not when inside, and giving the bedrooms are at the back, it couldn't be heard at all. Can't wait to go back! I'm even hesitating putting this review up as it's a little gem of a place and giving we booked it rather last minute, for our benefit, we would like it to stay this way!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzahall28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothwell, Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

Myself and husband and 2 kids camped here a couple of weeks ago. We asked to be put in the camp fire area, as we wanted to build a camp fire. Was a bit noisey during the day but at night we didn't really here any traffic. Met some great people in this area which made camping so much better.

Facilities - Toilet/ Shower block was clean although could be doing with abit of updating.

Dish washing area was disgusting it had no door on it and there was a birds nest in it above the light along with birds poo on the draining board, there where slugs in there and spiders webs and was just really horrible. I no we're roughing in camping but would like somewhere clean to wash the dishes.

Apart from that it was great, I would go back as its the only camp site to allow campfires. But would need to do something about dish washing area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Great location and a lovely cabin - particularly liked the fire and the owners dogs, Gwen and Buddy, who came to visit sometimes :)
The cabin had everything you need, plus a dishwasher!

Staff were great - really helpful and friendly.
Loved the area - especially the Arygall Red Kite Visitor centre in Doune. We watched them coming into feed, and also spotted other birds of prey like buzzards. Great value for money and a great guide - highly recommended
We would love to visit again :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashlie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed in a log cabin for the weekend at the beginning of October 2011. The cabin was well appointed, comfortable and perfect for a variety of purposes.

We would recommend this to various groups to a romantic getaway, family or a get together with friends. We particualrly liked reading the scrap book with other guests reviews. All of them enjoyed the stay.

We will be back.

Room Tip: Bring towels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2011

we recently stayed at balquhidder braes caravan park with one trailer tent and one 4 man tent.

Like some others, booked solely on the website strength! (it looked brilliant, kids play park, picture of tents next to wilderness, newly refurbished toilets..... but unfortunately just before we left for Balquhidder, the website was changed!!!)

To say it was awful would be putting it mildly! when we arrived we were made aware that it was quite a bit out of the way, which we weren't entirely bothered about, but, having 2 young children with us... we werent so keen on the campsite being right beside a main road (which didnt quieten down till the early hours of the morning!)

The toilets stunk of damp, mould and mildew... and the showers range from freezing to scalding, theres no way to stick a child in one of those showers without a trip to A&E for minor burns! There was actually a lady who was in the campsite who complained to the owner for lack of hand soap and hygiene in the bathroom.

We visited Callander a few times which was nice, its worth staying in. but the thought of coming back to the campsite wasn't very appealing!

Room Tip: stay in a lodge if you do go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FarrahMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We have recently spent our third stay at Balquhidder Braes. On this occasion, we booked a cabin.WOW!
We have been happy with the caravans in the past, but the cabin, is home from home luxury!
Although just our two selves, we were happy to book the 6 berth cabin, as the 4 berths were already booked. The views from the cabins are stunning!
As always, the staff are always happy to go that extra mile, to make your holiday that bit special. Made up beds are a bonus!
I note that certain people have mentioned the locality to the road. If you have visited the area prior to your stay, then this is no surprise. I haven't stayed in a tent here, but at night time, the traffic does quieten down. Sore grapes as the site is clearly road side!

I hope that the negative comments do not put people off visiting a beautiful part of the country. Visit here once, and I am certain that you will return.

John and Gail

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRANANDPAPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochearnhead
7.3 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
904 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
405 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lochearnhead
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
2.0 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 6 in Lochearnhead
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balquhidder Braes Scottish Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balquhidder Braes Scottish Holiday Park

Property: Balquhidder Braes Scottish Holiday Park
Address: Balquhidder Station Lochearnhead, Perthshire, Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochearnhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lochearnhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Balquhidder Braes Scottish Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern luxury 2 or 3 bedroom log cabins available for short rentals set amongst some of Scotland's best scenery. Ideal location for outdoor pursuits or using as a base for exploring the Trossachs. Central location and within 1 hour of most of Scotland's major cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Balquhidder Braes Scottish Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balquhidder Braes Scottish Holiday Park Lochearnhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing