We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scotlands finest !”
Review of Lochearn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lochearn House
Ranked #2 of 6 Lochearnhead B&B and Inns
Boxmeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Scotlands finest !”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We got a very enthusiastic referral form other bikers and as wet and scruffy as we looked after a rainy day on the road, we were treated with a first class welcome and stay, the full Scottish was a breakfast to remember.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
70
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent four nights at Lochearn House while on a motorcycling holiday. Diane and Matthew are so welcoming and warm and our room was very spacious and well appointed, with a great bathroom and a really good walk in shower. Matthew welcomed us with delicious home made cake and a cup of tea. We were made to feel utterly at home and free to come and go as we pleased. Matthew's home baked bread scones and cakes were delicious, as was our breakfast each morning, with a full Scottish, fruit, cereal,toast anda daily special on offer. One word of advice: if Matthew offers you venison for breakfast, take it! Delicious. Lochearn House is well located for the whole of central Scotland and within easy walking distance of a couple of hotels with good restaurants. We will definitely return and I would recommend this wonderful bed and breakfast without hesitation.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lovelyladybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days break in April 2014, to wind down from the hustle and bustle of London the previous weekend.

The Lochearn House was very easy to find, at the cross roads in the centre of the village. Our room was very clean and cosy, with Tea and Coffee facilities, a TV and DVD player (With a nice little DVD Library in the foyer to borrow from during the stay). There was plenty of space to store our clothes and bags for the couple of days that we were there. The en-suite was also very clean, with a large shower and plenty of space for toiletries.

We managed to get a good couple of nights sleep as the bed was very comfortable and topped with one of Dianne's home-made quilts. If you ask nicely, she might even give you a little tour of her workshop to see some of her other fantastic creations!

Matthew and Dianne were very welcoming and provided a brilliant cooked breakfast both mornings, which set us up perfectly for the day. On our middle day, we decided to visit the Famous Grouse Experience, which was around 30 minutes scenic drive away and Matthew pointed us towards a great circular route around Loch Tay that provided some stunning views of the area... Once you've seen this, you realise that there really isn't anywhere on as beautiful as Scotland!

Thank you Matthew and Dianne... We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennslyvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Lochearn House and we could not have been more pleased! The rooms were very cozy and beautiful and our hosts were delightful. Matthew and Dianne went out of their way to make sure our stay was all we could ask for. They gave you suggestions for day trips and/or places to eat. Matthew is also an incredible cook!!! Breakfast every morning was a treat. We even had a dinner and although it is usually served in early evening we had car trouble and didn't make it "home" until 9pm. Matthew still cooked us dinner, and it was delicious, even though he had to be up early the next morning. The service is second to none and it was very much appreciated! I hope we have a chance to visit again!
Thank you Matt and Di, you made our vacation very special!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hodgiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here for one night at the weekend and I can honestly say, it is the best guest house we have stayed in. Matthew and Dianne are a lovely people, made us very welcome; and the minute you walk through the front door there is such a lovely ambience about the property. Very well appointed and the bedrooms are so comfortable. We had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable, attention to detail is very evident throughout.

Breakfast on Sunday morning was a joy. We all had full Scottish breakfast, and there were plates of scones and cupcakes to finish off if you still had room for more. Matthew gave us a little tour of Dianne's workshop where she does the patchwork quilting. Absolutely amazing.

We will definitely return to Lochearn Guest House, thank you so much Matthew & Dianne.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the house have a nice view and are not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carribe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We spent 3 nights at this B&B on one of their special 3 night packages with evening meal. We really couldn't find fault with anything - the room (Room 2) was spacious and with a separate small area leading through to the very spacious and well appointed en suite bathroom. Although the property is near the road we didn't hear any traffic noise as the windows are triple glazed and the road is probably quiet at night anyway. But as others have mentioned what makes this guest house exceptional is the food - Matthew is a superb chef and we were treated to food that was perfect in every way - wonderful venison and fish dishes and the accompanying vegetables were always interesting and varied - not just the usual frozen peas and carrots! There is always a choice of starter, main course and dessert followed by cheese and biscuits and tea or coffee. The breakfasts were equally special with a wonderful full Scottish breakfast if you wanted it. Lochearnhead is well situated to go in many different directions with wonderful hill walking if that is what you enjoy doing. Matthew and Diane are wonderful hosts, always cheerful and welcoming. As another reviewer mentioned it's probably a good idea to pick up some wine at a supermarket before arriving - we did and didn't have to look in the local store as a result. I think as one other reviewer mentioned the only problem with staying here is that it makes anywhere else seem second best! A German couple who were staying for 2 nights who had been across Scotland commented that nowhere else had had food anything lke Lochearn House!

Room Tip: Room 2 was very good - we didn't see the others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nelson_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a night while on a walking trip based on the tripadviser reviews. Matthew and Diane were wonderful hosts and really gave us a lovely friendly welcome. Guests have the use of the front of the house with a lovely dining area and a lounge area with super soft sofas. The food was excellent - we would thoroughly recommend the evening meal. A perfect breakfast too. We will certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochearnhead
4.3 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lochearnhead
172 reviews
3.7 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
535 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
897 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
4.3 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 6 in Lochearnhead
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochearn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochearn House

Property: Lochearn House
Address: Lochearn House Lochearnhead | perthshire, Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8NR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochearnhead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lochearnhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochearn House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely, friendly, comfortable 4 star bed and breakfast with many extras. Reasonably priced and located in the Trossachs and Loch Lomond National Park, which is a truly stunning and quite beautiful natural area.Ideal central base for all the central areas. Also known as the Gateway to the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Lochearn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochearn House Lochearnhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing