We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little B&B”
Review of Lochearn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lochearn House
Ranked #2 of 5 Lochearnhead B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed in a double front room in mid May en route from the North to England.
It is very reasonable. The room was warm and comfortable, with two small easy chairs. A hospitality tray and TV with DVD player are provided. There was a small dressing type area and spacious shower room.The proprietor is a chef and provided delicious warm muffins when we arrived. He offers specials at breakfast and the eggs benedict were really good.
It is easy to find and we could just see the loch from our room, but the trees weren't fully out.
We visited the whiskey tour at the Old Grouse en route and that was worth doing also.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights, rounding off a tour of Scotland.
What a Fabulous find!!!
The welcome we received from Matthew and Dianne was really lovely.
The Room was excellent - it was so spacious, clean and well appointed, it was almost too much to take in.
There is a lovely comfortable Guests' Lounge area where you are able to relax and unwind, whilst you are also free to borrow films to watch in your room. There are also plenty of games, guide books, etc to make use of.
Breakfast has to be the best we experienced during the whole trip. Matthew is the Chef and his attention to detail is so professional. He offers a good menu but also has 'Daily Specials' which are very tempting. However, he is also very accommodating with individual requests wherever possible.
There is private parking on site.
As well as being the best place we stayed in during our tour of Scotland it also has to be, we feel, the best value for money.
Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bikercouple63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We've stayed at this excellent B&B on 3 occasions and it has always been delightful. The only downside since the last visit is that Matthew no longer does evening meals. These were excellent and avoided the necessity to go out for a longish walk or a short drive. However the Kingshouse at Balquidder is under new management and now does very good food. Breakfast at LGH is still as good as ever, and the rooms have every mod con and room to swing the proverbial cat.

Room Tip: We've slept in them all and they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevandden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We got a very enthusiastic referral form other bikers and as wet and scruffy as we looked after a rainy day on the road, we were treated with a first class welcome and stay, the full Scottish was a breakfast to remember.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at Lochearn House while on a motorcycling holiday. Diane and Matthew are so welcoming and warm and our room was very spacious and well appointed, with a great bathroom and a really good walk in shower. Matthew welcomed us with delicious home made cake and a cup of tea. We were made to feel utterly at home and free to come and go as we pleased. Matthew's home baked bread scones and cakes were delicious, as was our breakfast each morning, with a full Scottish, fruit, cereal,toast anda daily special on offer. One word of advice: if Matthew offers you venison for breakfast, take it! Delicious. Lochearn House is well located for the whole of central Scotland and within easy walking distance of a couple of hotels with good restaurants. We will definitely return and I would recommend this wonderful bed and breakfast without hesitation.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lovelyladybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days break in April 2014, to wind down from the hustle and bustle of London the previous weekend.

The Lochearn House was very easy to find, at the cross roads in the centre of the village. Our room was very clean and cosy, with Tea and Coffee facilities, a TV and DVD player (With a nice little DVD Library in the foyer to borrow from during the stay). There was plenty of space to store our clothes and bags for the couple of days that we were there. The en-suite was also very clean, with a large shower and plenty of space for toiletries.

We managed to get a good couple of nights sleep as the bed was very comfortable and topped with one of Dianne's home-made quilts. If you ask nicely, she might even give you a little tour of her workshop to see some of her other fantastic creations!

Matthew and Dianne were very welcoming and provided a brilliant cooked breakfast both mornings, which set us up perfectly for the day. On our middle day, we decided to visit the Famous Grouse Experience, which was around 30 minutes scenic drive away and Matthew pointed us towards a great circular route around Loch Tay that provided some stunning views of the area... Once you've seen this, you realise that there really isn't anywhere on as beautiful as Scotland!

Thank you Matthew and Dianne... We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Lochearn House and we could not have been more pleased! The rooms were very cozy and beautiful and our hosts were delightful. Matthew and Dianne went out of their way to make sure our stay was all we could ask for. They gave you suggestions for day trips and/or places to eat. Matthew is also an incredible cook!!! Breakfast every morning was a treat. We even had a dinner and although it is usually served in early evening we had car trouble and didn't make it "home" until 9pm. Matthew still cooked us dinner, and it was delicious, even though he had to be up early the next morning. The service is second to none and it was very much appreciated! I hope we have a chance to visit again!
Thank you Matt and Di, you made our vacation very special!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hodgiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochearnhead
4.3 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
807 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lochearnhead
179 reviews
3.7 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Golden Larches B&B
The Golden Larches B&B
#3 of 5 in Lochearnhead
26 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mansewood Country House
Mansewood Country House
#4 of 5 in Lochearnhead
112 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mhor 84 Hotel
Mhor 84 Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balquhidder
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochearn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochearn House

Address: Lochearn House Lochearnhead | perthshire, Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8NR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochearnhead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lochearnhead
Price Range: £75 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochearn House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely, friendly, comfortable 4 star bed and breakfast with many extras. Reasonably priced and located in the Trossachs and Loch Lomond National Park, which is a truly stunning and quite beautiful natural area.Ideal central base for all the central areas. Also known as the Gateway to the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lochearn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochearn House Lochearnhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing