We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lochearn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lochearn House
Ranked #2 of 6 Lochearnhead B&B and Inns
North Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Everything was good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Room large and clean, with TV and chairs.
Easy to find on the main road (with virtually no traffic at night)
Host excellent
Breakfast was excellent (but too large!! something that i have never ever said before)

Room Tip: We had the larger room for a few pounds more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
66
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My Husband and I, along with another couple stayed here overnight, and it was amazing, I wanted to move in, and stay. Matthew was an amazing chef, and the breakfast was wonderful, we had Scambled Egg with smoked Salmon. Delicious, He also baked Irish Soda Bread for us, as a treat, lovely touch, and just perfect. Matthew and Diane are a very Talented couple, Matthew being a Chef and Diane with her Amazing talent in Needlework, which is evident all around the house. Her Workshop is outstanding.
We stayed here Monday 14th July, having travelled from an Extravaganza at Glamis.
Would Highly reccommend this establishment.
Well done, on all Aspects of your B&B.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at beginning of July. Matthew and Dianne were very welcoming. Our room was lovely and spacious. The bed was comfy with extra pillows and blankets (not that we needed another blanket).

Matthews breakfasts were delicious. Fresh fruit, homemade scones, muffins, bread and full English/Scottish breakfast and he offered a special choice everyday.

Dianne has a long arm quilting service and during our stay beautifully quilted a hand stitched patchwork we had had for many years.

I would have no hesitation recommending Lochearn Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We found this a friendly place, with tea and biscuits offered as soon as we arrived after a long drive south. Breakfast is extensive too : it's not often you get scones and cream provided this early in the day! Our room upstairs on the front was comfortable enough, but perhaps needs a bit of maintenance : no way could we get the ensuite door even to shut, let alone lock. But otherwise fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank railbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drachten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of May and had a great stay here. Matt makes GREAT breakfasts and is a very nice person. The rooms were clean and just great to stay in
even when not sleeping.
The B and B is in a perfect spot to discover the area. Very easy to do a round trip around Loch Lomond. Which can be done in a day without even rushing.

Room Tip: Take a room at the front. The cars dont bother you as the rooms are on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2nstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed two nights here on the way to Ullapool. We'd read the Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. Warm welcome from hosts Matt and Diane, lovely home cooking - muffins on our arrival and home baked scones and muffins for breakfast. Good sized room and bathroom, not noisy although overlooking the road (we did have the window closed at night). Matt was really helpful in booking tables for us at local eateries on both evenings. (Lochearnhead Hotel particularly good evening meal). Great find if you want a place to break your journey further north, as we did. Many thanks to our hosts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 572KathM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at Lochearn House for one night on our way through Scotland to the Isle of Skye. The B&B is situated on the junction of the A84 and A85 at the head of Loch Earn and is surrounded by beautiful scenery. The loch is just a short walk away, as is Lochearnhead Hotel, which is perfect for an enjoyable evening meal.

On arrival we received a warm welcome from owners Matthew and Dianne and having been shown up to our room, a few minutes later Matthew returned with some homemade cake, a slice of which he had remembered should be gluten-free, which added another personal touch.

The room was large and well-appointed, spotlessly clean and had a view out along the valley towards the loch. There was a small sitting area, a walk-through area with ample wardrobe space and a spacious bathroom with a high-quality shower. The only possible negative in this area was that the bathroom door wasn’t a good fit for its frame and required some serious man-handling to shut.

We slept well… until at about 4am two huge lorries thundered along the A84 outside our window and woke us both up. We were partly to blame as we had opened the bedroom window, but if you’re a light sleeper or like us, allow a little fresh air in the room when you sleep, selecting accommodation to the rear of the building would be advisable.

Breakfast was lovely, with all guests seated around one large table. Matthew is a chef, and it really showed, with lots of homemade muffins on offer along with the traditional “full Scottish” and delicious Loch Fyne kippers. My partner is something of a breakfast connoisseur and she selected Scottish sausage with haggis and black pudding, which turned out to be outstanding. Once again my gluten-free requirements were well catered for and we really felt like we were part of the Lochearn House family.

We’ll definitely return, we really enjoyed our stay and the surrounding scenery is stunning.

Room Tip: If you’re a light sleeper or like to sleep with a window open, ask for the room at the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochearnhead
4.3 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lochearnhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
3.7 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mhor 84 Hotel
Mhor 84 Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balquhidder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
4.3 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 6 in Lochearnhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mansewood Country House
Mansewood Country House
#5 of 6 in Lochearnhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochearn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochearn House

Property: Lochearn House
Address: Lochearnhead | perthshire, Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8NR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochearnhead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lochearnhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochearn House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely, friendly, comfortable 4 star bed and breakfast with many extras. Reasonably priced and located in the Trossachs and Loch Lomond National Park, which is a truly stunning and quite beautiful natural area.Ideal central base for all the central areas. Also known as the Gateway to the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lochearn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochearn House Lochearnhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing