We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“A room with a stunning ever changing view”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
picnic table loch garden on Loch Earn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
picnic table loch garden on Loch Earn
fishing in the garden Loch Earn free from March 15th Facing South. Stone front with glass doors in lounge and bedrooms reflecting Loch Earn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
21 reviews
picnic table loch garden on Loch Earn
fishing in the garden Loch Earn free from March 15th
Facing South. Stone front with glass doors in lounge and bedrooms reflecting Loch Earn
Enjoy views south over Loch Earn and access the patio garden from the 26ft open plan lounge
lounge with wood burning stove, Sky TV and games
King Size bedeoom en-suite, looks over Loch Earn
Kitchen with washing machine, dishwasher, fridge freezer
Venus marks the slipway to Briar Cottages Garden
Fraser cutting the paddock in the rear garden. Stunning views for picnics and photography
Lochearnhead Highland Games July
Entrance in winter when snow fell
Visit inside the owners B Listed thatched cottage on the grounds
Sledge from the top corner in snow or picnic and photograph views all year round
mallard chicks hatch at Briar Cottages every year. Seen here eating oats
Sailing, waterskiing, wakeboarding and other water activities on Loch Earn
Looking from twin room entrance through lounge to kitchen
Arriving at Briar Cottages gates.
Petanque piste in the snow, loch garden
Winner of TripAdvisor Excellence Award 2015 for Customer Service -5 out of 5
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beverley...
Skipton
1 review
“A room with a stunning ever changing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Just come back from a great 5 night break staying at Briar Cottage. What a beautiful cottage with fantastic ever changing Loch views. Definitely one of the best cottage holidays we have had in Scotland. Great walking and cycling including a couple of tea and cake stops at Mhor 84. Thanks to Kim and Fraser for making us feel ever so welcome and we'll miss our morning and evening visits by the resident ducks! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and for sharing your experience in and around Briar Cottages. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying in Briar Steading. It was great to hear your stories about cycling on National cycle route 7 nearby and other routes within our National Park. The mallards are comical. The ladies are nesting just now and before long, 10 to 12 ducklings will be brought to us for food. The ospreys are back on Loch Earn so spring is definitely here. Thank you again and we hope to see you again some time. Kindest Wishes, Kim and Fraser.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb J
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We couldn't have wished for a more perfect location or luxury cottage. Stayed in Briar Steading and the owners Kim & Fraser are the most amazing people. Beautiful cottage with everything you needed, sky tv with sky sports and lovely log burning fire for those cosy nights. Views were out of this world, summer house on the loch and free fishing, loved the little ducks who made friends with us especially Peggy. Perfect base for days out and you don't need to travel far to see the best of Scotland. Only a short drive to visit Rob Roy's grave and Glencoe is definitely a place to visit for awesome scenery and beauty. Will definitely be booking this cottage again and will look forward to meeting Kim & Fraser again. If you are looking for a cottage holiday in Scotland then this is the one. Enjoy:)

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience of Briar Steading and the garden on Loch Earn and thank you for your kind comments. Many of Scotland's attractions - like Rob Roy's gravestone within Balquhidder Kirk yard and Glencoe - are within an easy drive from Lochearnhead. Glencoe is a truly magical place that attracts visitors in all seasons for, touring, walking, deer spotting and skiing. Balquhidder Church where Rob Roy is buried, attracts many visitors from all over the world including members of clans MacGregor, McLaren, Ferguson and other ancient local clansmen. We would love to see you back here again entering into the spirit of Briar Cottages and appreciate the time that you took to share your thoughts with others. Best wishes Kim and Fraser
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithM
Lancashire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My wife and I and two friends have just returned from a long, bank holiday weekend at Briar Stedding (the larger of the two cottages) under the Briar Cottage banner.

Hosts Kim and Fraser Proven made us most welcome and were superb hosts.

Briar Stedding is ideally located in the center of Scotland within easy access to Edinburgh, Glasgow and the Highlands.

The cottage wsa very clean and well presented with two bedrooms, both with ensuite bathrooms, at either end of the property with the lounge and open plan kitchen/diner in the middle. Large french doors opening to a large patio with superb Lochside views.

There are a number of excellent restaurants within easy reach and a five minute walk to a local bar.

By chance over the weekend, the F1 powerboat ski championships were held on the Loch and we had grandstand views of the action. Fantastic. We are sure to return to spend a longer break in wonderful surroundings with lovely people.

Many Thanks

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The layout of the property and its location
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2013
Delighted that you all enjoyed your experience. The F1 power water skiing was incredible. I can't imagine water skiing at up to 110 miles per hour! It is amazing having a loch extending from the garden where you can witness many local events all year round, including The Great Loch Earn Boat race in April, The SAAA model water planes taking off and landing in May and October, and the Lochearnhead open water swimming championships in August. This includes a 6.5 mile swim to St Fillans and 1 mile swim from the Lochearnhead Water Sports centre beach and back via a Crannog. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we hope to see you back again some day. Best wishes Kim and Fraser.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dabar_h
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantasticly welcoming and with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This is a brilliant place to stay, the view over the loch, and the comfort of the cottage plus the friendly welcome and help received. A stag was a regular visitor, along with many birds including an Osprey fishing in the loch.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2013
Fraser and I are delighted that you enjoyed the comfort and scenery that Briar Steading offers and it was a pleasure to have you here. We are lucky to offer an all year round scenic destination sharing land with an abundance of different wildlife that appears in every season. Ringside seats to watch the opspreys fishing is pretty special though. We hope to see you again. Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM99Scotl...
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you look up tranquility in the dictionary you will see a picture of Briar Cottages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

2 couples stayed for the weekend in mid January and loved everything about the place. A modern well equipped cottage that was immaculately clean. What can I say about the views, just loved sitting watching the views from the living room. The log burner was lovely but the cottage had other heaters as well so it was never cold. The layout of the cottage is excellent with all the living room, kitchen etc in the middle, with the bedrooms at either end of the property providing privacy. Each bedroom has its own bathroom which is another excellent touch. The owners were very pleasant and friendly and provided info on the best eateries around the area, Will be back, hopefully soon and for a longer time.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The cottage in gerneral was to a very high standard
Liked least: There needs to be more logs for the log burner instead of just a starter kit.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2013
Thank you very much. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and comforts of Briar Steading on your short break. We loved your dictionary reference. Look forward to welcoming you back to Briar Cottages again when you are ready. Kim and Fraser Proven
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna18633...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week's holiday at Briar Steading for our wedding anniversary. It was without doubt one of the best holidays we have ever had. The accommodation lived up to the great reviews we had read and in fact, the photos don't do it justice. We had brought numerous books in case of bad weather yet we found we didn't even touch our books - we could quite comfortably sit by the log-burning stove, simply admiring the fabulous view of the loch for hours on end! The whole cottage was spotlessly clean and well-equipped. The kingsize bed was immensely comfortable.

The weather wasn't brilliant while we were there (as one would expect of Scotland in March) but we braved it and did a few decent walks. There are walks to be had from the house, or within a short drive.

We had an excellent meal at the Four Seasons hotel in St Fillans, though it is a little pricey. We also had two very good meals at the Lochearnhead Hotel, and we would definitely recommend this. We didn't eat at the Clachan Cottage so could not comment on the food there but it was certainly a friendly place to go for a pint after a long day's hiking. Both places are within a stone's throw of Briar Cottages, but be warned, bring a torch because it truly is pitch black walking back from the pub after dark.

Kim and Fraser were very warm and generous hosts who made us feel really welcome. Thank you for a brilliant week - we will be back!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Sitting by the log-burning stove, drinking champagne and looking out at the loch
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2012
Thank you. Delighted to hear that your stay in Briar Steading was comfortable and special. The views from the cottage are spectacular all year round. Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences of the local hotels and area with others. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest regards Kim and Fraser
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinsWM
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality, comfortable cottage in breathtaking surroundings with owners who care about their guests.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012 for a stay in December 2011

This was the second time we had stayed at Briar Cottage and our experience was every bit as good as the first time. The reason for that is quite simple, a quality, comfortable cottage in breathtaking surroundings with owners who care about their guests. We stayed over New Year and celebrated in the village hall with other local residents - quite a night. The owners invited us to their annual New Years Day BBQ on the loch side which was a great way to start 2012. You can sit on a sofa in front of a log fire and have panoramic views over the loch and mountains beyond. Whatever the weather you can have a thoroughly enjoyable time.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The whole relaxing experience.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2012
Thank you once again for your generous comments and for helping to make The Lochearnhead Hogmanay Dance a night to remember. Our annual lochside BBQ on the first was enhanced this year by the putting competition and the stunt plane twisting and turning in front of Edinample castle. Fraser and I are already hatching plans for this years entertainment! Have a great year. Fraser and Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$141
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing