We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay as family”
other travellers have booked this property
Stan The Stag ornamental feature in Briar Cottages 250ft garden on Loch Earn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stan The Stag ornamental feature in Briar Cottages 250ft garden on Loch Earn
Briar Steading open plan lounge with view of Loch Earn and Briar Cottages Loch Garden -faces south 3m high Sculpture in Briar Cottages Loch Garden by Kev Paxton
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Stan The Stag ornamental feature in Briar Cottages 250ft garden on Loch Earn
Briar Steading open plan lounge with view of Loch Earn and Briar Cottages Loch Garden -faces south
3m high Sculpture in Briar Cottages Loch Garden by Kev Paxton
picnic table loch garden on Loch Earn
Guest have given Briar Cottages 5 out of 5 -TripAdvisor certificate of Excellence  2017
fishing in the garden Loch Earn free from March 15th
Facing South. Stone front with glass doors in lounge and bedrooms reflecting Loch Earn
Enjoy views south over Loch Earn and access the patio garden from the 26ft open plan lounge
lounge with wood burning stove, Sky TV and games
King Size bedeoom en-suite, looks over Loch Earn
Kitchen with washing machine, dishwasher, fridge freezer
Venus marks the slipway to Briar Cottages Garden
Fraser cutting the paddock in the rear garden. Stunning views for picnics and photography
Lochearnhead Highland Games July
Entrance in winter when snow fell
Visit inside the owners B Listed thatched cottage on the grounds
Sledge from the top corner in snow or picnic and photograph views all year round
mallard chicks hatch at Briar Cottages every year. Seen here eating oats
Sailing, waterskiing, wakeboarding and other water activities on Loch Earn
Looking from twin room entrance through lounge to kitchen
Arriving at Briar Cottages gates.
Petanque piste in the snow, loch garden
Winner of TripAdvisor Excellence Award 2015 for Customer Service -5 out of 5
Blawn Wi The Wind  sculpture at Briar Cottage lights up at night #BLiSStrail
Galvanised steel jetty for fishing and small boats,  designed by Perthshire blacksmith J Meddicks.
Briar Steading King Size bed, Briar Cottages
Large walk in wet shower room at Briar Steading. Jack + Jill doors enables it as twin en-suite
Fiery sunset behind Briar Steading with lions guarding the entrance.
Crocosmia's line the front of Little Briar Cottage. View of the owners thatched cottage Loch Earn
Stan the stag in the 250ft loch garden.
Stan the Stag lights up at night in front of Loch Earn at Briar Cottages Lochearnhead
King size bedding at Briar Steading in the rutting season- Lochearnhead
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
דני צ
1 review
“Great place to stay as family”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Wonderful place to stay. The cottage is big with view to the lake. Well equipped ​. We felt that we came to our house with all comfort you need. The hospitality excellent​. Great place to stay ,relax ,make walks around. Many thanks to Kim and Fraser .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2017
Thank you very much for sharing your experience of our large cottage Briar Steading on Loch Earn, on behalf of your lovely family. It was a pleasure to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Thank you .We are delighted that you enjoyed the ever changing views which change colour with each season. It sounds like you had a lot of fun trying out different adventures and attractions in different directions from Lochearnhead's central location. The Four Seasons Hotel and restaurants have been special for years. Not just because The Beatles stayed there but thanks to the friendly knowledgeable front of house team and the creative cooking - not forgetting the stunning views, the water sculpture STILL by Rob Mulholland and some glorious sunsets all year round. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on a short break at Briar Steading on Loch Earn. Kindest regards Kim and Fraser
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gh1232014
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The perfect Christmas”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked both Briar and little briar for a Christmas break for the extended family from 22 nd December until with 29 th december.
This is our second visit this year and a first for the rest of the family.
Four generations of our family got to enjoy this wonderful setting during the course of our stay from ages ranging from 7 months to 82 years.
Kim and Fraser were wonderful hosts. From inviting us in for a wee tipple into their stunning home,to letting us borrow a chair for my dad who can't manage the comfy sofas in the cottages.Putting decorated Xmas trees in both cottages with a welcome bottle of presecco and stollen.
Fraser even arranged for snow on the mountains!Storm Barbara even blew through but we didn't notice as the cottages are so well insulated and sound proof.
This is a home from home but with views to die for.
The perfect christmas filled with memories that will last forever.
If there ever was a bucket list of holiday destinations this would be at the top.

Thank you Kim and Fraser we shall return again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
Thank you for your kind comments and returning for another visit to our Lochearnhead cottages in a different season. We are delighted that you enjoyed sharing the Briar Cottages self catering experience with your lovely family. The loch view is certainly a treat to wake up to no matter the weather. Christmas and New Year week has already booked out for 2017, however, we hope to see some or all of you again for a welcome back drink. Each season has its own magic of colours, plants, wildlife and events. All the very best for 2017, Kindest wishes, Kim and Fraser.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzie b
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Briar Steadings for 2 weeks. The accommodation has been carefully thought out and could not have been better. There are beautiful views over the loch and mountains and we were lucky to have good weather so could take many walks round the area. Our hosts, Kim and Fraser, were very welcoming and helpful. We even had a trout for supper, caught from the bankside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: Lochearnhead is a distance from towns but this is not a significant problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure to meet you. We are delighted that you caught fish from our garden on Loch Earn and tasted trout at its freshest. I am sure they taste better when you catch them yourself. We are never in doubt that there are plenty of "brownies" and rainbow trout to be had in Loch Earn as osprey pairs return to fish for them every year. Our very best wishes, Kim and Fraser
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel O
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is fantastic. We stayed is Little Briar, which is the small cottage. It was very compact, but very nice and cosy! Thanks especially to Kim and Fraser who were fantastic hosts and were extremely helpful. A fantastic place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The internet doesn't work
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
Thank you. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience at Little Briar Cottage. Lochearnhead and Briar Cottages grounds. We really appreciate guests taking the time to share their thoughts for others to consider, Best wishes

Kim & Fraser
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardOx...
oxford
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Luxurious accomodation, with an unforgettable view to gaze at for hours!”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Briar Steading for a week in August, and it exceeded our expectations. The house itself is spacious, modern, very comfortable, and really well laid-out.

But the best thing is the amazing view, which just stops you and makes you stare. Looking right out on to Loch Earn, across to Edinample Castle and Ben Our beyond. The light changes all the time, and though we had mixed weather, the view is beautiful in all conditions. The best viewpoint is from the top corner, "Norman's View"

Frazer and Kim were perfect hosts, ready with a warm welcome, and not far away in case they're needed.

Excellent all round, and thoroughly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: The road - no real pavement, and quite fast
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of Briar Steading. We are delighted that you enjoyed the accommodation and views including Norman's view from the rear paddock, created by Fraser in memory of his youngest brother. There is a steep climb to the top corner of the garden, however, the pay off as you now know is the seat by the burn (stream) and the ever changing stunning vista. There is more and more evidence that breaks in rural settings amongst nature is good for your health. We love to see people leave here rested and smiling. We look forward to welcoming you back some day. Kindest wishes Kim and Fraser
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice61
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“First class accommodation with five star hosts”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This short break was a Christmas gift from my son and his partner. The Steadings is a luxurious self catering cottage particularly enjoyed fishing on the loch, returning to a cosy log burner in this beautiful accommodation, with magnificent views over Loch Earn. The hosts, Kim and Fraser are so welcoming and generous, and go the extra mile for their guests. Lots to do and see in and around Loch Earnhead, the people are very friendly and accommodating.
I would not hesitate to recommend Briar cottages and will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts and the superb accommodation
Liked least: I have no complaints
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind words. We love watching guests fishing on the loch 15th March to 6th October. We are pleased that you enjoyed the cozy effect of the wood burning stove and the comforts of Briar Steading. Yes, the villagers of Lochearnhead and the surrounding villages are very friendly. A lovely community to live amongst as well as to visit. Kindest regards Kim and Fraser
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing