We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Lochearnhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I've stayed at Clachan Cottage a few times and always look forward to going back. Fantastic setting on the lochside and the weather this trip was excellent. Sitting outside with a glass of wine, gazing over the loch - so beautiful. An escape from the rat race, and there are excellent walks nearby. It's only minutes from the gateway to the highlands which are spectacularly beautiful. The food was excellent and much of it locally-sourced. Clientele and staff at the hotel are friendly and accommodating. It has a homely, country cottage hotel ambience, with all the relevant character and charm that that entails. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a lochside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 218GloriaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neiladdison, Manager at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thankyou for your lovely review .We are pleased you enjoyed your return visit . The hotel is indeed situated in a beautiful location.....a perfect place to relax and unwind.. See you again soon !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    295
    80
    59
    46
See reviews for
86
531
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We purchased an itison deal and stayed Friday and Saturday night . I was a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews !
Good points ...location is good, great view over the loch and nice places nearby to visit. Great if you are into walking, climbing or sailing.
The room was big enough , big comfy bed , and big modern bathroom. Dog friendly, although we decided not to bring him after all.
The breakfast was good , plenty of choice and well cooked.
The food in the bar was nice and not too expensive
Bad points...it's annoying having to go and find someone for reception
The hotel is a bit tired and shabby in places , but it is very old , and full of character.
Would I stay again ? Yes
Would I recommend it ? Only to people who enjoy outdoor pursuits and don't look for anything luxurious

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma Langford U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neiladdison, Manager at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thankyou for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is indeed well positioned for a multitude of outdoor activities . Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked an itison deal here and booked it for 10th and 11th June. After experiencing a virtually sleepless night on the 10th and being provided with an inedible plate of food for breakfast we decided one night was more than enough.

Like mumfa_2010, overnight roadworks meant sleep was very hard to come by and we didn't intend to undergo a second night like the first one.

Breakfast was a disaster - I do not know how anyone could serve up the plates of "food" to anyone. Sausage was undercooked and bacon was "like leather" - there is no way anyone could have chewed their way through it. I asked the waitress how we were meant to eat it in that condition. She said she would tell the chef. Neither the waitress nor the chef came to us with any comment or apology. When we spoke to Neil, the manager, a short time later when we mentioned we would not be staying for the second night, he indicated it was too late to do anything about it.

Breakfast aside, itison and the hotel have indicated to us that the situation was outwith the hotel's control however I beg to differ. The hotel obviously knew about the roadworks and failed to mention it to us when we checked in which is the very least they should have done. I understand they do not wish to loose out on bookings but the customers should come first in such circumstances.

All in all, the deal we booked was not the deal we got. Customer service was severely lacking and breakfast food atrocious and the overnight roadworks issue could have been dealt with by the hotel in a far more customer friendly manner. Subsequent feedback and request for refund from itison has fallen on deaf ears so that's the last itison deal I will ever purchase. And I will never recommend the Clachan to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank erg121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neiladdison, Manager at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We apologise for the noise from the overnight roadworks....an essential necessity I am afraid . Our offer of a free nights stay is available to you as recompense.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stopped here for 2 nights with a Groupon voucher; as did many of the guests, which indicates to me that the hotel is suffering. When we first booked this stay, I emailed the hotel with a question, I didn't get a response, so I emailed them again and copied my first email in - however, still never received a reply - which I thought was rather rude!

On arrival to the hotel, we were most impressed with its location on the Loch side, beautiful views and beautiful surroundings, and the journey up had some lovely views..

When we entered reception, it seemed a very tired hotel, and felt like it needed a bit of TLC; very dull and uninviting. Nobody mans the reception area, so you have to go try and find another member of staff to bring the manager to check you in. (Which isn't ideal really, as complete strangers can obviously just walk about the hotel and to your rooms).

Neil, the manager, came to reception and checked us in, (and made sure he got his supplement of £40 for a Saturday night - not sure why this is, as nothing special happens on a Saturday! and seems a bit frustrating when you have already paid for a 2 night stay via Groupon). However, we paid him, we were given our keys and went to our room. We were in room 16.

The room was lovely and spacious, with amazing views over the loch. The bed was a kingsize one and was very firm, but was ok. There were a few issues with the room ...... the windows were filthy on the outside - huge cobwebs and dirt. There were plugs that were run on an extensions, which isn't really ideal and a connector box just in the middle of the wall that went to the TV. The bathroom was very modern; however, it had a sloping roof over the loo, (which was ok for me, but not for my 6' 2" husband!).

The shower was powerful, but the doors didn't shut properly and there was mould on the ceiling above. The taps moved when you tried to turn them on! and the hot tap leaked from the pipe all over the bathroom floor if you turned it wrong. However, overall the room was acceptable for the price we paid. (It wouldn't have been acceptable however, at the price that's on the internet). Our bed was made and towels changed throughout our stay.

We unpacked, freshened up and made our way to the bar. This was fine. They had music playing in the back ground, but then also had the TV on with subtitles, so pleased all. We ordered drinks first, (the house wine was rather expensive). The woman at the bar kept trying to force us to put our drinks to the table number; but we don't always like doing that, as you can't keep a track of drinks/food etc., but she wasn't keen on taking our money at the bar for some reason!

We looked at the menu and found this really rather reasonable, price wise. We ordered our meals and they were very tasty. Our first night was the Saturday (which we paid the extra £40 for), but to be honest it was boring. There was no atmosphere, no entertainment, nothing. The music was that quiet that you felt you had to whisper when talking. The tables were a little grubby and could do with updating. We managed to get a window seat each night; however, the windows again were grubby and has spiders and flies running around on them, so that was a little off putting. We never ate in the 'restaurant' as we were told that they have exactly the same menu, but yet was empty, so it would have been even quieter! We found that we went to our room about 10.30pm.

On Sunday morning we went down for breakfast, which was very nice indeed. Lots of choice; cereal, yoghurt, fruit, toast, juice, tea, coffee, full cooked breakfast etc. This was a really good breakfast to set us up for the day. We then went to explore the area, which is stunning. It was raining at points, but that didn't put us off, in fact it added to the fantastic falls that we saw.

We returned to the hotel, and went down to the bar again for our evening meal; exactly the same scenario; quiet music, forced to put meals and drinks to table etc etc ....... however, the meals were really nice again and the price was reasonable. Although, we were forgotten about and had to wait nearly an hour for our dessert!

We spent our last night on the Sunday, and this had to be the worst nights sleep ever!! We had seen signs earlier that they were closing the road right in front of the hotel from 9pm to 6am for about a week. Unfortunately, the local highways chose to completely dig up (ready to resurface) the road right in front of our room from 12.30am !!!! Obviously this woke us up. This was horrendous!!! It was so noisy with all the trucks engines, the workmen shouting and whistling and obviously the machine digging up the whole road on both sides!! This continued until 2.30am ......... we managed to fall back asleep; only to be woken at 4am with them doing the other side of the road. We were absolutely angered by this. Obviously, work does need to be done on roads occasionally; but we were disgusted that this was never mentioned to us on booking this weekend; nor was this mentioned when Neil checked us in. The hotel must have been informed that this work was going to be carried out, so surely this should have been mentioned to guests? We had taken this break as myself and my husband both work fulltime and have busy jobs; so a weekend away in a 'tranquil' area was meant to be ideal - how wrong were we!

We were obviously up very early on the Monday morning, and absolutely exhausted; which wasn't great as we had to make our journey back to England! However, I did notice that Neil left the hotel rather early in the morning; maybe to avoid confrontation from disappointed people! We ate our breakfast and planned on leaving. We posted our keys through reception door, as nobody was there again.

As you can see from my review, there are good and bad points. However, for us personally, the bad points outweigh the good points; so we will not be returning to this hotel. We found that the staff are not very people friendly. They do their job and that's that! There's no personal touch, no interaction at all. Neil doesn't seem to be a 'people person' at all, he seemed very shy and didn't want to chat at all, which isn't good when you are a hotel manager.

The whole place feels like it needs a bit of a makeover, nothing major, just a bit of care and attention to certain areas. It has excellent potential.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mumfa_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neiladdison, Manager at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a lovely 2 night stay here on 27th & 28th May 2014, very nice hotel with wonderful views over the Loch. The room we stayed in had great views and was very clean and comfortable with a lovely on-suite with very powerful shower. The lounge bar was a good size with plenty of tables and seating and pool table, the bar meals were of an excellent standard, ingredients were locally sourced, all reasonably priced and very tasty. Breakfast was really good with an array of choices including fresh fruit and yoghurt, breakfast cereals, and full cooked Scottish, all with plenty of toast and jam etc. This is an excellent base for walking and touring the surrounding area and we are looking forward to staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms facing the Loch are the ones to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo1ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neiladdison, Manager at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thankyou for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and fully appreciated the beautiful location of the hotel. Chefs Scottish breakfasts and bar meals seem to have impressed you and I again thankyou for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A mixed review, as the title tries to suggest. We booked this as an itison deal, and therefore it was great value. We were immediately impressed by the beautiful scenery - the hotel sits right on the banks of Loch Earn. Our room had that great view as well, which was quite magical in the morning. The room itself was decorated to a good standard and was really cosy and welcoming. Bathroom not quite the same standard, but absolutely fine. The downside is that the hotel overall is in need of an upgrade: the common areas were quite tired, the pub was fairly glum (it was not exactly main high season though, to be fair), and the 'cooked' part of the breakfast lacked effort and - disappointingly - bits of it could not be described as 'cooked' by any stretch of imagination (nearly raw sausage is not a winner in my book!). Overall, a good deal for the room, and a beautiful part of the world - for food I'd rather stop at Mhor 84 (3 miles or so away) or Hansen's Kitchen in Comrie (about 6, 7 miles the other way towards Crieff and Perth).

Room Tip: Got to be Loch view - it really was very beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncjttn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neiladdison, Manager at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thankyou for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the wonderful views of the loch from the hotel , and hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor ni
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had a great 2night stay in this hotel had been worried about some of the reviews, but I found the hotel good. We were on a group on deal.the room was great small but great views over the loch. Had bar meal 1night which was good for the price. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would go back again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myndos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neiladdison, Manager at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
It is good to hear you had a great stay at the Clachan Cottage Hotel. The views of the loch are superb at this time of year and we are also pleased you enjoyed our good food and friendly service. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochearnhead
0.1 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lochearnhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
15.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
10.3 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clachan Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clachan Cottage Hotel

Property: Clachan Cottage Hotel
Address: Lochside, Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochearnhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lochearnhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clachan Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clachan Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clachan Cottage Hotel Lochearnhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing