We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Lovely place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mansewood Country House
Ranked #4 of 5 Lochearnhead B&B and Inns
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Lovely place.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Having just been to Mansewood Country house I can highly recommend it. The hospitality was lovely from entering the building to leaving it. We only stayed the one night as It was my first time in Scotland and we where travelling somewhere else the day after. Alan was a lovely host with great knowledge of Scotland and his wife "Sharon" made a lovely yet rare appearance, apparently? We booked dinner as we was going to get there late and I must say the food was wonderful as was the breakfast. The Wife and I would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    31
    4
    6
    6
See reviews for
18
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spent three nights at this quaint, lovely B & B with my partner and our 21 month son. Alan and Sharon were lovely people who were very friendly (but not overbearing!) and made our stay very enjoyable. Our room was exactly what you would expect from a four star B & B - welcoming, large enough to accommodate a cot and pleasantly turned out. Breakfast was plates brimming with a full Scottish breakfast, (our son had the continental!), great start to the day! Alan and Sharon were also fantastic with our little boy, nothing was too much trouble! I'm just disappointed I never got a chance to taste the sticky toffee pudding - maybe next time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCS2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in Mansewood Country House in April as part of a self-guided bike tour of Scotland. It was one of 7 different B&Bs/guesthouses we stayed in while in Scotland and it was definitely one of our favorites. Lochearnhead is fairly quite and remote place and food options without a car were limited. Hence we decided to have dinner at Mansewood. The food was wonderful - a warm, delicious and filling meal after a long day of biking. Plus they offered several vegetarian options for dinner.

We never saw Sharon but Alan was a very engaging and gracious host. We happened to be the only people staying at the B&B that night (they were fully booked the next night) and Alan spend quite a bit of time talking with us that evening and over breakfast. We really enjoyed our conversations with him and would definitely recommend the Mansewood.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corinnelager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked 2 rooms at Mansewood Country House for 5 people. Both rooms were very comfortable with modern décor and bathrooms. We were greeted with a very warm welcome from Alan and there was a real homely feel to the place which was lovely. The breakfast was very good and we would definitely return if we were in the area again. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

i brought my partner to mansewood house as an overnight treat, we had a lovely welcome from Allan, the owner, who made us feel right at home. he asked us if we would like tea or coffee as we arrived...a lovely gesture, so simple, yet not experienced before..we enjoyed our tea, sitting in the extensive gardens belonging to the house, what a treat! the sun was out, and Allan took the time to come out for a chat, advise us where to eat, walk, and gave us some interesting facts about the house itself..good, decent scottish hospitality, from a man that clearly takes pride in his home. Our bedroom?..well, we stayed in room 5. this had clearly been recently decorated to a high standard, and the en suite was large, pristine, spotless, and the shower was belting hot!! we slept like logs in the big, comfy bed!.. onto breakfast, again, not let down. nicely served, in a relaxed atmosphere, again Allan playing waiter...this guy must work so hard! i work in a 4 star, city centre hotel, and i can sincerely say that mansewood house rates on a par with, if not better than that..A huge thanks for a lovely stay

Room Tip: we had room 5, it overlooks the garden and mountains..stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Mansewood isn't a hotel - it's a real home from home! I had a wonderful stay here - comfortable room, great food and a fantastic location for exploring this beautiful part of Scotland. Nothing was too much trouble. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We felt at home immediately we arrived at Mansewood. The location is wonderful with a beautiful view over the surrounding countryside. Alan and Sharon made us very welcome and were kindness itself. We opted for half board and thoroughly enjoyed both the breakfast and evening meals which were freshly cooked and delicious. There are several walks available in the vicinity giving wonderful views over Loch Earn.

A real welcome sight when we arrived was the open fire in both the lounge and the dining room - particularly welcome as the weather was rather cool. With our thanks Tony and Lyn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochearnhead
0.7 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
796 reviews
9.3 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
412 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
9.9 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
415 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansewood Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansewood Country House

Property: Mansewood Country House
Address: Lochearnhead | Perthshire, Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8NS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochearnhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lochearnhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansewood Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansewood Country Guest House is around 300 years old built in the 1700s and has recently been refurbished to a high standard complimenting original features. .Guest accommodation includes 6 comfortable bedrooms 4 doubles and 2 twins (1 on ground floor) they all have wonderful views of the surrounding mountains, private parties are welcome. There is a cosy residents bar and lovely relaxing lounge / TV room for guest to enjoy. Delicious home cooked meals are available from our extensive menu – Scottish hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mansewood Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansewood Country House Lochearnhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing