We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accommodation in perfect place”
Review of The Goil Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Goil Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Lochgoilhead B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Fantastic as always at the Goil with all the team. Can't recommend this place enough even if just for a drink or a quick meal. Stayed here around 4 times in the rooms which are clean, modern and suits our needs. Good location for the village or up into Drimsynie.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fandabbydosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thanks for your review of The Goil Inn. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope that you return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for The Goil Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Very clean bar area and toilets.
Food-where do I start! All from frozen! Vegetable broth-just barley with no veg. Chilli prawn salad: no chilli, 5 prawns and little salad! Cullen skink- full of potatoes that were hard hardly any fish. Chicken goujons dried up as were beans. Will never eat here again very disappointing.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank kelly150474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review The Goil Inn, and sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food. We regularly get positive feedback from guests, but will investigate your comments. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel, but its not an experience I'd want to repeat! The bar area is very modern and fresh, but the corridor to the bedrooms was a narrow, dark and depressing place. The bedroom, No.2, had fantastic views over the loch, but the room itself was very basic, the bulb had gone in one of the two wall lights, the curtains were thin, cheap and had no blackout linings. The bed was a small double with hard pillows, and apart from 2 bottles of body wash, there was no soap or handwash for the wash basin. We have stayed at Travelodges and Premier Inns in the past that were far superior to this, and which coast less than the £80 we paid for this hotel. The breakfast was just ok, and the couple of members of staff that we encountered were pleasant. To add to all of this, in the morning when I picked up a towel to go and shower, I found the hotels set of master keys underneath it! When I handed them over to the waitress at breakfast, she said that they had been looking for them for days! Not very professional!

We were very disappointed in this hotel, and expected better, knowing that its part of Argyll Holidays at Drimsynie. The night before staying here, we stayed in a hot-tub lodge near the main hotel at Drimsynie, with family, it was beautiful and of an extremely high standard, we only moved to the Goil Hotel to make way for two other family members, coming up to have an overnight in the lodge. We have previously stayed in the main hotel at Drimsynie, and in lodges of various styles and sizes over the years, and have always enjoyed our stay, so its time to upgrades the bedrooms at the Goil hotel, and bring them into line with accommodation at Drimsynie.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, ask for a room overlooking the loch, gorgeous scenery!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Hi there, sorry to hear of your disappointment of your stay at The Goil Inn. We are in the process of upgrading the hotel to bring it into line with our other accommodation, but understand this isn't any excuse for the poor experience that you had. We will investigate this and do hope that you return. In the meantime, if you have anything you wish to discuss, please email marketing@argyllholidays.com, thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Upon opening the entrance door there was a stale, charity shop-esk smell, which I said to my Husband wasn't something I could smell while I ate!

As the place seemed the nearest in sight to go to eat for lunch with a child after a walk, I opened the next door, which was like entering a totally different place!

The solid oak floors, the logs, the nice black, sleek tables with leather/fake leather (not fussed either way!) chairs, and antler style lamp was lovely and inviting.

If the outside and lobby reflected the same style, I'm sure it would be much busier.

My Husband had a BLT and enjoyed it. The chips were crispy and perfect!
My 2 year old had sausage and mash with beans, which he enjoyed.
I, myself, had haggis, neeps and tat ties which if laid out better would've been more enjoyable. This came as a layer of neeps, a layer of haggis and a layer of tat ties, in a circular shape (like a pie without a crust) with onion gravy poured all over. I couldn't understand the reason for this as it arrived looking like a mud pie, which meant you had to eat it all mushed together :/

Otherwise, food arrived quickly, taking my two year old to the toilet was pleasant as the facilities were absolutely spotless - shiny taps and everything! I do always feel the need for paper towels in bathrooms (which there weren't any of) but there was a hand dryer there for use. That's just a personal preference though.

Service could've been a bit friendlier. There was a pregnant lady who brought us our meals, who smiled and was polite, she was lovely. The other lady seemed to be having "just another day at work" sort of mood, which was a shame, as I always feel people who smile and perhaps ask questions, such as, is everything ok with your meal (smile), makes a restaurant visit more valued.

If the entrance lobby was decorated like the main bar area, then I really think the smell would disperse and people would feel more invited.

Our meal was £30 and that was for a coke, a milk, tea (I think), garlic mushrooms, BLT with chips, Haggis meal and kids sausage and mash.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank we_love_suites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hi there, thanks for the review of your visit to The Goil Inn. We have just recently renovated the inside of our hotel, and have plans to update the front of the building soon as well. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meal, and some of the service you received. We will investigate this. Overall, we do hope you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here as a small group - 2 nights in September. First positives - Superb location, and public areas on ground floor tastefully decorated. Negatives - guest rooms are basic- but to be honest were clean and comfortable - but refurb required - corridor to guest rooms particularly depressing. Breakfast was just OK ... and greatest let down was the quality of food at dinner ...ham and haddie with processed slices of supermarket ham etc ??? ..... we tried the Shore Inn up the road which was far, far superior in terms of food quality. So to be honest - Just OK in general .... has foundation to be much better ...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ironpoker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Hi there, thanks for the feedback on your stay at The Goil Inn, it's much appreciated and allows us to plan ahead to the future!

Sorry to hear that you weren't impressed by the food on offer, we will investigate this and work on improvements.

We hope that you will return to The Goil Inn, and if there is anything which you would like to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact us at marketing@argyllholidays.com.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

we arrived at loch goil after a trek across the 'wilderness' from dunoon. we had gone to book a boat for the day and only called in for a drink but on seeing how clean and (I felt) stylish the place was we decided to eat there. we had 3 meals which were attractively and promptly served and the staff were friendly. everywhere looked clean - especially the ladies loo - always a good indicator. the place was surprisingly quiet. yes the décor is a little bit confusing as Scotland trad meets trendy bistro but so what - it looks good, food tastes good and price is right - definitely worth a visit - haggis/tatties well tasty:)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverbanditnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Hi there, thanks for the feedback on your stay at The Goil Inn, glad you enjoyed the break!

We pride ourselves on being friendly and welcoming, so delighted that this was proven on your recent visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, and if there is anything which you would like to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact us at marketing@argyllholidays.com.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

This is clearly a corporation sucking the life out of what could be a great place.

The food is well below average. You can tell it's "locally sourced" from a supermarket. We had the ham and haddie, the ham being of the plastic, square variety sold in packs of 20 slices for a pound. When I asked why they served it, the waitress appeared to take it personally and said that's what customers want and prefer. Somehow I doubt it...

The only thing that makes this place worth a visit is for the views. Next time I'd take a sandwich or visit the Shore Inn. Such a shame for such a pretty village.



  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Scotty_Trix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Hi there, thanks for the feedback on your stay at The Goil Inn, it is appreciated and helps us make improvements in planning ahead for the future.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food on offer; we generally receive good feedback for our meals, so will look into this.

We do hope that you return to The Goil Inn, and if there is anything which you would like to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact us at marketing@argyllholidays.com.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
6.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,184 reviews
6.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
505 reviews
7.7 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
435 reviews
18.8 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
0.4 mi away
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goil Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goil Inn

Address: Main Street, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland (Formerly Lochgoilhead Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgoilhead
Price Range: £60 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Goil Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Goil Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goil Inn Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing