We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very welcoming poor food and service”
Review of The Goil Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Goil Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Lochgoilhead B&B and Inns
Burnley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not very welcoming poor food and service”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were a party of 6 staying in the village for a wedding and wanted a bar snack but the first problem we encountered was the fact we had a ten year boy with us and was told sharply that we would have to sit in another room on our own and when we were served our poor fish and chips as the menu is limited we were given the bill and said we had to be out as it was nearly 9 I understand that there are laws about certain ages etc but the manner in which we were treated meant that the next day our party of 18 people took our business elsewhere and found we had much better service in the shore Loch inn

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Geraldine, thanks for your review of The Goil Inn. Unfortunately, due to licensing restrictions, we can't have 10 year olds sitting in the bar area. Sorry that you felt your food was poor though, and you felt the service wasn't upto a high standard - could you please email us marketing@argylholidays.com and we can investigate? Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    39
    28
    15
    10
See reviews for
40
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for two nights en route to Mull. The Inn has a perfect setting at the head of Loch Goil, accessed by an interestingly twisty drive off the main road! Nothing fancy but good, honest accommodation with very friendly staff. There was a music evening while we were there which was well attended but a slight drawback was the noise outside afterwards, although we were told that people were asked to disperse by 1.30am.

A bonus, from our point of view, was that they accepted dogs - which isn't always easy.

Would go again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndare279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi there, thanks for your review of The Goil Inn. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and do hope you return. Sorry to hear about the noise outside after, we will investigate. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stopped here for lunch one day and it was lovely! Standard pub grub available but lovely. We enjoyed sitting outside in the wee beer garden area enjoying the views, food and drink.

Lovely inside as well, pool table gave us a few hours of fun.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeyin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi there, thanks for your review of The Goil Inn. Glad you had a nice lunch and that the weather was on your side. We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very clean and efficient pub/hotel/bar with a restaurant separate from the tv area. We were there for lunch and the menu was fairly simple but sufficient. I decided to try a starter simply because it was potato wedges in a chili sauce. The food was lovely, everything was well cooked but it was like a main meal and only for £4. Great value for money. In addition thee view down loch boil is special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Michael, thanks for taking the time to write a review about The Goil Inn, glad you enjoyed the food and the views from our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Called in for lunch with my partner found it was a standard menu that could be found anywhere the food was ok but nothing to write home about
Shame as the view were wonderful
Also had no real ales on offer
Real shame !!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Monkyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi there, thanks for your review of The Goil Inn.. We are disappointed you feel like this as we try to offer a good range of options, and use local produce, which most of our guests compliment. We are currently investigating the idea of introducing local ales. We do hope you give us a second chance and return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary with friends on 22nd February 2014 in the Goil.
The staff could not have been more helpful and the food was appreciated by everyone. We didn't all manage to finsih the massive portions but every mouthful was delicious
When the sun shines, as it does regularly, the views down the lock and to the mountains from the bar and dining room are magnificent. It even impressive on a wet day

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claymoreruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi there, thanks for your review of The Goil Inn! We're delighted that you enjoyed it, and that it exceeded expectations. Hope your friend had a great anniversary, and we'll try our best to get the sun to make an appearance when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I was lucky enough to visit the hotel during one of their life entertainment nights, my friends and I were made to feel very welcome by Karen and her team, and even encouraged to have a little dance. A good selection of beers and wines at a competitive price, in a clean and well furnished surrounding. Top place, excited to visit again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lennyboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hi there, thanks for your review of The Goil Inn. Sounds like you had a fab time, and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
6.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
7.7 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
0.1 mi away
The Shore House
The Shore House
#1 of 2 in Lochgoilhead
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goil Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goil Inn

Property: The Goil Inn
Address: Main Street, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland (Formerly Lochgoilhead Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgoilhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Goil Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Goil Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goil Inn Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing