We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Goil Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardgartan Hotel(Arrochar)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Claymore Hotel(Arrochar)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Arrochar Hotel(Arrochar)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loch Long Hotel(Arrochar)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
38
46
30
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
46
30
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaggis lasagnepriced menujohn smithsfantastic views over the lochthursday eveninglovely lunchsit outsidethe publoch goilheadshower roomfood was lovelymain coursewell worth a visitbeautiful locationleisure facilitiespintgrub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Visited this pub while walking through lochgoilhead, plenty of seating throughout the pub & marvellous views across the bay, cannot fault the setting & area, did not eat in the pub but the menu looked ok, would visit again on our travels

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Colincfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hi Colin, thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed The Goil Inn. We do hope you return, and try some of our food the next time as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were a party of 6 staying in the village for a wedding and wanted a bar snack but the first problem we encountered was the fact we had a ten year boy with us and was told sharply that we would have to sit in another room on our own and when we were served our poor fish and chips as the menu is limited we were given the bill and said we had to be out as it was nearly 9 I understand that there are laws about certain ages etc but the manner in which we were treated meant that the next day our party of 18 people took our business elsewhere and found we had much better service in the shore Loch inn

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hi Geraldine, thanks for your review of The Goil Inn. Unfortunately, due to licensing restrictions, we can't have 10 year olds sitting in the bar area. Sorry that you felt your food was poor though, and you felt the service wasn't upto a high standard - could you please email us marketing@argylholidays.com and we can investigate? Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for two nights en route to Mull. The Inn has a perfect setting at the head of Loch Goil, accessed by an interestingly twisty drive off the main road! Nothing fancy but good, honest accommodation with very friendly staff. There was a music evening while we were there which was well attended but a slight drawback was the noise outside afterwards, although we were told that people were asked to disperse by 1.30am.

A bonus, from our point of view, was that they accepted dogs - which isn't always easy.

Would go again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndare279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hi there, thanks for your review of The Goil Inn. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and do hope you return. Sorry to hear about the noise outside after, we will investigate. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stopped here for lunch one day and it was lovely! Standard pub grub available but lovely. We enjoyed sitting outside in the wee beer garden area enjoying the views, food and drink.

Lovely inside as well, pool table gave us a few hours of fun.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank weeyin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hi there, thanks for your review of The Goil Inn. Glad you had a nice lunch and that the weather was on your side. We do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very clean and efficient pub/hotel/bar with a restaurant separate from the tv area. We were there for lunch and the menu was fairly simple but sufficient. I decided to try a starter simply because it was potato wedges in a chili sauce. The food was lovely, everything was well cooked but it was like a main meal and only for £4. Great value for money. In addition thee view down loch boil is special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hi Michael, thanks for taking the time to write a review about The Goil Inn, glad you enjoyed the food and the views from our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews