We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed. ”

The Goil Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed. ”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We showed up at 14.00 for a meal. We saw they stopped serving at 14.30 on the board outside.
We ordered some drinks which we were served and told food was still on so we took the menus and after 5 mins of looking went back to order to be told no more food kitchens closed.
It was only 14.15 so very disappointed.
If we'd have been told we wouldn't have bought drinks and moved on.
A shame. The place looks nice and has great views.
But if it says 14.30 is cut off time then should serve till then.
Oh well.

Helpful?
2 Thank Unionjack3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    33
    14
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
285 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great place to stop, a surprise”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Had a drive round the area on our holidays and decided to call here on a wet march evening. Went in for a drink originally but sitting in front of the log fire, we decided to eat. The menu was decent in choice, had a typical pub menu but the food was excellent. Very tasty, great portion sizes and great value for money. The services was excellent from the two barmen who did a great job and were so friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lunch”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

nice menu.good service. child friendly. good views overlooking loch. lovely cullen skink. pig of a place to get too. single track roads but worth the effort.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank karenpaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Much better than expected!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Visited here on two occasions during Feb half term 2014. On both occasions though the place looked closed on the outside, on the inside we were welcomed with a roaring fire and friendly staff. The decor is clearly new and refurbished. The food was good pub grub. I had two traditional Scottish dishes and my wife and children had two different dishes each as well. So, from our 8 meals I can say the food was well prepared, generously portioned, and served promptly in every case. Value for money was good. Great views from the windows and a reasonable selection of drinks. The only downside I found was the lack of family tables? Due to 'Licensing laws' childeren were only allowed on one side of the pub. Don't let this put you off, but, do either pre book or check before dragging your whole clan in there! I have to say I can't see where previous reviewers formed their opinions, certainly wasn't my experience of the inn.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Needs some friendly service”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Popped in for lunch on the off-chance. Disappointed at the lack of friendly welcome from the person who I believe to be the owner. Felt like he was doing me a favour by letting us be there. Food was average quality, average price. This used to be a great place to visit so disappointed that it is no longer welcoming.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ewenmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Goil Inn Restaurant also viewed

Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Loch Eck, Cowal Peninsula
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Goil Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing