We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, nice food”

The Goil Inn Restaurant
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great service, nice food”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My Husband, Daughter and I enjoyed dining at this pub so much we went on two consecutive nights. Our Waiter was from New Zealand and was lovely.Nothing was too much trouble and all Staff were very attentive. Even though this establishment is owned by the same owners of the Rob Roy Restaurant at nearby Drimsynie, our overall experience could not have been more different. I suggest that the owners of Drimsynie (Rob Roy Restaurant) send their Staff for more training to the Goil Inn. The Staff there seem to actually care about Customer satisfaction.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank butleda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi there, thanks for your review of The Goil. We're delighted that you enjoyed dining with us, and will pass on your comments about the nearby Rob Roy Bar & Grill. We do hope to see you return again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    33
    15
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Long Wait”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had a great week at Lochgoilhead, we thought we would go out for our last night, bad mistake. We went to the Goil there was 5 Adults, 3 Children, ages 3,7,9. Waited ages to get served a drink, then to take food order. We asked for the 3yrs old food to come with starters, we waited far far too long for our food, when it did come no food for our youngest member. We had to ask again for it.
Food is just average, nothing great to write home about. Service is terrible. Won't be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandurah27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi there, thanks for your review. Sorry to hear about the slow service; though we aim to provide a fast, efficient service to our customers, sometimes the restaurant gets busier than expected and you may have to wait a little bit longer for food. With regards to the food being average, it's a shame you felt this way - we'd like to investigate so please email us marketing@argyllholidays.com and we'll look into it. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food worth a visit”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Staying nearby we decided the place was quite inviting for an evening meal. Maybe have to work on initial welcoming, which is after all the lasting first impression. Thereafter service was excellent, good value and a varied menu from the plain eater to someone who loves to try new dishes. Even with a tense Brazil match on, the service was still very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi there, thanks for your review, Delighted that you enjoyed the food and that our service impressed you. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“best in the area for food”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We ate at the Goil Inn twice during a recent stay at Drimsynie Hotel and enjoyed the food. Good menu and friendly service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PzRKirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi there, firstly thanks for dining with us, and taking the time to write a review. Its great to hear that you enjoyed it and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

On Saturday 31st May took a walk with my family from Drimsynie Holiday Village round to the Goil Inn. I had pre booked a table for 6pm and as we arrived a bit early and it was a beautiful evening sat outside with a drink. Met some lovely people who were all sitting outside enjoying the sunshine. My family all enjoyed their meals and had no complaints and service was good. Haggis neaps and tatties were amazing!!! As it is a small extablishment I would suggest you pre book especially if you have children. Great value for money. Although staff were busy they were corteous and pleasant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at The Goil Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi there, thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed the experience, and that the weather was on your side. We do hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Goil Inn Restaurant also viewed

Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Loch Eck, Cowal Peninsula
 
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Goil Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing