We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angela R
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Have just had yet another excellent stay at Hightrees (Third time) Attended with my family for a long weekend. What can I say, it is like a home away from home, everything you need from all the mod cons such as SKY TV and free Broadband which comes in very handy when you have children who like to play X-Box. Excellent views from sitting room window. Also good if you have a pet as they are welcome also.

The house is very spacious and comfortable enough to sleep 8 people.

Hightrees is situated in a beautiful location and the house is perfect as a base. There is plenty to do even in bad weather, the Drimsynie Estate leisure centre is only a 5 minute walk and has a great swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room. It is very well priced and depending on when you go you can stay in as long as you want. There is plenty to do for young children, like soft play, arcades, pool and badminton. If you are a keen golfer there is also a golf course on the Estate. The place is an ideal location for hiking, fishing and for quiet picturesque views.

If you are looking to eat out there are a few restaurants within walking distance. You can eat out at the Drimsynie Estate or cross over the footbridge to The Shore Inn.

Definitely will recommend this to other friends and will definately be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alandival...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have traveled from Australia for a 4 week family holiday, we have stayed in various accommodation in England Wales and this was going to be our base in Scotland for 5 nights.

We arrived, opened the door and the strong musty smell was the first thing we noticed.

We opened the windows and then went into town to have diner and hoped that the smell or should I say stench would be gone but however when we returned it was as strong as ever, it was a damp musty smell that was so strong

Apparently we should have called the house keeper but we had already made up our mind that we would vacate the next morning and so set about finding other accommodation. We checked out the very next morning after a very bad nights rest because the smell was horrid. We contacted the caretaker and told them we had checked out and wanted some kind of refund and was told basically hard luck as we handgun followed protocol. This is true and so our mistake although the biggest mistake was booking this place in the first place.

If you are looking for a relaxing clean and comfortable holiday or break in Scotland find alternative accommodation.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
As the owners of Hightrees we regret that you did not enjoy your stay.

We offer our holiday home in good faith for people to come and enjoy this beautiful area, and arguably the best range of leisure facilities in Argyll. You arrived during a week of sunny autumn weather. Everything should have been perfect for a great visit. In reality, what happened is, you never gave us, the home or the area a chance. You missed out on a great stay.

In all the years we have been letting out Hightrees your actions are unprecedented. Never has a guest packed up and left in the way you did.

Your confirmation has the telephone contact for the housekeeper as well as our local agent. The housekeepers number is displayed in the holiday home. You are invited to contact them at anytime should you have any questions or concerns. What happened is you emailed our agent at 8.51pm the night after you arrived wanting all your money back and they replied at 8.56pm asking why you never contacted anyone during your very short stay. You have still not answered that.

An investigation was made the following morning regarding the “damp musty smell”. Four people attended (the housekeeper, the Property Manager, a local decorator and an independent person identified by the Property Manager) and while there was a house odour on entry in no way was it considered to be offensive. The housekeeper and local agent were in the house 2 days before you arrived. Had there been anything not right then they would have alerted us. Considering they are the people who would have been called out it makes no sense that they would ignore a problem.

What is missing from your post was the threat you made as follows: “I will be writing to trip advisor and I really hope it puts a lot of people off and then for us this will be money well spent”. Your follow up emails ranged from offering to withdraw your toxic threat review if you got some money back, to being downright offensive.

It would have been easier for us to give in to your threats about TripAdvisor, but on investigation we found your complaints were without foundation.

We have welcomed new guests since your stay and there have been no complaints.

The owners of Hightrees Holiday Home
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tam Fulto...
1 review
“Fantastic base to explore the West of Scotland.”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Hightrees is situated in a Beautiful location and the house is perfect as a base. There is plenty to do even in bad weather, the leisure centre is only a 5 minute walk, we were particularly unfortunate with the weather but managed to keep busy every day travelling around the West Coast.
Only one slight negative with the property as with previous reviews the
bedding could possibly do with a freshen up however having said that I would definitely recommend Hightrees and hope to return in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MN0303
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic holiday!”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I booked Hightrees Holiday Home for a short break with my family (there were 6 adults and 2 children in the party) and I can honestly say that it is the best short break we have ever had.

From the booking process, the directions to the property and how to obtain/return the keys for the property, everything was completely hassle free.

Due to the location of the property it is ideally situated if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing stay and being just at the Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village we only had a 5 minute walk to be able to use the Leisure Centre. The weather wasn't great during our stay, however we all had a great time and were never stuck for anything to do as we were able to use the facilities at Drimsynie Estate (which you can buy passes for from the Drimsynie Estate reception and are definitely worth buying) and played badminton, indoor bowls, table tennis, snooker etc. There was also a swimming pool and soft play area which were ideal for the children. Due to the time of year there were no queues for any of the activities which was great.

The accommodation itself was exactly as described on the website, which was a pleasant surprise as we have stayed at holiday lets previously which make claims on a website and do not fulfil them on arrival! We had an issue with the heating going off and I sent a text to the contact number that was provided should there be any problems. There was someone there to fix the heating so quickly that most of the party didn't realise that there had been an issue at all. Nothing seemed too much trouble.

I have to give a special mention to the Property Manager, Leonard as he was extremely helpful all through the booking process and during the stay and made sure that my family and I had a hassle free holiday.

We can't wait to return to Hightrees again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoni G
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“great, yet could be a better with few extras”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Altogether, we were very pleased with the place. The house comfortably suited 4 adults and 5 children including 1 baby. the location is suitable for many different day trips and the price was reasonable. In the kitchen we found everything needed for self catering and the house was clean upon our arrival.
I have three remarks that can upgrade this place:
1. add a washing machine- when traveling with young kids to a place like that, it is much needed.
2. change the mattresses- they are of very bad quality and my son could not even sleep on one of them. Ours was not much better...
3. make sure there is more light in the living room - no overhead light in the living room worked and it was difficult.

Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the mattresses
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are helpful. I just want to point out that there is a self service laundry nearby on the Estate. None of the holiday properties on the Estate include washing machines so Hightrees is not the exception. I will gladly pass your comments on to the owners for their information. Thank you also for pointing out what good value Hightrees is for a larger family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A property set in a lovely and peaceful location but unfortunately in need of a lot of T L C”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A spacious bungalow set in a wonderful location. Unfortunately both the exterior and interior are a bit tired and website photographs certainly do not reflect the present condition of the property. It was well enough equipped with an ample supply of cutlery crockery and glasses, the only item which I thought it lacked being a toaster ( difficult to grill breakfast and make toast in a grill simultaneously ) but at £100 per night we didn't expect that we would need to wash everything before we could use it.
On the plus side the property was warm and comfortable and, while close to amenities, was far enough away to avoid any disturbance.
Have paid considerably less for properties offering a lot more and in far better condition.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the peacefulness
Liked least: The cleanliness of the tableware
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;