We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal house next to idyllic scenery”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
9mimi9
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal house next to idyllic scenery”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This house was perfect for a group of friends who have never visited the highlands before. All the rooms were clean and spacious. Well-equipped kitchen for home cooking. Great neighbors.

Definitely recommend it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sharon T
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Perfect holiday let , clean , plenty of space (8plus baby plus dog). Fantastic scenery and quiet location very relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela R
2 reviews
“Short hop to a tranquil haven. ”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Although only an hour's drive from Glasgow, Lochgoilhead feels like you've journeyed much further north. Winding your way down from the Rest and Be Thankful the village is a real discovery as the road opens up to reveal a beautiful bay and big skies. Hightrees is ideally situated to take advantage of everything the village has to offer. It is a spacious, well-equipped home from home in a stunning location with uninterrupted views over the bay. It easily accommodates a large family group. A pleasant stroll along the beach takes you to a very nice local bar/restaurant and if the weather closes in, you can use the swimming pool and other facilities on the Drimsynie Estate. Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela R
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Have just had yet another excellent stay at Hightrees (Third time) Attended with my family for a long weekend. What can I say, it is like a home away from home, everything you need from all the mod cons such as SKY TV and free Broadband which comes in very handy when you have children who like to play X-Box. Excellent views from sitting room window. Also good if you have a pet as they are welcome also.

The house is very spacious and comfortable enough to sleep 8 people.

Hightrees is situated in a beautiful location and the house is perfect as a base. There is plenty to do even in bad weather, the Drimsynie Estate leisure centre is only a 5 minute walk and has a great swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room. It is very well priced and depending on when you go you can stay in as long as you want. There is plenty to do for young children, like soft play, arcades, pool and badminton. If you are a keen golfer there is also a golf course on the Estate. The place is an ideal location for hiking, fishing and for quiet picturesque views.

If you are looking to eat out there are a few restaurants within walking distance. You can eat out at the Drimsynie Estate or cross over the footbridge to The Shore Inn.

Definitely will recommend this to other friends and will definately be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alandival...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have traveled from Australia for a 4 week family holiday, we have stayed in various accommodation in England Wales and this was going to be our base in Scotland for 5 nights.

We arrived, opened the door and the strong musty smell was the first thing we noticed.

We opened the windows and then went into town to have diner and hoped that the smell or should I say stench would be gone but however when we returned it was as strong as ever, it was a damp musty smell that was so strong

Apparently we should have called the house keeper but we had already made up our mind that we would vacate the next morning and so set about finding other accommodation. We checked out the very next morning after a very bad nights rest because the smell was horrid. We contacted the caretaker and told them we had checked out and wanted some kind of refund and was told basically hard luck as we handgun followed protocol. This is true and so our mistake although the biggest mistake was booking this place in the first place.

If you are looking for a relaxing clean and comfortable holiday or break in Scotland find alternative accommodation.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
As the owners of Hightrees we regret that you did not enjoy your stay.

We offer our holiday home in good faith for people to come and enjoy this beautiful area, and arguably the best range of leisure facilities in Argyll. You arrived during a week of sunny autumn weather. Everything should have been perfect for a great visit. In reality, what happened is, you never gave us, the home or the area a chance. You missed out on a great stay.

In all the years we have been letting out Hightrees your actions are unprecedented. Never has a guest packed up and left in the way you did.

Your confirmation has the telephone contact for the housekeeper as well as our local agent. The housekeepers number is displayed in the holiday home. You are invited to contact them at anytime should you have any questions or concerns. What happened is you emailed our agent at 8.51pm the night after you arrived wanting all your money back and they replied at 8.56pm asking why you never contacted anyone during your very short stay. You have still not answered that.

An investigation was made the following morning regarding the “damp musty smell”. Four people attended (the housekeeper, the Property Manager, a local decorator and an independent person identified by the Property Manager) and while there was a house odour on entry in no way was it considered to be offensive. The housekeeper and local agent were in the house 2 days before you arrived. Had there been anything not right then they would have alerted us. Considering they are the people who would have been called out it makes no sense that they would ignore a problem.

What is missing from your post was the threat you made as follows: “I will be writing to trip advisor and I really hope it puts a lot of people off and then for us this will be money well spent”. Your follow up emails ranged from offering to withdraw your toxic threat review if you got some money back, to being downright offensive.

It would have been easier for us to give in to your threats about TripAdvisor, but on investigation we found your complaints were without foundation.

We have welcomed new guests since your stay and there have been no complaints.

The owners of Hightrees Holiday Home
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tam Fulto...
1 review
“Fantastic base to explore the West of Scotland.”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Hightrees is situated in a Beautiful location and the house is perfect as a base. There is plenty to do even in bad weather, the leisure centre is only a 5 minute walk, we were particularly unfortunate with the weather but managed to keep busy every day travelling around the West Coast.
Only one slight negative with the property as with previous reviews the
bedding could possibly do with a freshen up however having said that I would definitely recommend Hightrees and hope to return in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;