We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
JMcGrady
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Westering Cottage is situated right on the waterfront in a lovely location of Lochgoilhead.
The cottage has everything you need to make it a home from home. We had a lovely stay, despite the horrendous weather. It's lovely to spend some family time and just enjoy the scenery here. And there's plenty to do in and around Lochgoilhead.
Leonard was very helpful and flexible upon booking and provided any information requested.
A lovely stay...recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan D
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The View Goes on Forever!”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I just finished a week at Westering Cottage. Although we aren't people who sit around for long, we found ourselves just staring out the window at the view for long periods of time, watching the gannets, the gray herons, the grey seals, the boats, and the clouds and sunlight changing the look of the mountains across the loch. I wish I was an artist! Photographs just can't do justice to the view. We brought an inflatable kayak with us and enjoyed travelling up and down the loch. We didn't see one other house or cottage that had the viewscape that Westering has! On our first evening we enjoyed glasses of wine out on the patio, and had dinner out there a couple of times. The gardens were overflowing with flowers. The kitchen is very well equipped (with the exception of a coffee press). It has everything one needs to make a great meal. On cloudy days we ate at the kitchen counter so we could stare out at the view some more. The furnishings are perfectly comfortable; the couches are great for a nap in the sunlight that streams in the windows. They are solid and don't sag. The beds are firm and the linens were fresh. We found that it was easy to heat the cottage by closing the living room and kitchen doors and turning on the electric fireplace. The electric fireplace is a bit of a relic, but it works great. The bedroom was easy to heat with the larger portable heater. We were always warm when we needed to be. The rooms are a little musty, but the owner was in the process of addressing that while we were there. It helps to open the bathroom window to let out the steam after a shower. There is a washer, but no dryer; but there is a large drying rack. Westering makes a great base for visiting other places in Argyll. Be sure to stop at Loch Fine Oyster Bar and take advantage of their deli with wonderful fresh bread, meat, fish, etc! Leonard Gow has put together a wonderful visitor's guide that guests should look through. We found a wonderful restaurant in Arrochar where we had lunch outside on Long Loch (The Village Inn); we only knew about it because of his guide. Leonard was very helpful with all of our arrangements.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and location
Liked least: It needed an airing out.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion M
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I booked this cottage for some friends recently. I think the view from the lounge is the best I have ever seen - it is simply breath taking to the extent that you could sit and stare at it for hours. The fittings of the cottage are not completely up to date, but there is nothing actually wrong with them and it is very warm and comfortable.

Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traceyoz
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“let down”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend at this cottage . first of all the location is stunning and from the outside the place looks lovely but as soon as we entered we were hit with the strong smell of damp and plug in air freshener that is trying to mask the smell. The home itself is very run down and dirty and in need of an upgrade all the furniture is from the late 60s and falling apart. The only good thing about this house was the view and also this is not a COTTAGE it is a rather large portacabin which is extremely cold only 3 plug in heaters to heat the whole place . We were very disappointed with this place as the photos looked nice but to be honest I would not recommend this place we came home with all our belongings smelling of dampness.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the whole place
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2015
Ouch - that hurts... I respect your right to post a review and thank you for being fair and pointing out the thing you liked about Westering: the great location. A bit harsh calling it a portacabin especially when you can see the building from the exterior pictures in the gallery. The lounge area has so much window space, designed to take in the view, that granted it can be cold in the morning until the light hits that room - that is why there are heaters. The furniture is to the owners taste. Again, all in the pictures. Regards: Leonard Gow, Lochgoilhead Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyargy...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magical location - Wonderful Accomodation”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife could not believe that I found this place at short notice and it proved to be a great choice for maximum stress relief.

The views are spectacular and can be viewed from the kitchen which has a large servery to the lounge. Very well equipped and we were very lucky with the day time weather.

Lots of comings and goings in the Loch, boats of all types and sizes, sea birds abound with the Gannets taking pride of place with there effortless soaring and spectacular diving into the water.

All the locals were incredibly friendly and helpful, Lochgoilhead has a real community feel which has been lost in so many places.

Leonard could not have been more helpful, thank you again.

If you have time do visit St Conan's Kirk at the head of Loch Awe it is simply beautiful and a stunning piece of architecture. A plus is that the friends of St Conan's have converted the Kirk cottage into a very nice tearoom. Here is a link www.stconanskirk.org.uk/

Thank you Argylle and Lochgoilhead

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peacefulness, so relaxing
Liked least: Taking the wrong route on the way there (my fault)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy D
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning cottage with breathtaking views”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at this cottage for a week and were blown away with the stunning views, it was like home from home, very comfortable, great for the dog and within a stones throw from the beach, would highly recommend this cottage and we will definitely return next year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren F
1 review
“Excellent position but overall an average property”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just back from a 3 day trip and i have to say we were was a little dissapointed with the property, although the views are stunning the property could do with upgrading, the lounge and kitchen are of a good standard but the bedrooms,bathrooms and garden areas are tired looking and are just about ok. This is our 3rd trip to the loch and at £90 per night there are other properties available which offer better value for money. Having said that it is still a nice place but in its current state i would say it is more suited as a base for a short stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions online. I would say your comments are fair. The pictures in the online gallery of the bedrooms, bathroom etc are an accurate representation of the property so guests know what to expect when they arrive. Westering has one of the best locations in the village. It's private garden setting right by the loch but just steps into the village are factored into the price. I will certainly pass your comments on to the owner. Regards: Leonard at Lochgoilhead Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing