We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect weekend”
Review of The Shore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shore House
Ranked #1 of 2 Lochgoilhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Shore House Inn for three nights and were absolutely delighted. The whole weekend was perfect. The setting is absolutely beautiful, with fabulous views over Loch Goil.. We stayed in room one, a lovely spacious room with loch views. It is very tranquil here, so if you want peace and quiet, you won't be disappointed. The owner Gillian was so welcoming and couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable. The staff are very friendly and always had a smile. And the food was lovely. We ate in the restaurant every night and were spoilt for choice with the menu. We thoroughly recommend their steak and Guinness pie! We hired a cruiser on the loch and found the nearby seal colony, which was amazing. We counted 11 gorgeous seals sitting on the rocks. One even put on a show for us, swimming and diving in and out of the loch. All in all, an absolutely wonderful, extremely peaceful weekend. A big thank you to Gillian and her team!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlitchfield72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you so much for your really lovely review of the Shore House. It was a pleasure having the two of you stay with us and I am delighted you found it so relaxing and enjoyable. Glad the seals put on a show for you! We look forward to welcoming you back one day. Gillian Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for The Shore House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Started our visit well by letting us in early to change for a function but the overall stay was average at best with a feeling of a basic service.Plastic disposable cups in the bathroom never create a very good impression and neither do small"bath"towels.Breakfast was confined to a 45 minute slot(8.30 to 9.15)which certainly smacked of the convenience of staff rather than customers.
Breakfast itself consisted of the usual boxed cereal choice, one choice of fruit(grapefruit which most of us could not take due to it being a food that cannot be taken with commonly taken medication)and one choice of fruit juice.The cooked portion of the breakfast had a number of choices and was ok as were the tea,coffee and toast. .Rooms were clean and functional but overall experience was lacking and not worth the rate charged clean

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLANSMEN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to review the Shore House Inn and for making us your very first review on TripAdvisor. I am glad you acknowledged the fact that we managed to make your rooms available 3 hours earlier than our normal check in time despite the fact they were occupied the previous night. We will always do our best to give guests early access or at least drop off their luggage if they are attending a wedding or other function. The Shore House is a small family run 3 star inn with the restaurant being our main business, hence the breakfast time being 8.30 - 9.15am (earlier by request). If guests come down for breakfast at 9.15 this allows time for a freshly cooked full breakfast to be prepared before the chefs arrive at 9.45 to start preparing for the day's restaurant service. Guests are not under any pressure to leave the dining room and can sit and linger and enjoy more coffee, tea and toast and our stunning view after their cooked breakfast. I do wish someone in your party had mentioned the problem with grapefruit as I could have offered prunes instead. Hopefully the selection of fruit yogurts you enjoyed were a satisfactory addition. The plastic glasses in the bedrooms are disposable, individually wrapped and single use (and do not crack hand basins when accidently dropped - as has happened when we did use them). Bath sheets, as opposed to bath towels, would be a lovely touch of luxury but we are not a five star establishment like the amazing wedding venue you attended You must have been disappointed not to have been able to stay there. We appreciate your feedback and hope it helps other people comparing accommodation in the area. Gillian Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were here with a small group from N.Ireland on 2 nights - night 1 was in the bar/snug - very relaxed friendly/warm./welcoming (with Teddy the dog...) then Night 2 in the Restaurant - food excellent, ambience very good in a nice setting - but like everything in life its the PEOPLE that make the difference in any business and here is where the Shore House shines - lovely owners and waiting staff who genuinely 'engage' with the customer = success. Much, much better than some of the other local establishments. We'll be back ...(but only if Teddy plays ball ....(!) ...)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ironpoker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Well, thank you very much for your fabulous review - even Teddy is delighted you enjoyed the Shore House so much! Everyone in our little team does their best to ensure guests have a pleasant time here and we're really pleased you have happy memories of your evenings here. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're over. Gillian Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Visited this restaurant tonight, warm welcome, food choice was excellent, well presented and good value for money, views over loch Goil were second to none, watched the sun going down, would definitely recommend if staying near Lochgoilhead .

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for your great review of the Shore House. Very glad to hear you enjoyed everything and we look forward to welcoming you back. Gillian Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Visited the shore house on a few occasions when at our caravan. Food is lovely staff are very helpful and what a View.Also there pizzas are the best I've ever had and when we are not eating out we order a pizza to take away. Great place for all the family to have a meal as very fast service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted you rate our pizzas so highly. We really appreciate your regular custom and look forward to seeing you at the Shore House again soon. Gillian Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We sailed into Loch Goil last week and went ashore looking for food. After a recommendation from the lady to whom we paid the mooring fee we took the short walk from the jetty to the hotel. What a beautiful setting. We were too early for the evening meal so enjoy a drink and good chat with the landlord and booked a table for the evening. The meal was excellent and the dining room very pleasant with a view over the loch and our boat. A must try is the Orkney vanilla and honeycomb ice cream and prefect finish to a good, reasonably priced meal. Definately on our list for a return visit. Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Higgins05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you very much for your great review of the Shore House. We look out and see all those fabulous visiting boats (and wish we were sailing on one!) and are really pleased you came to the Shore House for you evening meal ashore. Must agree with your liking of the Orkney ice-cream - its very yummy and extremely popular. Hope you will set sail back to Lochgoilhead before long. Gillian Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Thank goodness for the Shore Inn. A privately owned restaurant serving good, honest food. No pretentious nonsense either.

My only disappointment was the lack of some seafood dishes as everywhere in this part of the world seems to favour Seabass, even at the holiday park we were staying at.

The views from the restaurant are fabulous and food a very reasonable price. Go, you really won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Scotty_Trix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Delighted to hear you enjoyed the Shore House so much. Sorry we only had seabass as a fish option when you were in - we have had mussels and crab most weekends and also had salmon two weeks ago. We will look at getting more fish on the menu more often. Hope you will return to lovely Lochgoilhead soon. Gillian Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
7.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,477 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
434 reviews
6.6 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,181 reviews
16.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore House

Address: Lochgoilhead | Argyll, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgoilhead
Price Range: £84 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Shore House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shore House loch-side guesthouse sits on the waters edge at the head of beautiful Loch Goil. Formerly an inn, the Shore House offers bed, breakfast and evening meals exclusively for residents only. There are four comfortable en-suite bedrooms, a residents bar and stunning loch-view lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Shore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore House Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing