We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant, very welcoming”
Review of The Shore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Shore House
Ranked #1 of 2 Lochgoilhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant, very welcoming”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at loch goil head in September and used this restaurant 3 times during our stay and the food was very good, this was the most welcoming restaurant we used during our stay in Scotland , been a same sex couple we don't often get this level of service in restaurants in Scotland. We will be back up again in February, can't wait to visit. I love pooched salmon but this wasn't on the menu so when I asked Gillian she got it in for are next visit Cajun spices salmon with new potatoes and veg it was wonderful thank you paul paul

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you so much Paul for your super review of the Shore House. It makes me very happy that we made you and your partner happy on your visits to our restaurant. We can't always meet customers requests for certain dishes but it's great if we can and I am delighted the salmon was such a hit! Hopefully you will come back to lovely Lochgoilhead and perhaps stay at the Shore House as well as dining with us. Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    61
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
71
114
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had a meal at the Shore Inn over the Christmas break and as one of the previous reviews states you are never disappointed , the food added to the setting is outstanding and Gillian and Mark are the perfect host's .
I had the Stornway black pudding starter with the sea bass in Cajun spices for my main course both of which are amazing ( compliments to the chef ).
We go to the Shore Inn every time we stay in Loch Goilhead and can't wait to return in March.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you very much for the great review! It was lovely to welcome you and your family back to the Shore House - can't believe that's another year gone by! We're delighted you enjoyed the food and Jim and JD thank you for your compliments. Look forward to seeing you later in the year. Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Visited The Shore Inn over the Christms period and it never disappoints. The food and settings are amazing.A great way to finish our holidays.
Only problem for us is that we only visit once a year and live 260 miles away(in Leigh) so we cant just pop in more regular.
By Far the best restaurant in the area and Gillian and Mark are always very pleasant to talk to

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much Colin for your great review of the Shore House. As ever, it was lovely to welcome you and your family back to our restaurant and we are delighted you all enjoyed your meal. You were lucky to get away back down south before the recent storms hit - no huge damage done but wow, what high tides! We hope to see you back at the Shore House soon, or maybe we will bump into you when we're visiting my sister in Culcheth near you home town, Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We ate at the shore whilst working in the area, very good food, nice wines and beers. And we went back, and back and back again. Best restaurant in the area by far. The lunchtime menu was good as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you very much Charles for your excellent review of the Shore House. It was a pleasure to have you and the team dining with us throughout the week. I do hope you will have chance to revisit, maybe not on business next time and with chance to relax a bit more! Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a lovely meal at the Shore House Inn , the food and service were first class and the location is out of this world, everyone is made so welcome which makes for a lovely evening out.
As locals we have tried the two other hotels in the village but neither is a patch on the Shore House and we will recommend the Shore House anytime.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tradboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review of the Shore House. It's great to hear how much you enjoy what we do here and we all really appreciate your support. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We enjoyed a lovely evening of food and drink at the Shore House earlier this week. We visit Lochgoilhead often and eating at the Shore House and speaking with Gillian and Mark is always the highlight of our visit. The menu continues to offer a wide range of culinary delights - there is always something for everyone and the "Special" board is amazing. We love the fresh, home produced food - so much on the plate leaves little space for the delicious sweet menu! Please pass on our compliments to Jim and the rest of the staff who make the visit so special. Nothing is too much bother at The Shore House - looking forward to our next visit. Thank you Gillian and Mark

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you so much Graham for your brilliant review! We really appreciate your regular custom and thank you very much for your great endorsement of our restaurant. Our chefs, Jim and JD, are delighted that you enjoy their food. We have now been here at the Shore House over 9 years and its very satisfying to have a returning guests give us great reviews. It's very important to us that our guests have a good time when they visit us. Look forward to seeing you again soon! Gillian and Mark Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Great views at head of loch Goil and fantastic Fyne Beer .service was very good and there knowledge of gluten free food was spot on helped by food being freshly prepared.Our butternut squash and coconut soup followed by vennison casserole was amazing .looking forward to coming back when we visit the area next year

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancasterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you very much for the fabulous review. I am very pleased we were able to help out with your special dietary requirements - our fabulous chefs Jim and JD are always very happy to discuss ingredients with guests and prepare dishes to suit. We are very lucky to have the Fyne Ale brewery just a few miles away. Their fabulous range of real ales is very popular. Hope you will be tempted back to the Shore House again before too long. Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
7.7 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
6.6 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
11.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
6.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore House

Property: The Shore House
Address: Lochgoilhead | Argyll, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgoilhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Shore House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shore House loch-side guesthouse sits on the waters edge at the head of beautiful Loch Goil. Formerly an inn, the Shore House offers bed, breakfast and evening meals exclusively for residents only. There are four comfortable en-suite bedrooms, a residents bar and stunning loch-view lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Shore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore House Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing