We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic scenery, great food”
Review of The Shore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shore House
Ranked #1 of 2 Lochgoilhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Enjoyed our dinner here, the location is superb and the food was good. It's only a short walk from the Drimsynie Holiday Estate where we stayed for the holiday. Our table was overlooking the loch and provides such a scenic backdrop.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwaysmel143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for The Shore House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have just been taken away for a surprise mystery weekend.....destination unknown.....I was absolutely delighted to find myself in this idyllic location on the shores of Loch Goil. On arrival, we were shown to our pristine,comfortable and very tastefully decorated room with a spectacular view of the loch. The owners, Gillian and Mark, are extremely welcoming and friendly, as are every one of their staff, ensuring that you get maximum enjoyment from your stay. On the Friday evening the locals had an acoustic/ folk session in the bar, which we were delighted to be invited to take part in (we usually have a guitar lurking in the car boot - just in case). We ate in the hotel restaurant on both evenings of our stay. The restaurant has a lovely relaxed atmosphere, and again, a stunning loch side view.The dinner menu was really varied and interesting, and the food , absolutely delicious....as was breakfast both mornings.If I could change anything about this hotel, it would be........absolutely nothing.You have it just right, Gillian and Mark....we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Rooms with loch views.....a must
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you so much Debbie for your brilliant review. It's fantastic to get such wonderful feedback. Mark and I certainly enjoyed the Friday night acoustic session too! You and Graeme gave a fabulous performance, and along with our other guests joining in with our regulars it was a great night. We look forward to welcoming you back as soon as possible. Gillian and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed one night on our Scottish road trip. This B & B is certainly off the beaten track, but the area is tranquil and peaceful once you get there, and the views from the restaurant are superb out to the bay. Had a side seaview room which was fine, but if you could manage a main seaview room I am sure this would be even better. The owners Mark & Gilly are just warm and hospitable and it would be hard not to go back. I did not have a good dinner experience on this occasion although shared a few slices of pizza, which was excellent, and (although not an extensive list) the wines were good and reasonable. It was a Friday night and unbeknown to us it was the night for a Session of Musicians just popping in with their guitars and doing their thing, this made the evening a great success overall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fair_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Many thanks for your very good review of the Shore House. I am glad you chose to stay with us as part of your Scottish tour - hope you managed to enjoy some of our recommendations on Skye on the next leg of your journey. We are sorry your main course was not up to our usual high standard but thank you very much for letting me know at the time and thus enabling me to amend your bill. A big thank you also for your husband's fabulous guitar playing and singing. It was a great pleasure having you stay and I hope you will come back soon. Gillian and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Like I promise when I got back to north wales I would write my review
1. The hosts are warm and welcoming and charming to talk to making you feel at ease the moment you walk through the door
2. The food is excellent and plentiful the chicken stuffed with haggis is to die for as is the steak and Guinness pie
jim is wonderful can we have him here in north wales pls !!!! Oh the oat cakes
I can't wait to come back and see u guys again I really enjoyed myself Oh I will bring you some welsh whiskey on my next visit
Steve , jo, and blue

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Monkyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Well, to use your word, Wow, what a super review! Thank you so much for giving us such great feedback, but no, you can't take Jim to Wales! It was a pleasure to meet you and welcome you to the Shore House during your week's stay. We look forward to sampling the Welsh whisky next time you're here. Best wishes, Gillian and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I was staying in the caravan park for the weekend with a group of girl friends, we ate out in The Shore House Inn on both the Saturday and Sunday night. Thoroughly enjoyed both meals, the food was delicious, beautifully presented and plentiful!

I had the most amazing starter, black pudding with goat’s cheese, it was divine. For my main I had fillet steak, again delicious and perfectly cooked. On the Sunday night I had a pizza which was very tasty (and huge) we all enjoyed our meals and had no complaints at all.

The staff were lovely, attentive but not overly so, ambiance great and stunning views out over the loch.

Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cutecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

That's a great review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion of the Shore House. We, and our super chefs Jim and JD, are delighted you enjoyed your meals so much. The Stornoway black pudding and goats cheese starter is one of our most popular dishes - it's a flavour combination that really seems to work. I am glad you and your friends enjoyed your visit and I do hope you will come back soon. Gillian Curtis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Our group of 5 had a fantastic meal on Saturday night. The food was great and the service and atmosphere were just right. The quality of the food was really high and very good value. It was so good we went back on Sunday for another great meal.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you Louise for your very lovely review of your meals at the Shore House. It was great to welcome you back so soon! I am so pleased you and your friends enjoyed your evenings with us and hope you will come back to lovely Lochgoilhead in the very near future.. Gillian Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

had a very enjoyable week-end stay at the shore house in march.if fortunate enough to be in room 1 or 2 you will enjoy a fab view out over the loch.had dinner in the hotel on the friday night and it was top notch.the service between the owners, the waitress and chef was second to none.my two stepdaughters and partners joined us on the saturday night and we all thought the shore house was a very comfortable and enjoyable place to stay.we will certainly be back.mark and gillian just keep doing what your doing.

Room Tip: rooms 1 and 2 are the pick of the 4 because of the views
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clajo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you very much for your super review. We all really appreciate your lovely comments and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope it's not too long before we see you again. Best wishes, Gillian and Mark Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
7.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,476 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
434 reviews
6.6 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,177 reviews
16.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore House

Address: Lochgoilhead | Argyll, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgoilhead
Price Range: £84 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Shore House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shore House loch-side guesthouse sits on the waters edge at the head of beautiful Loch Goil. Formerly an inn, the Shore House offers bed, breakfast and evening meals exclusively for residents only. There are four comfortable en-suite bedrooms, a residents bar and stunning loch-view lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Shore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore House Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing