We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pizza and the best local beer”
Review of The Shore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shore House
Ranked #1 of 2 Lochgoilhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Linlithgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza and the best local beer”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We've been here a few times over the years most recent visited with the family during a recent short break in Lochgoilhead. The restaurant features a big stone pizza oven so I tend to go straight for that option and its certainly extremely well done. Some of the rest of the party went for other things on the menu and were equally impressed. The bar stocks Fyne Ales on draft, one of the best brewers in Scotland. Excellent pizza and some of the very best local beer - awesome combination. Oh and the kids liked the ice-cream.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much Douglas for the fab review of the Shore House. Apparently we have one of only six commercial wood fired pizza ovens in Scotland - and it certainly is a popular feature in our restaurant. Glad to hear you approve of the pizzas, Fyne Ales and Orkney ice cream. Hope you come back soon! Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    62
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
72
114
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

While on a short break staying at the Drimsynie Estate last year we had a meal on two nights at The Shore House Inn and it easily one of the best places I’ve ever been for a meal. Everything is just perfect, the service is excellent, the restaurant has the most stunning view over Loch Goil, the food is remarkable and it has a wonderful cosy bar with a good selection of real ales from the local Loch Fyne brewery. Hopefully I’ll be going back to Lochgoilhead next year and I’ll be having every evening meal at The Shore House Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
That's a fabulous review - thank you very much indeed. I'm delighted you and your family enjoyed the Shore House. We are lucky to have the brilliant Fyne Ales brewery nearby and always keep a good stock of their superb craft beer. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit lovely Lochgoilhead. Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Just had a wonderful meal here with excellent service and wonderful atmosphere. Staying at the Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village and this place is not mentioned anywhere. That is a shame as this is truly a hidden gem and not be missed.

We will definitely be back again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ColinAndLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you very much Colin and Lesley for your lovely review. So glad you discovered the Shore House - it seems quite a few people who stay at Drimsynie know we are here unless they come over to the village. Hope you come back soon. Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Yet again had another superb meal here. From our starters to our puddings we could not fault a thing absolutely delicious !! Gillian the owner is a first class host who looks after your needs :-) Highly recommend eating here if your in the area I'm sure you won't be disappointed !!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hutchmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Great to have you back at the Shore House! Thank you so much for your super review and your fab photos. Thanks to you and the other lovely reviewers we have just been awarded our 2014 Tripadvisor certificate of excellence. We are so lucky to have a great little team here, especially Jim and JD our hardworking chefs and we all appreciate the positive feedback and returning customers. Hope it's not too long before you come and see us again. Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here only for 1 night and very comfortable & clean. There was only the twin room left which didn't have the loch view but very quiet & it did not spoil our enjoyment. Dinner was excellent but perhaps service was too good as it would have been nice to have a little longer between each course. Staff very friendly & welcoming too. Beautiful setting for any diner. Crab pate followed by seabass yum yum. Bonus to have some locals in the bar after having a sing song with their guitars added to the overall ambience. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you so much for your fabulous review of the Shore House. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was great it happened to be a Friday when we usually have Barry and his friends enjoying their 'open mic' acoustic session in the bar. I do hope you will return and bring your Mum again, but please don't hesitate to let us know if you want a little longer between courses for your meal. Our chefs Jim and JD are brilliantly efficient and don't like to keep people waiting but would be happy to slow things down if you wish. We look forward to welcoming you back before too long. Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Enjoyed our dinner here, the location is superb and the food was good. It's only a short walk from the Drimsynie Holiday Estate where we stayed for the holiday. Our table was overlooking the loch and provides such a scenic backdrop.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacificlight28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of the Shore House. Glad you enjoyed our beautiful setting in lovely Lochgoilhead. Hope you and your friends will return soon. Gillian Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Enjoyed our dinner here, the location is superb and the food was good. It's only a short walk from the Drimsynie Holiday Estate where we stayed for the holiday. Our table was overlooking the loch and provides such a scenic backdrop.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysmel143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
7.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,404 reviews
6.6 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
439 reviews
6.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
11.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
15.5 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore House

Property: The Shore House
Address: Lochgoilhead | Argyll, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgoilhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Shore House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shore House loch-side guesthouse sits on the waters edge at the head of beautiful Loch Goil. Formerly an inn, the Shore House offers bed, breakfast and evening meals exclusively for residents only. There are four comfortable en-suite bedrooms, a residents bar and stunning loch-view lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Shore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore House Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing