We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Pizzas”
Review of The Shore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shore House
Ranked #1 of 2 Lochgoilhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We went over tea time and I had a king prawn pizza which was very nice. My only criticism was that the pizza was not as described on the menu in that it stated red chillis which I love but in fact it arrived with jalapeños from a jar which were not great. It wouldn't have been quite so bad if if I'd been informed prior to it arriving then I could have asked for them to be left off.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank DawnWaltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you Dawn for your great review of our pizzas. So sorry you got jalapeños instead of red chillis! Sometimes we run out of ingredients and have to substitute something else but we should have informed you so apologies for that. Hope you will re-visit for another Shore House pizza and we will do our best to make it perfect for you. Gillian Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We love to eat here and when knowing we were gonna be staying at the drimsynie hotel I had to e-mail Gillian and book a table. As usual a quick response from Gillian and my usual table was booked. Had a drink in the bar and a good chat with Mark before dinner. Yet again we were looked after brilliantly and food was scrumptious as it always is. Thanks again Gillian, see you's again some time soon hopefully :-)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hutchmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Great to welcome you back to the Shore House again! It really is a pleasure when returning customers become friends and you are certainly very welcome return guests. We look forward to seeing again soon! Gillian Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Having read the tripadvisor reviews for the Shore House Inn I had the impression that this was a great wee place and was disappointed to discover that it was fully booked on the night we wished to stay. However, on our travels we decided to pop in just to see what we were missing and discovered that we'd had a lucky escape!

There is no doubt that Lochgoilhead is incredibly scenic however it has been blighted by the ugly Drimsyne caravan park. The views of loch Goil from outside the Shore House Inn are beautiful, and I dare it would be lovely to sit outside with a drink on a sunny day. However on dreich day the inside left a lot to be desired. The dining room is more like a large cafeteria albeit with nice views and the bar has no windows at all apart from one skylight. The barman was less than welcoming or helpful, when we asked if they were serving food, we got a monsyllabic 'no', then 'try Drymsynie' and no indication as to when they would be serving food.

Whilst we were having our drink a gentleman came into the unattended bar and was left waiting for about 10 minutes. He was clearly a resident at the inn and was complaining to the barman that there were no towels in the room and that he wanted to take a shower. The guest was informed to return in an hour when the barman's wife would be around to sort out the towels for him. Shocking!

Won't be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Of course we can't please everyone and I'm sorry you have such a low opinion of our little inn after just calling in for a drink on a dismal day.

Anyone thinking of booking accommodation with us has the opportunity to see our virtual tours of the whole building on our website and if they did not like the look of our loch view restaurant or cosy wee bar they need not book. An awful lot of our guests say they like the contrast of the old and the new.

I can only imagine you were not advised that food service recommenced at 5.30pm because we were already fully booked that evening. The gentleman who came in to ask about towels was NOT a resident at the inn - he had just arrived an hour before and checked into one of our holiday properties in which towels are not provided. He came in to explain they had forgotten to bring them and could we loan him some from our hotel stock. My husband does not deal with housekeeping and said I would certainly help them out when I returned.

It is fortunate that you found alternative accommodation and hopefully were happy with it.

Gillian Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We visited the restaurant on the 14th August, our last night in Lochgoilhead and were so glad we did..a great way to spend our last night! We received a warm welcome and were seated at the window, best in the house as you have a fantastic view over the loch.First pleasant surprise, no chips on the menu and no deep fat fryer,knew then the food was going to be good and we were not disappointed.We had the Tempura prawns and lobster ravioli for starters,the prawns were superb and the ravioli was fresh and accompanied by a superb sauce.For mains the children had spaghetti bolognaise and steak pie,both were excellent.We selected from the specials board,Spanish Chicken and Lamb Tagine,again no complaints as the plates were easily cleared.
Being greedy, we ordered a Sticky Toffee Pudding,one of the best I have tasted in along time and a Chocolate Fudge cake which did not last too long on my daughters plate!! Including 7 drinks it came to a total of £80,very reasonable for a delicious meal.Only disappointment..it only opens Wed-Sun so make sure you book.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed yourselves so much at tha Shore House. Seems like the specials board was very popular with you. We look forward to seeing you here again next time you vist Lochgoilhead. Gillian Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Another one of many relaxing trips to the Shore House Inn. The food is excellent, very tasty, and looks great. The view is fab and the welcome is always warm. Thank you to all the team & see you again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tabithaArgyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you very much for your super review of the Shore House. It's fantastic to hear how much you enjoy your visits here and it's always a pleasure to welcome you back. Looking forward to seeing you next time! Gillian Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I had previously visited the Shore House about 13 years agao and it has expanded and changed dramatically since then. The restaurant is now quite large. The food is excellent though and a cross between locally sourced produce and home cooking. Even the pizzas are good - made by the baker who used to work in the local shop. Unfortunately you can't book beyond 8.30pm and we are used to being late diners, but that aside the service was good and this and the bistro at Drimsynie are the best places to eat. After dinner we sat in the bar (pub) which was untouched by modern chains and sang along to music being played by locals who had turned up with guitars. A really lovely evening and if I ever go back to Loch Goilhead I will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank FionaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

That's a lovely review, thank you so much. We do get a lot of people from Glasgow coming to stay for a short break - we're only about an hour from the city but it feels like a world away! Hopefully you will revisit our lovely location again soon. Gillian Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed for two nights attending a wedding being held locally. Great location, less than a two hour drive from Glasgow the Shore House sits on the banks of Loch Goil. The welcome was warm and rooms comfy with a view. The breakfast was tasty and we had a lovely meal in the restaurant and were also treated to some local musicians in the bar on the friday night. Fab place to escape the city, see beautiful scenery and not even 2 hours from Glasgow.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MeSellSeaShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshorehouseinn, Owner at The Shore House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review of the Shore House. We are very pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and our fabulous view of Loch Goil. We would love to see you here again soon. Gillian Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
7.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,528 reviews
6.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,234 reviews
16.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
444 reviews
11.2 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
6.6 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore House

Address: Lochgoilhead | Argyll, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgoilhead
Price Range: £88 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Shore House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shore House loch-side guesthouse sits on the waters edge at the head of beautiful Loch Goil. Formerly an inn, the Shore House offers bed, breakfast and evening meals exclusively for residents only. There are four comfortable en-suite bedrooms, a residents bar and stunning loch-view lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Shore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore House Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing