We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! Great friendly service!”
Review of The Village Rest

The Village Rest
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Luss
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$18
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Great food in a great location - that is what The Village Rest is all about. Always comfortable and friendly, you can be assured of a great time whether you're just in for a cup of coffee and a cake, or a large meal.Our varied and well balanced menu changes regularly and is in season and the food always fresh. We aspire to serve delicious homemade dishes with locally sourced produce. Our atmosphere is relaxed with an eclectic interior. The Village Rest is casual enough for lunch or tea, and yet formal enough for special occasions.In the perfect village of Luss, The Village Rest is ideally placed for enjoying Loch Lomond and the scenery of the national park. Arguably Scotland's most beautiful loch, Loch Lomond is also one of the largest. There is huge variety too, between the gentle sweeping farmland of the southern edge to the rugged highland shores of the north. Luss is positioned on the edge of the Highlands and has great views across to the islands and mountains of Loch Lomond.Luss is connected to central Scotland by the A82, a good quality fast road, with driving times of less than an hour from central Glasgow.
Lochgilphead
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food! Great friendly service!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Dropped in for dinner last night while travelling home from glasgow was impressed by the menu (something for everyone) the friendly staff (helpful even when they were so busy)the food (lovely cooked to perfection) value for money (good portion sizes and prices) left stuffed lol would definitely return can't believe I've passed so many times. Would also take the kids next time as the atmosphere was nice and friendly! Don't usually do reviews but was so impressed i wanted everyone to know

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mummypig34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    248
    69
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable...”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We popped in for dinner on a drizzly dam windy evening...
Staff were very welcoming, the restaurant was comfortable - food was lovely. It's was the 1st time in Scotland and i of course had to have some Haggis (also a 1st for me) - so i ordered the house's haggis burger and that great. I have to say i'm a fan...
All considered a pleasant stopover is Luss part from the weather hehe

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AcurAnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome; excellent choice; really good food.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We called into the Village Life on a Sunday evening without a booking while visiting the Loch Lomond area. The staff were very welcoming and obviously are happy for customers to turn up without a reservation. There was a wide choice of food on offer, we had the hot smoked salmon & king prawn pasta which was delicious and the red onion and blue cheese tart which was actually a starter but which they were happy to provide as a main course. They have local real ale and a decent wine list. An very good experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really good "village restaurant"”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Provided good choice and a "simple" meal in quiet surroundings when we were getting a bit tired of "over the top" evening meals on our bed and breakfast tour of Scotland. Well cooked, enjoyable and just what we wanted.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This was a little gem”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

friendly approachable staff with a good range of food to suit all palates. Within easy walking distance from Loch Lomond Arms Hotel and managed easily by two disabled people with limited mobility

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eilis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Village Rest also viewed

Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
 

Been to The Village Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing